Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest film of the 20th Century
This film has lost none of its charm since it was made over a quarter of a
century ago. This remains Mel Brooks' funniest and finest film. It is about
two Broadway producers who borrow money heavily in order to put on a
Broadway show that will flop. If they borrow more than they spend, they keep
the rest of the money and make a fortune. The hoped for...
Published on 24 Mar. 2002 by Penguin Egg

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing due to editing
This dvd version seems to have been edited/censored(?). There is a major lack of continuity at some points e.g. scene ends where Franz Liebkind is about to sign the contract. In the next scene, we see Zero Mostel and Gene Wilder with swastika armbands. Their arms were clear in the previous scene so where did those come from? Again, in their meeting with Roger de Bris,...
Published on 2 Oct. 2006 by M. Halai


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest film of the 20th Century, 24 Mar. 2002
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Producers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film has lost none of its charm since it was made over a quarter of a
century ago. This remains Mel Brooks' funniest and finest film. It is about
two Broadway producers who borrow money heavily in order to put on a
Broadway show that will flop. If they borrow more than they spend, they keep
the rest of the money and make a fortune. The hoped for flop is a musical
based on the life of Hitler, called Springtime for Hitler. It all goes
hilariously wrong when the musical becomes an unintentional success. The
performances are spot-on. Zero Morstel barnstorms his way through every
scene and Gene Wilder was never better as the nervous accountant turned
producer who falls foul of Morstel's greedy ambitions. Kenneth Marrs'
performance as the deranged ex-Nazi burns itself into your brain and has to
be one of the funniest turns I have ever seen. Brooks keeps the pace frantic
but steady. He never lets the pace drag but he never lets it get too over
the top. The performances are manic but the actors never ham it up for the
camera. Even the sheer bad taste of the musical sequence of Springtime for
Hitler is handled with skill, and you will never find a funnier scene in
cinema. This has to be one of the funniest films of the 20th Century.
Watching this, you will be laughing along with it scene by scene until the
very end, and afterwards you will be humming the theme tune to Springtime to
Hitler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS the original movie, plus some, 2 Nov. 2004
I was so excited to see this film was coming out on DVD in the UK and I wasn't disappointed. I read a recent review on Amazon and thought the film may be cut but it isn't, in fact they have found an extra scene that was not in the original film. The making of is also brilliant. If you want to know why Mel Brooks is a comic genius then watch The Producers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Classic Comedy, 6 Jan. 2003
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Producers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is Mel Brooks at his best. The comedy here is outrageous as Zero Mostel & his accountant hit on the scheme of having a whole batch of rich old ladies supplying financial backing for a planned flop, and what is more likely to flop than a musical biography of Hitler titled "Springtime For Hitler"?
Indeed, this is an example of comedy in bad taste which is so hilarious, you can't possibly be offended by it. Zero Mostel and Gene Wilder are at their very best.
This is a true comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First class comedy, 24 Sept. 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is Mel Brooks debut film as a director, and its amongst his very best work. Of his other films only Young Frankenstein is in the class IMO. From its marvellous opening credit sequence right through to the end this maintains a very high standard of comedy. Fortunately for Mel Brooks he was lucky enough to get Zero Mostel and Gene Wilder in the two leading roles. They both give outstanding performances which are very nearly matched by Kenneth Mars. He plays 'Franz Liebkind' the writer of a musical that both Max and Leo (Mostel and Wilder) believe will fail horribly and make them a fortune. Of course not everything goes quite to plan and the rest you should see for yourself.

The extras in this two disc edition are very good. The original statement from Peter Sellers after he first saw The Producers is read. Sellers described it as "the ultimate film....". As another reviewer has mentioned he later used a large chunk of Liebkinds dialogue in a famous interview on the Parkinson show. There is a 63 minute documentary on the making of The Producers and some outtakes as well.

I picked this 2 disc edition up very cheaply, so look around as there is no need to pay full price. Overall an excellent film that would probably have got 4.5 stars from if it was possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing due to editing, 2 Oct. 2006
By 
M. Halai "mnh" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dvd version seems to have been edited/censored(?). There is a major lack of continuity at some points e.g. scene ends where Franz Liebkind is about to sign the contract. In the next scene, we see Zero Mostel and Gene Wilder with swastika armbands. Their arms were clear in the previous scene so where did those come from? Again, in their meeting with Roger de Bris, there are some jumps in conversation which just dont make sense indicating cuts have been made.

As a`result, many parts of the story just dont gel and if I hadnt seen the musical I wouldnt have known what was going on.

If a movie has been edited there should be some indication of this in the description so a buyer knows whether to purchase it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Original Film, 28 Dec. 2004
By 
Christopher Guest (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw 'The Producers' on BBC2's 'Midnight Movie' slot one Saturday night/Sunday morning during the early 1970's. Alongside 'It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World' 'The Producers' is my favourite all-time comedy film. What is more, I can still remember Peter Sellers' memorable re-enactment of Kenneth Mars' monologue on the Parkinson Show on why Hitler was a better painter than Churchill.
However, I was hoping that this newly released DVD might contain the cut scene that was missing from the VHS release that I own. So, I was bitterly dissappointed that it's still missing on the DVD. Why?
On the DVD, when an attempt is made to blow-up the theatre, our three luckless 'heroes' chase after a fast burning fuse - but too late, the theatre is gone. In the original film, however, the fast burning fuse is stopped before it's too late. They try again. This time they hook-up the fuse to a plunger-type detonator. They sink the plunger, but the explosive fails.
While all three go to see what's happened. The drunken 'failure' character that previously had shared in Max and Leo's ill fated celebrations in the threatre bar happens upon the plunger detonator. Finding that his shoe laces are undone, he places his foot on the detonator to tie-up his shoes - and - BOOM!
An extra couple of minute's worth of footage surely wouldn't have taken-up too much space on the DVD? After all, it's only an hour-and-a-half long as it is!
Otherwise, a useful addition to my 'Producers' library. Perhaps the 'Director's Cut' edition (in my dreams) will have the missing scene added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Producers, 2 Dec. 2004
By 
Fantastic to finally get this on DVD. Having worn out two copies of the video of this firm I am happy to confirm that this film is 100% complete and contrary to other reviews has not been cut in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU VILL READ ZIS !!!!, 8 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Producers: 30th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This was my first brush with Gene Wilder and since then have collected all his films and also all Mel Brookes.I only saw bits here and there and one day sat down in front of the square god bored and fed up with all the garbage we are expected to watch called entertainment.Then I noticed a film due to start and that was it.From start to finish I was hooked and sat through the film laughing my head off to the point my mate next door came in to find me with tears pouring down my face,choking with laughter and holding my sides.It is such a great film in the original but so/so in the remake,we suffer from the disease of REMAKERITIS,its when a studio cannot come up with a good film idea and decide to take a good film rip the guts out of it and remake it,and it BOMBS.This makes almost everyone pass by the original which is a shame.Well this film is mad and very funny Zero is great and Gene,well is Gene.The twisted mind who devised this plot to make a bundle the meek mouse drawn in to the web and from then on all kinds of nutcase characters are drawn into the maw of monster to be spat out in one big pile of total opposites and labelled,SPRINGTIME FOR HITLER.I wish I could have got tickets to see that show,I could have vorn mein uniform unt mien boots unt zen ze vorld vill zee das "!&* (*+^!...Sorry bout that got carried away.Anyway the plot is lunatic the cast are lunatics,and its all lunatic,which makes a GREAT FILM and a funny one as well,if you see it enjoy it to the full,if you don`t well all I can say is you will miss a good funny film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Brooks at his best, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Producers [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A musical called "Springtime for Hitler"? Believe me there is no way I could adequately describe how side-splittingly funny that particular sequence is. The highlight in a film that has more than its fair share of them. Watch it with someone who has never seen it before and see their jaws drop in disbelief. That alone makes buying a copy well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars none finer, 20 Mar. 2007
The Producers is without a doubt a classic of 20th century cinema. It is born out of that moment of magic when forces come together to produce genius. Zero Mostel was probably the only person who could have brought the character of Max Bialystock to life and obviously reveled in the role. Gene wilder shows us here the comedy timing that made him a popular favourite through the seventies up to today and Mel Brookes who is a comedy god has only ever matched this quality once and that was with Blazing Saddles. I first saw this movie in 1979 when I was 11 and couldn't believe how much it made me laugh. I had no idea who Mostel, Wilder and Brookes were but I fell in love with it and have destroyed my VHS version through constant playing over the years. It still seems fresh and is a delight that can always bring a smile to my face. Try the Producers, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Producers: 30th Anniversary Edition [DVD]
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews