Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VAST improvement over previous Blu-ray Releases.
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SCREAM FACTORY SPECIAL EDITION. If your reading this under the UK blu-ray listing forget it. That version is mediocre at best. If you can play Region A discs then go for the Scream Factory release. It's much better!

Now that's out of the way, and boy how I hate Amazons insistence on sticking these reviews on every other product out there,...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. K. Arts

versus
55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Joe-shmo Blu-Ray review, not movie
We all know how good The Fog is, so skipping over the movie, let's get down to the quality of the Blu ray disc:

First off, the picture isn't a vast improvement over the DVD but it has its moments. The coastal scenes are bright enough and the night-time views of the ocean have a depth to them the DVD did not. But generally the picture is still quite soft and...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by Black Star Rising


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VAST improvement over previous Blu-ray Releases., 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE SCREAM FACTORY SPECIAL EDITION. If your reading this under the UK blu-ray listing forget it. That version is mediocre at best. If you can play Region A discs then go for the Scream Factory release. It's much better!

Now that's out of the way, and boy how I hate Amazons insistence on sticking these reviews on every other product out there, its time to get down to business.
If your one of those rare people who has never seen The Fog, then your in for a treat. Its a classic ghost story framed around a tale told to kids around a camp fire. This sets the tone of the film perfectly. Sleepy coastal town Antonio bay hides a dark secret, one that is about to be revealed on the towns Centenary as a strange Fog bank rolls in bringing a ghostly terror with it. The ghosts of dead mariners with a grudge against the town.

The film looks great and has an excellent score (as is the case with all carpenters films!) If you've seen the dreadful remake then you will know that in spite of a big budget and lots of CGI, Carpenters original makes the ghosts look FAR creepier with just some clever lighting courtesy of cinematographer Dean Cundy and the smarts to show as little as possible. As a result the original is still regarded as a classic of the genre while it's remake (or re-boot or whatever the hell their calling them these days) is just an embarrassment and not worth watching.

Scream factory, with the assistance of Dean Cundy have finally delivered the definitive presentation of the film. It looks so sharp and clear, detail previously obscured in the frame can be clearly seen. Make no mistakes, the film looks astonishing and is one of the best restorations the company has put out to date. It's a shame it's region locked as it puts the UK disc to shame.

Extras wise we get all the old features carried over including the making of and the commentary. We also get a new second commentary track from Adrienne Barbeau, Tom Atkins and Tommy Lee Wallace. Also included is an interview with Jamie lee Curtis, a storyboard to film featurette, outtakes, trailers and another Horrors Hallowed grounds feature.

Overall it's a magnificent package. The new art for the sleeve is good as well. Certainly worth a look for the multi-region capable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly Goings On, 1 July 2009
By 
G. R. Donaldson (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fog - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Made in 1979 The Fog has never enjoyed the same favourable attention as its illustrious forerunner Halloween. The cast Adrienne Barbeau, Janet Leigh, Jamie Lee Curtis, Hal Holbrook and B movie legend Tom Atkins really give this film its legs with good believable performances. There is also the additional treat of a John Houseman cameo at the start, which sets the scene for the yarn.
The revenge story about a group of lepers betrayed by the residents Antonio Bay and tricked out of their fortune is a juicey one. The locations and the pre CGI fog effects are vivid and realistic. The music by John Carpenter gives the proceedings a suitable sense of forboding as the little island is shrouded in the ghostly fog. I really like this film as it has many scenes that will make you jump and its a great one to watch on a cold winters night. The disc has an excellent Makin Of Featurette that fills in any questions us viewers may have. Its hard to believe its thirty years old now. So if you like creepy ghost stories without to much gore then you should give this a look. Its a million times better than the recent ghastly remake inexplicably made by John Carpenter a few years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Joe-shmo Blu-Ray review, not movie, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: Fog [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
We all know how good The Fog is, so skipping over the movie, let's get down to the quality of the Blu ray disc:

First off, the picture isn't a vast improvement over the DVD but it has its moments. The coastal scenes are bright enough and the night-time views of the ocean have a depth to them the DVD did not. But generally the picture is still quite soft and at times there is blurring. The dark scenes work reasonably well, but the format serves to show the limitations of the photography and film stock. Not something to show off your Blu-ray but I've seen worse. Picture: 3/5

The audio is a big improvement over the DVD. The DTS sound space is filled and the mix is impeccable for an old-ish movie. The music is handled well and the oppressive pounding of the score augments the movie perfectly. Only the voice mix seems to be a little one dimensional, but that's due to the sound mix of the time. Audio: 4/5

The extras are beyond terrible. The fact the standard 2 disc DVD has an outstanding commentary, trailers, docs etc and the Blu-ray has naff all, is inexcusable. Optimum have once again sold UK customers short and should be shot. Or worse, they should lose the rights to distribute these movies on Blu-ray. Extras: 0/5

(Reviewed on:
Samsung LCD 40" Series 6 100mhz, 1080p
Sony BDP350
Sony STDR-850 5.1 surround sound amp)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a classic..., 21 Sep 2006
By 
Louise West (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first horror film I ever saw and continues to be one of my favourites. Living on the coast, I had always found the fog to be slighty eerie, and this film just confirmed what I had always known- there's something in the fog! The re-make loses most of the atmosphere that makes this a classic, so I hope that people reading this are ready for a real scare. The opening scene, with the old man telling the story to a group of children around a campfire, is one example of how the original is superior to the remake.The way the film is shot and how the music rests just on the edge of your subconcious is a masterpiece in editing, the acting is just cheesy enough to remind you that this is from the 70's without being ridiculous, and the vague shapes in the mist will stay in your mind for a long time. Even now, I hesitate when leaving the house when it is foggy. An amazing film, that taught me the meaning of fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch The Sky's, Keep Out Of The Fog, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fog - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The Fog.
Directed by John Carpenter.
Produced by Debra Hill.
Written byJohn Carpenter, Debra Hill.
Starring
Adrienne Barbeau
Jamie Lee Curtis
Tom Atkins
John Houseman
Janet Leigh
Hal Holbrook.
Music by John Carpenter.
Release date.
February 8, 1980.
Running time 89 minutes.
Region 2.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1.
Budget $1 million.
Box office $21,378,000 (domestic).

Trivia.
1)Bennett, Father Malone's assistant at the beginning of the film, was played by John Carpenter but was uncredited.
2)Tom Atkins' character mentions Bodega Bay. That is the scene of another horror movie, The Birds (1963). When Tippi Hedren's character pulls into town, all hell starts to happen. In this movie, when Jamie Lee Curtis' character pulls into town, all hell starts to break loose.
3)The role of Father Malone was originally offered to Christopher Lee who believed the character to be the 'father of the community'. However Lee proved unavailable and Hal Holbrook was eventually cast.
4)Blake, the lead ghost, was played by makeup special make up effects artist Rob Bottin.
5)Director John Carpenter shot this movie in just 30 days.
6)Adrienne Barbeau's first theatrical feature.
7)Kurt Russell was offered a role.
8)John Carpenter wrote the part of DJ Stevie specifically for his then wife Adrienne Barbeau.
9)Extensive re-shoots were done after the first screening when director and studio executives decided that the movie wasn't scary enough. Additional scenes shot include close-ups of death scenes (specifically stab wounds), the scene with Jamie Lee Curtis and the walking corpse in the morgue, and the finale with Adrienne Barbeau on top of the lighthouse.
10)Adrienne Barbeau's last line, "...look for the fog...", echoes the last line from The Thing from Another World (1951), "Watch the skies." John Carpenter later remade that film as The Thing (1982).

Plot Synopsis.
A Northern California fishing town, built 100 years ago over an ancient leper colony as Father Robert Malone finds the journal of his grandfather hidden in the wall of his church. It discloses how Antonio Bay was built using Blake's fortune after a group of conspirators, including his grandfather who lighted the fire to sink the Elizabeth Dane & then stole Blake's fortune.

A strange glowing white fog appears, bringing zombie like ghosts of Blake and his crew up from their watery graves to seek vengeance upon the townsfolk of Antonio Bay.

Timelord Thoughts.
I remember watching this with my mum when I was about 8 when it was shown on tv & it scared the crap out of me & anytime I seen it was foggy I would go & hide under my bed in fear of the zombies in the fog knocking our front door.

This film also helped me get laid with a girlfriend the time who was so freaked out by this film asked me to stay overnight with her as she didn't want to be alone & me being the gentleman that I am kindly obliged her request.

This is a chilling horror film by director John Carpenter who delivers a chilling campfire type of ghost story that features great performance by Adrienne Barbeau & former scream queen Jamie Lee Curtis who shares screen time with her mum Janet Leigh.

The fog effects are excellent & Carpenter keeps the zombie like ghosts hidden amongst the fog for the majority of the film allowing us just the odd brief glances which makes the tension far more chilling, In addition Carpenters iconic score adds a unnerving atmosphere which is a such a powerful terrifying musical score.

This is another classic John Carpenter movie proving Halloween was no fluke & puts Carpenter's name on the map as the master of terror.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eerie, 11 Nov 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Not to be confused with James Herbert's novel, John Carpenter sites his "Fog" on the Californian coast and weaves a sophisticated, atmospheric chiller which effectively uses the tranquillity and peacefulness of its setting to intensify the horror.
The opening music echoes Carpenter's "Halloween" theme. An ancient mariner sits before a campfire instructing a young audience on the history of a shipwreck, exactly a hundred years before. This, we understand, is to be a Gothic tale of fog and the resurrection of revenant seafarers.
As midnight approaches, inanimate objects come to life. The owner and night-time presenter of the local radio station - based on an isolated lighthouse - issues a fog warning to the recalcitrant crew of a fishing vessel still out at sea. The sailors are too busy drinking to notice the bank of fog rolling towards them.
Adrienne Barbeau (Carpenter's wife) plays the central character, watching the ebb and flow of the fog from her lighthouse perch, broadcasting a commentary over her radio. Janet Leigh adds her impressive presence. It's an entertaining film. Carpenter is not afraid to build his tales slowly, to lavish more attention on the creation of atmosphere than on cheap scares. He weaves the plot neatly, capturing and holding your attention. But he can make you jump! Carpenter is an expert at that! "The Fog" is not the greatest horror film you'll ever see, but it's an enjoyable little romp and well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up there with Halloween!, 21 Sep 2004
As a huge John Carpenter fan it seems to sicken me more & more with every passing year that while many of the Carpenter classics get the recognition they deserve one of his flicks always seems to be forgotten- The Fog. Easily as atmospheric and creepy as Halloween( which is my fave movie ever!) this movie has everything that most good John Carpenter flicks have in spades- great performances, set ups, tension building & above all a great JC score! this movie is real crap-your-pants stuff witch just goes to show how much The Master has lost it- Vampires, Ghost of Mars- oh please!) if you like horror do me a favour & buy this when if (finally) comes out! Unless you've been raised on MTV nu-metal horror you will NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the misty moon light, 11 Nov 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fog [DVD] (DVD)
This is a definite must for any Barbeau collector. She keeps up her high standards found in "Swamp Thing" ASIN: 0792846362 and "Cannibal Women in the Avocado Jungle of Death".

Fog night and slow pacing will drive you up the wall. The unseen is just as spooky as the seen. There is gold, revenge, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Janet Leigh. What, want more? What if we throw in John Houseman and Hal Holbrook? Still more? There is a lot more. But don't get greedy. Sit back and enjoy what you can see in The Fog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ATMOSPHERIC GHOST STORY..., 28 Feb 2004
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This vintage John Carpenter film was made in collaboration with Debra Hill, who with Carpenter was responsible for the runaway success of "Halloween". When "The Fog" was first released, it was met with a fairly lukewarm reception. It has since gone on to achieve some acclaim, though it has never reached the heights of commercial success touched upon by "Halloween", though, then again, few films have.
"The Fog" is a highly atmospheric ghost story. The ghosts manifest themselves on the stroke of midnight, as the fishing village of Antonio Bay gets ready to celebrate its centennial. As the midnight hour rolls in, so does an unearthly fog that begins to engulf the whole town. It is a fog that enshrouds of the ghosts of those whose ship was lured to the rocky coast, only to find itself dashed to bits on the rocks, causing all aboard to plummet to the nether regions of Davy Jones' locker. These ghosts are now hell bent on seeking revenge for their fate on the inhabitants of Antonio bay.
The special effects in the film are excellent, as is the musical score composed by none other than John Carpenter himself. This is for the most part a subtle, creepy film, highlighted by a stellar cast. If you are looking for a blood and gore slasher film, this is not the film for you. If, however, you enjoy a terse, tightly written script, as well as a pulse pounding musical score, then you will enjoy this highly atmospheric, ghost story. I originally saw this film in the theatre when it was first released and still remember the effectiveness of the fog rolling across the huge silver screen and the pulse pounding, musical score, which was such an excellent accompaniment to the film. Time has not diminished its power.
This DVD provides the viewer with pristine visuals and clear audio. It is a fully loaded DVD that includes two documentaries, one of which was made at the time of the film's release and one made recently. It is interesting to see and hear some of those who were involved with this film as they appeared then and as they look now. One may also elect to view the film in either full screen or letterbox format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully filmed horror movie with a bedtime story feel, 4 July 2007
By 
I love this film and out of all John Carpenters earlier films, Escape From New York, Assault On Precinct 13 etc. of which I am also a fan of, this is my favourite of his along with Halloween and The Thing, but this is only because I am a huge horror fan and so I am biased towards these particular three.

I just love the way in which this is filmed and the ghost town like seaside location of Antonio Bay is absolutely beautiful. I think that John Carpenter himself loved this location so much that he bought a house somewhere nearby and who can blame him, I am sure that it is in the documentary or commentary on this DVD that he mentions it. Like I said I love the way this is filmed, there is something that is really unique about it, for example the way in which it begins with John Houseman sat around a fire on the beach telling the children the story of The Fog, this to me gives this film the feeling of a cosy bedtime horror story but in a creepy way. I also really like Adrienne Barbeau in this and the isolation of her job as the lighthouse DJ, this really adds to the atmosphere because of her view of the sea.

Without going into detail of the story, this as with all John Carpenter films at his best, all starts off with nothing much happening as it is all about atmosphere and clever camera work but has the film goes on, it gets more and more tense and claustrophobic right until the end and this is why I love John Carpenter at his best, it is just a shame that he didn't make a few more horror films to match this and the others I have already mentioned. Another thing I really love about this film is the soundtrack as with Halloween by John Carpenter himself and I am not just talking about the main theme but also the music that plays during the drive that Adrienne Barbeau makes to the lighthouse in particular.

This is another one of those films that I love because I never get bored of watching it and it is because of this that it is one of my all time favourite horror films. I was a little sad to hear of the death of Debra Hill who died of cancer (she played a big part in making this film alongside John Carpenter) not long after I bought this special edition version, I think she was only fifty something. For those of you that don't already know, she also worked alongside him on Halloween and she also played a bit part in that film, the opening scene as young Michael Myers when he takes his mask off and takes the knife out of the kitchen was her hands, RIP Debra Hill.

If you have never seen this but you have seen John Carpenters other early films and liked the atmosphere of them, then I am sure you will really like this also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fog - Special Edition [DVD]
The Fog - Special Edition [DVD] by John Carpenter (DVD - 2008)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews