Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars81
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£2.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 June 2015
Rambo 3 is the weakest in this series of action films, don't get me wrong - it's not a bad film it's just not as good as the others. Now the picture quality on the Blu ray is spot on and the sound is now in 5.1 DTS. I bought it on region 1, but just like my copy of Part 2 it plays on region 2 machines. The film is uncut and for anyone in the UK thats good news as it's well known that we got a cut version, just wait to you see the opening fight sequence, all I'll say is that it's worth purchasing just for that alone though you will notice throughout the film the odd scene here & there where the action is extended by a few seconds. There's not much in the way of extras on the disc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
"Rambo 3" is still likely my joint favourite Rambo film:- tied with it's original 80's incantation "Rambo". Starring the formidable heavyweights of Rambo and Troutman; in-addition to a new hugely likeable baddie - Commander Zaysen; this is a very hard edged and pumped-up action film that's laced with excellent dialogue and witty lines, tremendous fighting scenes, (including hand to hand combat), explosions, gunfights, and everything else nasty that you can think of. For this film, Stallone was in his prime and at the height of his acting powers. His integrity here is,.. unquestionably & consistently awesome throughout.

The plot itself is a fairly generic action corridor:- yes it's predictable somewhat, but it's immediately superior to it's predessesor on almost every level. This is a savage action film for the time in it's own right: At least around a 100+ deaths, and numerous more scenes of violence make this the most brutal Rambo film until 2008's Rambo 4. With Stallone now approaching 70 years old, and with a new Rambo film confirmed. It is likely that the series will soon come to an end. Rambo 3, showcases why 80's action films will never be beaten. Simply put:- Rambo 3 Is crushing action entertainment at it's best.... whilst showered in a hail of bullets!.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This time, unfortunately, I am a little disappointed with a Blu-ray revision of a Rambo movie!

Although the film is completely uncut, the image quality looks more like an upscaling of the DVD version than real Blu-Ray-HD. The German sound (dts) partially sounds rather subdued or dull and sometimes you can hear the digital sound filter downright hiss in the background.

All in all one can say, who owns the DVD should better keep it!
Too bad, but this time it only lasts for 3 stars.

in German:

Dieses Mal bin ich leider etwas enttäuscht von einer Blu-ray-Neufassung eines Rambo-Films!

Obwohl der Film absolut uncut ist, wirkt die Bildqualität eher wie ein Upscaling der DVD-Version. Der deutsche Ton (dts) klingt streckenweise eher verhalten bis dumpf und manchmal hört man regelrecht die digitalen Tonfilter im Hintergrund zischeln.

Alles in allem kann man sagen, wer die DVD besitzt, sollte diese einfach behalten.
Schade, aber dieses Mal reicht es nur für 3 Sterne.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 10 February 2009
I had not seen this film for years and brought it for a good price on Amazon. When I watched it I was really impressed with how good it looked on Blu-ray. The film is what you expect loads of hero moments which are cringe worthy, but thats why guys like Rambo. Well impressed with the quality and a good hour and half viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Buy this i reccomend because it is the most best rambo stuff ever , hes back as rambo this time in a superb act of revenge to help people survive against some russian villians . So the film has an story so in depth and so awesome combat by stallone he uses arrows , grenades , bombs and then everything is just so entertaining . If you like rambo or have seen the othes then this tops the action because it is so realistic and the end fight is just edge of your seat because every bad guy gets killed . Excellent stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2009
Rambo 3 starts off quite dramatic and the tension never lets up - Troutman (brilliantly played by Richard Crenna) finds Rambo (Sylvester Stallone) in Thailand living and working for monks in a Buddhist monastary - Troutman asks Rambo to join him on a mission to Afghanistan. Some great philosophy ensues here about a warrior always being a warrior. Rambo declines the offer to help his old friend and continues his simplistic and satisfied life in the monastery.

The movie kicks off when Troutman is captured by the Russian army and is being tortured by an angry Russian Colenel Zaysen(played by brilliant French actor 'Marc de Jonge') - Some of the best lines of dialogue in this movie come from Troutman in his scenes with Marc de Jonge.

Rambo is soon on the case and is sent into Afghanistan by 'Griggs' played by Kurtwood Smith (delivering a smart performance.) - There is a lot of humour in this 3rd Rambo movie and a lot of philosophy - the movie almost takes on a spiritual sense as Rambo sets out across the desert to rescue Troutman - with the help of a new friend and guide 'Mousa' played by Sasson Gabai who provides some excellent dialogue and humour along the journey for the hero (and for the audience).

When Rambo finally does rescue Troutman - the movie could have ended quickly but we get extra value as the series takes a new turn - that of a double act of Stallone and Crenna as their characters now attempt to escape the Russians. We get wise cracks between Rambo and Troutman which add to the overall sense of humour - in the past Troutman taught Rambo how to ignore pain - in a scene following a battle, Troutman asks the injured Rambo "Does it work?" - Rambo's response "Not really." - there are many little jokes referring to the series in general which makes this 3rd episode very refreshing.

The cinematography once again is very beautiful and different to the previous entries in the series as too is the direction. The action in this is almost treble that of the previous movies - there is a much bigger body count - In the final scenes Rambo and Troutman are trapped in a natural trench with a Russian army of hundreds of foot soldiers and tanks heading in their direction - its certain death - I remember when I first watched this and thought this was the end for both heroes. Its a gripping scene.

From the start this movie ventures into boys-own-action-adventure comic-book territory like the second movie - but it does make a lot of improvements over the 2nd movie - for instance the much missed humour of the 1st movie returns in this in a different form and its good humour.

This is a big budget epic - the set design of the Russian occupied Afghan fortress is amazing to see and the lighting in those scenes is really atmospheric. The weapons and vehicles are also nicely designed, the scenery and setting is all spectacular - we travel from Thailand to Pakistan to Afghanistan in the same movie. Truely a massive Rambo movie project and probably the most epic in the series.

The explosive sound effects and music are also magnificent in this entry - Like the previous episode it has massively improved over its previous episode.

The movie also paved the way for possible sequels to it - Rambo gives his necklace to a young boy 'Hamid' - in a significant scene (maybe meaning Hamid could return in a future sequel).

Most of all - this feels like a Rambo movie - and fits in line with the first two movies as a perfectly good episode of a series of movies which can be watched individually without having to watch previous entries. That makes this a great sequel and a good movie.

While First Blood is the best in the series, Rambo 3 is my favourite sequel to it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 December 2012
Typical of this character plenty of action (albeit) tongue in cheek, but thoroughly enjoyable.
Recommend to be viewed, so buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
What more do you really want to know about John Rambo! What you looking for here is how is the Blu Ray quality. For its age it looks really good. The detail is there, nature, faces, weapons. Rambo 3 has it all. A must buy blu ray and any Rambo fan shouldn't do without. I am sceptical on some 80's and 90's after seeing a few terrible upgrades to blu ray but Rambo 3 is one of the ones that proves it can be done. Fast Delivery and a great seller. 5 stars from me.
review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 9 February 2009
In my opinion this is the best Rambo film with none stop action as well as being educational. In blue ray some of the scenery is breathtaking and with excelent sound quality this is a must see movie for those who like none stop action.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
I couldn't be more pleased with this product! I was worried it wasn't going to come in time for Christmas with the post. But I was very impressed I put my order in on Friday night an it was at my door band new on wednesday morning! :) just like it said 3-5 days.. very happy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Rambo II [Blu-ray]
Rambo II [Blu-ray] by Sylvester Stallone (Blu-ray - 2008)

First Blood [Blu-ray]
First Blood [Blu-ray] by Sylvester Stallone (Blu-ray - 2008)

Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008]
Rambo [Blu-ray] [2008] by Sylvester Stallone (Blu-ray - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.