Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hint
On disc 1 when you come to the menu, type 82997 (8/29/97 Judgement day) and you get another menu which offers two deleted scenes, the alternate ending and T1000 searching johns room, I liked the alternate ending better than the original. I hope I have helped you get more from your dvd.
Published on 12 Jan 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, interesting version, OK transfer
I enjoyed this version of T2, as I hadn't seen it before. It has some interesting extra footage that I wasn't expecting at all but which really adds to the story. The picture didn't initially impress me that much (I think I'd watched it back to back with Wall-E though... :) but stood up to sustained scrutiny. There's more details in the eyes, the faces, and the...
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by Dr T


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hint, 12 Jan 2002
By A Customer
On disc 1 when you come to the menu, type 82997 (8/29/97 Judgement day) and you get another menu which offers two deleted scenes, the alternate ending and T1000 searching johns room, I liked the alternate ending better than the original. I hope I have helped you get more from your dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belongs in anyones collection, 26 Nov 2001
James Camerons nightmares are again realised for the whole world to see. The continuing saga of a post apocalyptic world is definitely one of his biggest successes.
Some great set pieces (Linda getting chased by a tanker yet again) keep the movie going at break neck speed and the brilliant touch of the lead characters telling the story while on the run means the movie never gets bogged down in trying to explain what is going on.
The extras on the DVD a something else, with animated menus galore and deleted scenes that you wonder if they should have been deleted. Commentarys from all the main cast and the director himself make exploring the movie fun to do.
Definitely one of the all time classic movies and everyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator 2 - Judgment Day (Skynet Edition) [Blu-ray] [1991], 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terminator 2 - Judgment Day (Skynet Edition) [Blu-ray] [1991] The finest movie of its kind, Terminator 2: Judgment Day captured Arnold Schwarzenegger at the very apex of his Hollywood celebrity and James Cameron at the peak of his perfectionist directorial powers. Nothing the star did subsequently measured up to his iconic performance here, spouting legendary catchphrases and wielding weaponry with unparalleled cool; and while the director had an even bigger hit with the bloated and sentimental Titanic, few followers of his career would deny that Cameron's true forte has always been sci-fi action. T2's pivotal blending of extraordinary live-action stunt work and FX looks more and more like it will never be equalled. The Blu-ray Disc release that is Terminator 2: Judgment Day [Skynet Edition] includes three versions of the film ¡ª first, the theatrical version, second the special edition version featuring 20 minutes or so of additional footage, and finally the third version which a accessible via a special code.

Actors: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton, Edward Furlong, Robert Patrick and Michael Biehn
Director/Writer: James Cameron
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
Audio: DTS-HD Master 6.1 / English DD-EX 5.1 / French Dolby Digital Surround
Region: Region B/2
Running Time: 136 minutes
Number of discs: 1
Studio: Optimum Home Releasing

Special Features
Feature Length Picture-in-Picture [watch behind the scenes along with the film]
Exclusive Behind The Scenes Slideshow with Cast and Crew comments using state of the art branching technology
Text Production Commentary and Trivia Track with Animated Graphics in sync with the film
Storyboard and Script shown in synch with the film
Interactive Quizzes and games while you watch the film
2 Feature Audio Commentaries with 23 members of the Cast and Crew
Audio Commentary with Director James Cameron and Co-Author William Wisher
Seamless Branching of the Theatrical, Directors and Ultimate Cuts of T2
Trailer Downloads, Text, Biographies, Banners and Wallpapers available via BD-Live
Bookmarks, D-Box Motion Codes, THX Optimizer
4 Restored T2 Trailers, THX Trailers, 2 Deleted Scenes with Audio Commentary

Andrew's Review - Arnold Schwarzenegger returns as the Terminator in this explosive action-adventure spectacle. Now he's one of the good guys, sent back in time to protect John Connor, the boy destined to lead the freedom fighters of the future. Linda Hamilton reprises her role as Sarah Connor, John's mother, a quintessential survivor who has been institutionalized for her warning of the nuclear holocaust she knows is inevitable. Together, the threesome must find a way to stop the ultimate enemy-the T-1000, the most lethal Terminator ever created. Co-written, produced and directed by James Cameron (The Terminator, Aliens, Titanic), this visual tour de force is also a touching human story of survival.

Presented in an aspect ratio of 2.40:1, encoded with a 1080p transfer, James Cameron's Terminator 2: Judgment Day arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of UK-based distributors Optimum Releasing. The disc contains the Theatrical and Special Edition versions of the film as well as the Extended Special Edition version. The access code for it is - 82997. The special edition version seems to be using seamless branching which delivers the missing footage in with the theatrical cut of the film.

Video Quality - First thing you¡¯ll notice there is no longer the macro blocking and artifacts that plagued the previous version. Unfortunately there has been some noise reduction applied which causes the image to occasionally have a smoothed out look. Fine detail and clarity are much improved as is sharpness. Blacks are middle of the road, never the most deep ¡ª in a few scenes. Flesh tones remain natural throughout. If you have the original release on DVD or Laserdisc, you will notice an improvement in sharpness, detail and clarity. Until James Cameron actually decides to oversee a new restoration of the film this is the best presentation.

Audio Quality - This release is presented in a few different audio calibrations and formats. The primary (and new) track is the DTS-HD 6.1 Master Audio accompanied by Dolby Digital 5.1 EX track. Keep in mind that the surround mixes on here are THX certified (so Lionsgate claims anyway). To say this is ¡°demo material¡± is an understatement. Though we haven¡¯t gotten the reference transfer hoped for, this is the ¡°T2¡± audio presentation you have be waiting for. Bass is powerful and packs a huge punch during the many action set pieces. Dynamics are very impressive for a film from 1991. There are audio effects that emanate in a 360 sound field that really enhance the feeling that you are right there in the fight for the future. Nice subtlety was noticed as well. Dialogue is clear throughout and well defined. The iconic score sounds amazing from the opening titles through the movie and the end credits. A superb job has been done for this presentation and it can stand on it¡¯s own against a few of the action movie mixes from more recent films.

Audio Commentary is supplied from two archival tracks culled from the previous DVD releases. Director James Cameron in his first ever commentary track is accompanied by co-writer William Wysher. This is a real treat for fans as Cameron goes into great detail of all the aspects of making the film. Wisher is a good co-pilot as he is very articulate and just ad passionate about the film. Highly recommended you listen to this.

The second audio ¡°commentary¡± track is excellent as well. It contains an an assemblage of audio interview extracts. Featuring a total of 26 members of the cast and crew of ¡°Terminator 2¡å ¡ª Arnold Schwarzenegger, Linda Hamilton, Edward Furlong, James Cameron and a montage of the technical and film crew. There is so much information and great trivia on this track that if you¡¯re even a casual fan you will come away with a greater respect for the film and it¡¯s achievements.

Deleted Scenes¡± (6 minutes) Since the disc provides both the extended and theatrical versions of Terminator 2, we are only given 2 deleted scenes separately from the film. The first is a really cool scene with the T-1000 searching John Connor¡¯s bedroom. I love the way Robert Patrick plays this scene with the T-1000 never really touching, instead he sort of glance his hand over items seemingly gaining information that way. The other scene is the highly debated alternate ending, featuring Linda Hamilton in old-age make-up and a future LA with people in the background wearing outrageous outfits to look futuristic. It doesn¡¯t work because it does not fit with the look and tone of rest of the film, never mind the fact that is a clich¨¦d happy ending. If this scene was kept in the original theatrical cut, I doubt the film would be as beloved.

Theatrical Trailers gives you three trailers plus a couple of extra previews. Included are the film¡¯s teaser and two theatrical trailers. Also included is a video promo for the ¡°T2¡å special edition DVD, and the ¡°T2¡å THX logo that features the THX logo being blown away then melts like the T-1000 and rises back up with the famous THX sound. It is nice that Lionsgate decided to present all of the clips in 1080p video and they look real good. Overall, the bonus materials are loaded but unfortunately it is all recycled from the DVD releases.

Finally, TERMINATOR 2: JUDGMENT DAY Skynet Edition is a solid, feature-packed Blu-ray release which exploits the second generation abilities of the high-definition disc format to recommend its inclusion in movie fans' and Terminator fanatics' home video libraries. This film has had multiple home entertainment releases going back over fifteen years to VHS and LaserDisc editions, across numerous DVD releases and editions which always promise more of the movie audiences crave. Credit to Lionsgate for delivering a much more robust Blu-ray effort which justifies the Skynet Edition just three years after the bare bones treatment it got, and indeed the vastly upgraded DTS-HD soundtrack and treasure trove of bonus material approach must-see status. But overall, the TERMINATOR 2: JUDGMENT DAY Skynet Edition extends the Terminator franchise into the 21st century where it belongs, both technologically for home viewing and thematically in its futurist dramatic frame of reference. James Cameron's mind-bending tale of destruction and destiny, placing mankind's future on the narrow shoulders of young John Connor, has never looked and sounded better, and this Skynet Edition pulls out all the stops to enhance your TERMINATOR 2 experience better than ever.

Mr. Andrew C. Miller [Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan]
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, Untited Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but worth it for Terminator fans, 25 Aug 2009
At the time of purchase I found 17 quid a bit steep for an 18 year old film being released on Blu-Ray for the second time! Nevertheless it has been one of the best buys of this year for my collection. Warned off by negative reviews I did not buy the previous transfer, so I cannot compare, but can confirm that this release has phenomenal sound (6.1 DTS HD Master Audio) and very good picture quality, particularly in close-ups. It contains 3 versions on one disc via seamless branching (why, oh why can't all BDs with multiple cuts have this?). The best version for me is the middle one, the extended but not "ultimate" special extended edition. One addition in the longest cut is footage of the T-1000 searching John's room, take it or leave it. But the most dramatic addition is a different ending which actually makes Terminator 3 and upwards impossible in my view!

But then the "Terminator" franchise has never worried about things like this. T-2 just suddenly announces in a Sarah Connor voice-over at the beginning that 2 Terminators were sent back, not one as stated in the original "Terminator", and no satisfactory explanation is ever given for this change to the story. I guess most people don't care because they liked T-2 so much.

It is a classic 90s action film, and has not dated badly at all. I notice on Amazon that some people have had technical problems with this disc. If you have a Profile 2.0 player and have installed the latest firmware there should be no problems. I found that the disc loaded in reasonable time (given the fancy menu and extras) and I had no problems of any kind. Always having to type in a code to view the long version is quite silly, but I would recommend the second version anyway.

This release could stand to be a bit cheaper I think, but it is undeniably a must for "Terminator" fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of Course it 1080p, and looks amazing, 3 Mar 2008
The other review had it completely wrong. I'm not sure what he was doing. Here are the real specs

DIRECTOR'S CUT VERSION
Anamorphic (16:9 1080p Hi-Def) Widescreen (2.35:1) Version
English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio
Optional French and Dutch subtitles

This is the same exact HD-DVD as Disc 2 in the French Studio Canal release. All of the menus and specifications of the DVD are identical. The only differences are the cover and the printing on the face of the DVD. The French Studio Canal release does have a 2nd DVD which is the Theatrical Version of the film. If you own HD DVD, this is the movie to get. It never gets old how many times I watch it, ands it looks & sounds better than you've ever seen it before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-own movie on a very good DVD, 27 April 2003
T2 is a thoroughly enjoyable film. I can't quite say whether or not I like it better than the original, but I can say that it is one of my favourite films. Here we have Arnie giving a career-best performance. He may not be the finest actor in the world, but he usually creates memorable roles, this of course being his most famous ever. It has its fill of cheesy lines but in this film they're actually written well and help develop the T-800's character.
Cameron's direction is awesome in this, and while I think Linda Hamilton 'hams it up' a litle (no pun intended), everybody generally gives it their best.
The Terminators' story has always interested me, and this film is a great conclusion to it (I wonder if T3 will actually be any good. The trailer doesn't really endear me to it). The T1000, played by Robert Patrick (who was great on The X-Files' final years) and he's just a brilliant villain. The effects are by no means dated and the action sequences are still very exciting, and unlike your bog standard fare of today, well thought through.
OK so generally it's a great film which I insist you buy on this DVD. It's a very good package with a huge number of featurettes and added value. But also, this Region 2 version ONLY allows you to watch a new Director's Cut of the film. At first I was dubious about that. I wanted to have the theatrical cut too, but after seeing the extended version, I don't think I'd go back to the original cut. The new scenes for the most part expand on character development and for that reason they are a welcome addition.
Add to that this really, really extensive monster making-of, all the storyboards and several script drafts and you have a complete package.
Later this year an 'Extreme Edition' is being released, with a proper commentary from James Cameron (the one on this has Cameron plus many cast and crew members) and a Hi-Def transfer of it with unbelievable picture quality. However I wouldn't hesitate to buy this existing version, because this one has features of substance and that one sounds slightly iffy.
So, buy this DVD if you want to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on PAL (UK) PS3, 27 July 2007
Just to confirm as stated in the other review that this works fine on the UK Playstation 3. Not as high quality as the best Blu Rays, this is nevertheless the best quality transfer of T2 currently available.

Note that the original 'Terminator' works fine on PS3 also. The box for T2 says "Region 1" whereas the box for Terminator says "Region A" but neither is accurate; both play without problems.

Don't miss out on two great films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic movie , sound and visuals awesome..., 13 Sep 2012
I am reviewing this based on the transfer and audio. Its miles better than the DVD so I can only assume those who rated this 1 star on the transfer had average-to-poor players. The HD audio is well upto standard and this classic on Blu Ray for £8 is a no brainer. I never watch extras, am not interested in collectors editions etc etc so for me the 5 stars is for the sound and picture.... awesome !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best quality i've ever seen this movie in, 21 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit I was a little wary of purchasing this blu-ray as there are some pretty damning reviews but, I thought what the heck, it's cheap enough for me to take the risk.

I can certainly say I was not disappointed by this edition, i've never seen this movie with so much vibrant colour and with such sharp images! and the sound quality is excellent even through a standard stereo set-up like mine.

The disc plays fast and competently through my PlayStation 3, I've read in a lot of reviews that they were disappointed by the whole experience, I am however of the opinion that they either brought the wrong television or they have a serious flaw in there set-up, my 40" Sony Bravia showed this film incredibly!

I've loved this film since childhood and have had it on all three formats (VHS, DVD, Blu-ray) and as you'd expect this is by far the best edition yet, I couldn't recommend it any more highly to a fan of this timeless classic! It made me feel as if I was watching the film for the first time again.

Unfortunately i can not elaborate on extra features as i'm not the sort of person who enjoys trawling through menus and little videos etc. but at a glance the menu is very impressive.

Happy Viewing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Buy", 21 Jan 2011
By 
G. O'Neill (Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just spent several hours of my life exploring this blu-ray release. I have a top notch sound system and a big expensive telly and movies are my hobby. This is a cracker. One of my favourite movies in full 1080p glory with a hd soundtrack that will leave you, and your neighbours, hearing the bass rumble of the harley in your sleep. The picture quality is astonishing. I never knew that Arnie had a hairy chest in the early bar scene until I watched this disc. Other scenes benefit from increased clarity, like where the processor in Arnie's head is surgically removed by Sarah. The blood-smeared metal skull looks more convincing, the squelchy sound of the scalp being peeled back is all the more stomach churning. Off-screen noises increase that feeling of immersion. I could track the sound of a hunter-killer over my right shoulder coming to the front right speaker then onto the screen then off onto the left front speaker then off-screen and exiting the sound stage over my left shoulder. I actually called a fellow movie-geek to come over to see that bit. The highlight, for me, was the scene where Sarah was rattling the wire fence at the kids playground as the firestorm wreaked destruction. I could feel the hot blast of skin-shrivelling air. This is a great action movie presented brilliantly.
The menu system for me was a bit slow to load but no biggy. The extras were good but not really important to me.
The extended special final directors cut with added scenes approved by the cleaner or whatever it is requires the date of judgement day to be entered as a password. For those not as geeky as me, the code is on the case. The extra scenes, especially the ones involving Kyle, are truly relevant and I cannot believe they were cut from the original film.
Like Spielberg (for he is blessed) I believe you should watch a movie with a bucket of popcorn and be entertained. I was truly entertained by this blu-ray. Its a movie I have seen many times but I am happy to have shelled out my hard-earned cash for this. You should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4f6d87c)

This product

Terminator 2: Judgment Day [DVD]
Terminator 2: Judgment Day [DVD] by Jeanette Goldstein (DVD - 2008)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews