Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte and Arnold cut up
You need to prepare you self for this movie; move the furniture out of the way and send the cats out of the room. Or they maybe victims of sword play.

Yep you guessed it Arnie (Hercules in New York) is back and he is talking. Toss in Brigitte Nielson and a sprinkle of the evil Sandahl Bergman. And you have an afternoon of fun and revenge.

Seems there...
Published on 15 May 2005 by bernie

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but fun to watch
If I am honest I probably would not have bought this film if it had not been so cheap but it is enjoyable if you like swords and sorcery films. Red Sonja is a revenge driven swordswoman seeking out a talisman in the possession of an evil queen so that it does not destroy the world. Along the way she meets the boy ruler of a destroyed kingdom with his bodyguard and a...
Published on 31 Aug. 2006 by T. R. Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but fun to watch, 31 Aug. 2006
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If I am honest I probably would not have bought this film if it had not been so cheap but it is enjoyable if you like swords and sorcery films. Red Sonja is a revenge driven swordswoman seeking out a talisman in the possession of an evil queen so that it does not destroy the world. Along the way she meets the boy ruler of a destroyed kingdom with his bodyguard and a mighty warrior who must see the talisman destroyed. All your basic fantasy fare but the film is enjoyable enough and although there is some rather dire dialogue and acting, but nothing worse than many films released around the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte and Arnold cut up, 15 May 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
You need to prepare you self for this movie; move the furniture out of the way and send the cats out of the room. Or they maybe victims of sword play.

Yep you guessed it Arnie (Hercules in New York) is back and he is talking. Toss in Brigitte Nielson and a sprinkle of the evil Sandahl Bergman. And you have an afternoon of fun and revenge.

Seems there is the talisman (some glowy plastic thing) that only women can touch. If it gets too much light it will destroy the world. It is captured by a dark queen with great ambition. Red Sonja, who hates men, must team up with Kalidor (Arnold Schwarzenegger) to make sure the talisman is properly disposed of before it destroys the world. They have many trials and tribulations along the way. Will they succeed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Sonja, 22 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
THIS IS A CLASSIC. Based on an ongoing comic, first appeared in Conan comics, this is a stunning tale which also stars Arnold Swartzenegger but not as Conan, he appears here as Prince Kalidor. Also appearing as a villainess, Sandhal Bergman who was Conan's life love Valeria in Conan the Barbarian! Small world.

And Brigitte Nielsen is hot stuff.

If you're new to the idea of Red Sonja and Conan I would highly recommend watching this before the 2011 remake hits the cinemas. That way you can make up your own mind which the better film is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A LIGHT-HEARTED MEDIEVAL ACTION ADVENTURE', 25 April 2015
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Sonja [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When 'Sonja's' (Brigitte Nielsen) home is destroyed and her family killed by the forces of the evil 'Queen Gedren' (Sandahl Bergman)
she is presented with a sword and a prophecy by a visionary figure.
'Sonja' having been given extraordinary power swears vengeance upon 'Queen Gedron' and the forces she commands.
Meanwhile she learns from her dying sister that the Queen had stolen an ancient 'Talisman' that could in her mind help fulfil her
aspirations for domination.
'Sonja' sets out for vengeance and justice alone, the theft of the 'Talisman' has also made it a quest to save the planet, she is joined by
an arrogant young 'Prince Tarn' (Ernie Reyes jr) and his bodyguard 'Falkon' (Paul L Smith) - 'Prince Tarn's' kingdom had also fallen
to the evil Queen.
'Sonja' accepts the help of 'Kalider' (Arnold Shwarzenegger) who mysteriously had seemed her guardian-angel during the early part of
her quest, he also possesses powerful powers of his own.
The four set out together now to right the wrongs the Queen had served upon both 'Prince Tarn' and 'Sonja' and to destroy the 'Talsman'
and save the World from it's misuse by 'Queen Gedren'
Certainly not a classic but fairly typical of many of the action-movies turned out during the low to mid eighties, the script in truth isn't great,
the action somewhat over-the-top and unconvincing, however it was enjoyable.
Rating - 7/10
The Blu-ray upgrade is quite good.
Features -
* Arnold Shwarzenegger - the man who raised Hollywood 'Red Sonja Vs Kalidor - The making of a misunderstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Pleasure, 22 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Red Sonja [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie.
I first saw it as a kid and then was able to get a copy on DVD as part of a Schwarzenegger boxset. Now I've been able to get my hands on this film on Bluray and have to commend this version as the movie looks great.
It's a shame Schwarzenegger was made to be the big star of this film as it's truly Brigitte Nelson who steals the show here.
It has an element of She-Ra to it, so as a fan of the Masters Of The Universe movie growing up, it was a similar style movie so that is most likely what drew me to it initially.
Unfortunately I couldn't give this release a full 5 stars because the bonus features are beyond dreadful. We get some poor 'best of Schwarzenegger' movie clips and then a brief 8 minute-or-so subtitled interview with one of the editors on the Red Sonja film (should be noted this Editor left the movie half way through?!) and he basically talks about the director and the camera-man and briefly about Schwarzenegger and mentioned Nelson and then it ends... No making-of, no trailer, no cast interviews, no director commentary... excuse my language here but the extras are piss-poor and this release deserved much more, otherwise what is the point in putting it out on Bluray?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a lesbian, but I love this movie!, 23 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
This was one of my all time childhood favourite films - was very pleased to find out that they had finally released it on DVD (and not region 1). I know it's supposed to be some sort of lesbian cult thing - I didn't realise this as I was growing up - I suppose the whole warrior heroine thing could be viewed that way? It is well cheesy, but it's a good story with some entertaining characters and just the right amount of sentiment - and anyway, there aren't enough fighting fantasy movies out there. Lord of the Rings it ain't, but it's better than that Dungeons and Dragons cr@p from a few years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu Ray!, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
Cal S (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Sonja [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a great Blu Ray, the images and definition are amazing for a movie this old. Better Blu Ray conversion that most new movies today. This film in Blu Ray displays in Full HD perfectly! With the standard movie aspect ratio (so you see it in cinema widescreen, not a square box like you may have seen on TV).

The film itself is a classic with a great story. With Big Arny in it you cant go wrong!

Would recommend this for anyone looking to buy a great classic film and a cheap Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brigitte or Janet Agren?, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Sonja [DVD] (DVD)
A spur of the moment purchase of an old much watched favourite, and I am glad I did. This cheap (VFM) Optimum Release doesn't disapoint. An excellent Scope print with great colour and sound, which show off the beautiful landscapes to perfection. It's 84 mins long so can't, and doesn't, get bogged down with boring dialogue - which is perhaps just as well as neither Arnie nor Brigitte shine in the talking stakes - but that doesn't spoil a fun film with loads of well choreographed action and in particular I was impressed with the quite vicious swordfight between Sonya and Queen Gedrun (the wonderful Sandahl Bergman). It's an honest adventure with little or no pretentions to be anything other than entertainment. At this price you can't really go wrong. Let me leave you with a question - Does anyone else out there think maybe Janet Agren (Sonya's sister) might just have been a better Sonya? A fiercer stronger face, and definitely physically able and Brigitte's equal?? Maybe not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good girly movie, 16 Nov. 2007
By 
N. T. Diep "brakhe" (London - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I surprisingly like this film. It is definately a film for the girls. The heroine is strong & independent & you even get a muscular guy thrown in for us woman to feast our eyes on. It is a light hearted movie to enjoy when you have a girls get-together. The plot is entertaining enough & the scene/set is also acceptable, although quite sub-standard for some who would compare it to todays technology. It does have an 80's feel about it - mullet & all. The acting was a bit stiff, but overall as the film is quite entertaining the whole way through, you can kind of overlook this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great on Blu!, 2 Mar. 2011
By 
J. Ludwig "pooljax" (Rohnert Park, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Sonja [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie looks fantastic on Blu-ray. It retains its grain, while being a bit much sometimes it's never that overbearing. No smearing from DNR. The scenery is fantastic and looks gorgeous. High quality transfer.

As for the movie, one of the best I've seen in a very long time. The pacing is extraordinary, building up faster and faster until the end. I always watch a movie before bed, and 90% of the time I fall asleep before it is over... this movie kept me awake and interested until the very end. It felt like a thrilling adventure, extremely hard to find this kind of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Sonja [DVD]
Red Sonja [DVD] by Richard Fleischer (DVD - 2008)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews