Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best version available - It's a port of the HD DVD transfer
I see this product has one review by a sadly misguided soul who thinks this is a bad grainy transfer. First of all, this is the same transfer as the excellent HD DVD version, also the pitch problem has been fixed too. I had owned the US artisan release on Blu-ray prior to this and this is a big improvement on that transfer. The disc is coded region A,B. The sound is 5.1...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by James Burnwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Totally great - or totally freaky?
Some interesting special effects were tried out here, in order to gross people out, no doubt. The story is good enough and played well enough, though at some spots you just can imagine the director say: Don't move until the camera's are rolling! Lots of blood, bedroom scenes and athletic action.Those who enjoy this mix of attributes will greatly enjoy it. All in all, it...
Published 7 months ago by joggle.com


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING ACTION BLOOD-BATH! ! !, 21 July 2005
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always loved actin films, especialy ones starring Arnold scwarzanegger, and especially ones that are as violent as this one. So this is obviously one of my favorites.
This film isn't too old either so the gore effects look quiet realistic.
Apart from bieng violent and full of action it also has a couple of funny scenes.
Because it is one of my favorite action films i obviously baught the special edition DVD as soon as it came out.
This DVD has great special features and i cant find anythinkwrong with it, and the cool metal case it comes in makes it look even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect gift idea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this Blue-ray one star because it arrived,the reason i can not give any more is it will not play on my player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful value of this DVD. The film better by far than the new version. Fast and curious service. Cannot recommend this company enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray ?, 22 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Recall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've just watched over 30 titles in Blu ray in the last three weeks. I have a good idea what I'm looking at.

The actual film is brilliant.

This Blu ray copy is terrible. A DVD copy would be just as good if not better. I mean it's really terrible. The CGI parts of the film are just above average, the live filming is just terrible.

I mean, honestly, do people actually look at these films for Blu ray before distribution ?

My set-up.

Toshiba 55" LED REGZA WL Series

Panasonic DMP-BD65EBK Blu-ray player

ONKYO TXSR508 HOME CINEMA RECEIVER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 2 Sep 2009
This review is from: Total Recall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Amazing you can deliver a product without doing anything to enhance any part of the experience, but as many other older movie's this has just been copied to Blu-ray to make more money, not actually doing anything but rake in the money. Dissapointment to the max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT region free as advertised, 29 Sep 2012
By 
N. Robinson (london,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is advertised as A/1 - and also as " region free"

"Brand new and sealed!! Please note this is the region free USA edition!! Get it quick!! Get it now !!"

I was unable to load it on a UK Bluray player hence NOT region free

caveat emptor

The company were helpful about a return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly awful movie, 30 Dec 2013
Having just bought a blu ray player, I found this movie going cheap in my local Sainsburys. I was curious about two things - whether the movie held up in comparison to the 2012 remake with Colin Farrel, and whether the blu ray transfer was up to snuff.

The blu ray itself is okay. The transfer is quite colourful, but very grainy in a way that highlights the movie's age. The sound is okay, and the extras are quite entertaining, but...

What a crap film. Really. It's awful. I can't believe anybody believes this is superior to the remake. Awful special effects, awful writing, awful direction, awful acting...it's just abysmal.

I remember seeing the movie when it came out, and thinking it was full of interesting idea, but 20-something years on, the cracks don't just show, they leap out of the screen and slap you in the face. It's corny, full of fake looking prosthetic make-up effects, and once the action kicks off on Mars, it's ridiculous how obvious it is that the sets are all connected and shot within a few feet of each other. The dialogue is corny and childish in places, and a lot of the characters deliver big wedges of explanatory stuff so that the audience can keep up. Except, we don't need to, because the movie is actually simple enough that a dog could understand it.

So, the movie is complete rubbish. But it's interesting to see Dean Norris from Breaking Bad as Tony (the guy who walks up to Arnie and says "you've got some nerve showing your face around here") and the opening theme by Jerry Goldsmith is fantastic. But none of this makes it worth the cash.

One thing that's amusing, though: In the extras, Paul Verhoeven mentions that the script he got to shoot from was the 42nd version. I can't help but wonder how bad the first 41 versions must have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Does Mr Ben, 17 Mar 2013
By 
I saw this when it came out in 1990 and thought it was rubbish. I've been back to it a few times thinking "is it me?" It's not me, Total Recall, which chewed up the airwaves last night, is Mr Ben, Hollywood style.

It's a story about a man trying to escape from his wife. Perhaps if the Producers had hired Danny Kaye and done a Walter Mitty it would have been better; but Total Recall is just an excuse for expensive set pieces. If I was married to Sharon Stone I wouldn't be wanting any holidays anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very sad customer, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dislike it as DVD does not work bought it to show my kids old total recall as they already watched new total recall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Recall [DVD]
Total Recall [DVD] by Paul Verhoeven (DVD - 2008)
£3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews