Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic Tale ( An Empress & The Warriors ).
This film has it all, Great Actors, realistic sets, locations & costumes, with a cracking story.

The story is quite sad & tragic though. I'm not really into mushy films atall, yet, I found myself really enjoying this film.

I would describe it as a historical, Action, Romance, Tragedy. There is nothing flowery about it, yet, it is still moving &...
Published on 13 Mar. 2012 by Paul

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy romance, a little bit of humour and and even smaller bit of warfare.
Here we have another instalment in the 'Warring states era of China' films.

Although it doesn't quite live up to its competitors in the field: Hero, Curse of the golden flower, Battle of wits or Banquet it is still in its own right a valid entry.

The plot of this film is a classic love story loosely set in the 5 Dynasty - 10 Kingdoms Period of...
Published on 24 July 2009 by Lee R. Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic Tale ( An Empress & The Warriors )., 13 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
This film has it all, Great Actors, realistic sets, locations & costumes, with a cracking story.

The story is quite sad & tragic though. I'm not really into mushy films atall, yet, I found myself really enjoying this film.

I would describe it as a historical, Action, Romance, Tragedy. There is nothing flowery about it, yet, it is still moving & emotional.

The film deals with the Age long topics of Deceit, treason, conspiracies, age long feuds, battles to defend the land against enemies & betrayal within the Empires etc. In the middle of it all, is the story involving the central characters. The Princess, Her Loyal general, Her traitorous Cousin & the Strange young hermit who lives in the forrest, who she befriends.

Basically, the Princess is thrust into ruling the Empire, prematurely. It is up to her General to make sure she can defend herself & is trained well enough to win the respect of her officers & Army & be fit to lead them into battle. To do this, he has to be merciless, even though they have been friends from early childhood.

Another twist in the story unfolds as she is undergoing her training..But I'll not say too much on that..

Amazing Film..I loved it..Big Thumbs Up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Empress and the Warriors, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie, I have read alot of reviews saying there is poor action scenes, a weak romance plot and a average acting but I have the exact opposite point of view to all of those reviews. I hooked by this film from the opening titles, the heroic sounding music score was brilliant and as allways Donnie Yen gives a fine performance as does Leon Lai and Kelly Chen.

The action scenes are very good (most notable is the end fight sequence were Yen takes on an entire army on his own). I found ths film better than Hero, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon and House of Flying Daggers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Empress and the Warriors, 28 May 2009
By 
This review is from: An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
This is good. This is what Asian Movies are about. The action is excellent. The story is quite good. It is very well filmed. This is highly recommended and thoroughly enjoyable. Very praise-worthy and a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful yet under rated film, 11 Oct. 2009
I do enjoy a good martial arts film and like Donnie Yen.I bought 'The Emperess & The Warriors' on Blu-ray with out acually watching the movie first.Some reviewers say that this movie was not one of Donnie's best and didn't have a great deal of action in it.
I really enjoyed it and was not disappointed by the action and although it was a martial arts movie and focused on sword battles it was not too bloody.There was a tiny bit of blood towards the end,but done all most 'arty' so it did not look gory at all.
Watch out for the fantasic battle at the end where Donnie takes out 100 warriors all on his own!!
On the Blu-ray, details of the armour was stunning along with the the epic landscapes shown in vivid colours.
I think 'The Emperess & the Warriors' is a beautiful yet underated film.It has a great story about about Family,Love & Duty and if you can watch a sub-titled movie I can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A love story - even a weepy - with martial arts thrown in, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
M. jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just finished this and my emotions are running high. I really enjoyed it. It is not so much a war film as a love story. A girl growing into a woman - a leader - through two relationships - her brother and the doctor who saves her from death.
The battle scenes are well done and , for once in these films, quite realistic but they do not dominate the film or outstay their welcome , and no impossible walking in the air moves. The characters are well drawn and the lead performances good. I have seen one or two of these which were overblown and overdone. Not this. The music is sets the right note from the start and you are soon involved emotionally with the film . Some reviews here would pit you off. I say watch it - make up your own mind. You will likely sheda tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love or duty?, 7 April 2009
This review is from: An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
What's it about?
Yen Feier (Kelly Chen), through turmoil, must take up the mantle "Empress of Yan kingdom" and repel the invading neighbouring armies of Zhao. With Champion, Muyong Xuehu (Donnie Yen) to support her military inexperience, Feier must overcome full scale war and the internal strife that undermines her authority.
Along the way, Feier became mortally wounded in battle but was nursed back to full health by the reclusive hermit, Duan Lanquan (Leon Lai).
With Feier struggling between newfound peace and duty, could Muyong continue to hold the kingdom of Yan in his Empress absence?

Depress
Characters
The glaring thing I did not like is how the antagonist seemed to able, shall I say, disrupt or set their actions in motion without a hitch and in a casual fashion too. Only the most innocent minded would turn a blind eye what they were capable of.

Empress
Cast
Donnie Yen (Kill zone) plays his heroic usual self that would occupy the action fans. Kelly Chen (Infernal Affairs) shoulders the burden of her role admirably. Leon Lai (Infernal Affairs 3, City Hunter, God of Gamblers 3) seemed to able juggle his role between hermit and guardian well.
Costumes
Despite the lack of memorable stage settings, the elaborate armour suits gave this film a unique feel.
Action
No wirework. Well, not as much as "Crouching tiger, Hidden Dragon" anyway. The battle scenes are "Gladiator" inspired and the noises is top notch too.
Romance
The romance scenes and the triangle conflicts between the leads would appeal to the female masses.

Arguably, there are better far east costume films out there. What I mean is it did not quite have the compelling story of "Hero", and I doubt it will gain global recognition as "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon". But "The Empress and the warriors" supplement the genre well enough to entertain.

Enjoyed it? Have you also seen
Swordsman 2, Curse of the Golden Flower, Red Cliff 1, 2, Warlords, Odd Couple,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love or duty?, 7 April 2009
What's it about?
Yen Feier (Kelly Chen), through turmoil, must take up the mantle "Empress of Yan kingdom" and repel the invading neighbouring armies of Zhao. With Champion, Muyong Xuehu (Donnie Yen) to support her military inexperience, Feier must overcome full scale war and the internal strife that undermines her authority.
Along the way, Feier became mortally wounded in battle but was nursed back to full health by the reclusive hermit, Duan Lanquan (Leon Lai).
With Feier struggling between newfound peace and duty, could Muyong continue to hold the kingdom of Yan in his Empress absence?

Depress
Characters
The glaring thing I did not like is how the antagonist seemed to able, shall I say, disrupt or set their actions in motion without a hitch and in a casual fashion too. Only the most innocent minded would turn a blind eye what they were capable of.

Empress
Cast
Donnie Yen (Kill zone) plays his heroic usual self that would occupy the action fans. Kelly Chen (Infernal Affairs) shoulders the burden of her role admirably. Leon Lai (Infernal Affairs 3, City Hunter, God of Gamblers 3) seemed to able juggle his role between hermit and guardian well.
Costumes
Despite the lack of memorable stage settings, the elaborate armour suits gave this film a unique feel.
Action
No wirework. Well, not as much as "Crouching tiger, Hidden Dragon" anyway. The battle scenes are "Gladiator" inspired and the noises is top notch too.
Romance
The romance scenes and the triangle conflicts between the leads would appeal to the female masses.

Arguably, there are better far east costume films out there. What I mean is it did not quite have the compelling story of "Hero", and I doubt it will gain global recognition as "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon". But "The Empress and the warriors" supplement the genre well enough to entertain.

Enjoyed it? Have you also seen
Swordsman 2, Curse of the Golden Flower, Red Cliff 1, 2, Warlords, Odd Couple,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 1 Mar. 2014
This review is from: An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
The film is very well made. The actors are well chosen, the costumes look amazing, the landscapes are beautiful and the plot is captivating.

This is an action/heroic movie so the plot isn't too complicated: a beautiful love story between the empress - Fer-Er and a mystery man - Duan Lan-Quan, a war between 2 kingdoms and a betrayal. The war scenes are epic and impressive.

In conclusion: a captivating film which I enjoyed. I would recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy romance, a little bit of humour and and even smaller bit of warfare., 24 July 2009
By 
Lee R. Hancox (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Here we have another instalment in the 'Warring states era of China' films.

Although it doesn't quite live up to its competitors in the field: Hero, Curse of the golden flower, Battle of wits or Banquet it is still in its own right a valid entry.

The plot of this film is a classic love story loosely set in the 5 Dynasty - 10 Kingdoms Period of ancient China. At times during the film it seems as if the director has forgoten whether he is trying to make an epic war film or a romantic comedy. And because of this it unfortunately fails to deliver on either levels.

Whilst there are a few well known celebs in this film: Donnie Yen, Kelly Chan and Leon Lai this to unfortunately fails to bolster the films credentials. As there parts are at the best shallow and their acting quite wooden.

The directing and production of this film is nothing more than you'd expect for this type of film and the Special effects are minimal and if anything shied away from.

The lows of the film are the short battle scenes and sense of direcetion. Whilst a particular individual fight scene from Donnie Yen towards the end of the film makes it actually worth buying. Don't want to give too much away but: Donnie Yen, 1 huge sword and about a 100 enemies. Also the costumes in the film are particulary good, but I doubt you'll be buying it for this reason.

If you are a newcomer to this Genre I would invest in some of the above mentioned titles before averting your attention to this film.

But for true fans of the genre, although it isn't the best film of its kind I still feel its worth adding to the collection, if bought at a bargain.

All in all - A cheesy romance set against the backdrop of feudral China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A FILM WHICH IS A TAD CONFUSED, 9 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are looking for 'crouching dragon hidden tiger' fight scenes, forget it. Story line is simple: Emperor dies, awards kingdom to 'bastard, low-born general' who, realising this will lead to civil war, by sleight-of-hand, manages to pass the kingdom to Emperor's daughter (the princess).

Fair enough, you may think. But you would be wrong! This is a totally male-dominated society. (There is no Polital Correctness here!). Add a dash of jealousy, with a hint of love, a cart load of polital intrigue and mix well!

The battle scenes are confused. Remember the cowboy films of the old days, where the wagons formed a circle and the 'injuns' ride round in a circle - well this is the Chinese equivalent. If you can tell who's on what side in these short battle scenes, you're a better man than I am Gungadin!

This is a really confused film and I would not be surprised if somebody lost a couple of rolls of the film, before it was edited. There is no other possible explanation for the sudden shifts in the plot lines ... and you know what, I still enjoyed it! The ending is a real Hollywood Weepy! So if you're watching with the girl-friend, have the hanky handy. I gave it three stars because I'm a sucker for the weepy ending!

The Blu-Ray is excellent.

Oh! By the way ... if any of you find those two missing rolls of film, would you let me know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Empress And The Warriors [DVD]
An Empress And The Warriors [DVD] by Siu-Tung Ching (DVD - 2009)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews