Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of The Seat....
Guard Post is pretty weird. It's encompasses drama, mystery and horror, and does a pretty good job doing so. Be fore-warned that this film is not solely horror. It's more so a mystery/drama than anything else, though horror elements are clearly present. Anyways, the story revolves around a G.P. aka Guard Post, that has fallen silent. An investigator and new team go in to...
Published on 4 Sep 2008 by moive mad

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South Korean surrival horror
Yeah i have to agree with the other review, it's slightly weird. For some people it may be rather long and drawn out but nothing much is given away to the viewer. Sure, we know that something bad took place at the guard post and that many questions need answered but nothing is quite what it seems. It follows a similar trend of horror/war films such as "the keep" and...
Published on 7 Nov 2008 by godzilla78


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of The Seat...., 4 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
Guard Post is pretty weird. It's encompasses drama, mystery and horror, and does a pretty good job doing so. Be fore-warned that this film is not solely horror. It's more so a mystery/drama than anything else, though horror elements are clearly present. Anyways, the story revolves around a G.P. aka Guard Post, that has fallen silent. An investigator and new team go in to investigate and what they find is horrific and completely puzzling.

With a theme of infection, the movie eventually becomes a survival-type flick with lots of second-guessing. Which is most definitely a fresh take on this type of genre.

Overall a very good ride. The film delivers good acting, nice direction and solid atmosphere and was entertaining. Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much More Than Expected!, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
I bought Guard Post expecting it to be mostly some sort of slasher horror, with a lot of action and gore; but it turned out to be so much more!

It is actually more of a thriller/mystery/horror, and one of the best I have seen at that. Throughout the movie there are clever twists and turns which completely change your impressions of what has happened and why, keeping you on the edge of your seat. This film is almost 2 hours long and I didn't feel like it was dragged out at all!

While it is not a film that will leave you scared by its horror elements, or amazed by its few action scenes, it will keep you completely engaged throughout.

This film has very good acting and directing throughout, and comes across as a high budget film (doesn't look cheap or tacky at all), I also feel that because it is not in English it is important to point out that it has perfect subtitles and I didn't notice any translations that didn't make sense.

Overall this is a great film, but not a great buy if all you are after is horror/gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South Korean surrival horror, 7 Nov 2008
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
Yeah i have to agree with the other review, it's slightly weird. For some people it may be rather long and drawn out but nothing much is given away to the viewer. Sure, we know that something bad took place at the guard post and that many questions need answered but nothing is quite what it seems. It follows a similar trend of horror/war films such as "the keep" and "deathwatch" but this is slightly smarter. There aren't too many bloody moments but the film has elements of the undead, posession, madness and self mutilation as the soldiers struggle to understand what is taking place which all begins to make sense towards the end of the show. My only gripe would be the jumping back and forward with the flashback sequences which can be slightly confusing from time to time but it's certainly worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Timothy Smith "smith" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
this is not a too bad a horror, i always like to but korean films as they are getting better and better,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Confusion Abounds, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
I really tried hard to like this film. It is well produced and acted, very atmospheric, and there's some nasty gore and effects on view.But what was it all about? Yes, I know (at least I THINK I know)some sort of killer virus has got loose in a subterraneum guard bunker in Korea.It makes people crazy and homicidal. A detachment of MPs arrive to investigate, and find only one survivor. Did he kill all the others? We keep going back to see the events that lead up to all the killing. Trouble is, to my Western eyes all the protagonists look pretty much the same, particularly in helmets, and I found it very hard to differentiate between the past and present.It was SO confusing.About 3/4 of the way in my viewing was interrupted and I had to swith off.Suffice it to say, that was 3 days ago and I haven't switched it back on yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crap post, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. J. S. Hickson "mr T" (England, Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) (DVD)
I did expect more from this film was'nt scary hardly any action to much talking, the only scene that got me excited was when 8 soldiers were arguing over whose infected gunsat ready! You'll get a gore fest but thats it.-dissapointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Guard-Dose, 17 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awe no, another Japanese sub-titled horror film. Oh well cover is promising, first 30 seconds of the movie look promising. Naked Jap. covered in blood holding axe. Then boom, out go the lights and for the next hour or two, we are subjected to a repetitive routine of similar looking actors all running around calling each other the killer. It turns out that some virus is running rampant along with my patience. If you can stand listening to men screaming at each other in a blacked out room for two tedious hours then this movie is for you, otherwise buy or rent something decent like Midnight Meat Train for your depraved needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Guard Post [DVD] (2008)
The Guard Post [DVD] (2008) by Su-Chang Kong (DVD - 2008)
9.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews