Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


169 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an astonishing and unusual epic ; wonderful visually
This is an extraordinary film - you won't see another quite like it. It tells of the childhood, young manhood and coming to power of Khan Termudgin - Genghis Khan. It has, I think been a labour of love for the director, Serge Bodrov, and he has done a remarkable job. I heard a talk about it on the radio, an academic claiming that Genghis had been seen only through the...
Published on 5 July 2008 by hillbank68

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably good, but could have been better
This film is really a mixed blessing. On the one hand, we have epic battles and sweeping scenery. On the other hand, we have several rather dull and seemingly endlessly drawn out scenes of boring dialogue. It is difficult to say which features of the film win this battle, and will largely vary depending on the individual viewer.

The battle scenes are actually...
Published on 7 Oct. 2008 by M. McManus


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was Genghis Kahn really this different?, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
Mongol - The Rise To Power Of Genghis Khan [DVD] [2008]

The name Genghis Khan raises thoughts of the world's most brutal conqueror, but director Sergei Bodrov seeks to change all this, showing us a highly intelligent, fair minded and forward thinking leader.

With so little known of Genghis Kahn except for his conquests one wonders if all the humane characteristics attributed to him have historical validity, for example pioneering the concept of diplomatic immunity, not killing women and children, fairness, and a very simple legal code.

Mongol is the first film in a proposed trilogy on the life of Genghis Khan (Tadanobu Asano), and covers the period from the death of his father to his status as leader.

Terrible trials are attributed to the young Genghis with repeated captures and imprisonments, finally emerging as the leader, his selecting a wife Borte (Khulan Chuluun) at the age of ten and their future relationship. Also his best friend Jamukha (Honglei Sun) becomes his deadliest enemy.

This is not an action packed epic, but towards the end there are some fine battle scenes. The best cavalry manoeuvre I have ever seen occurs when a charge suddenly changes into a crescent formation with the riders wielding two swords, (one in each hand with the tips touching their neighbours) mounting a truly terrifying assault.
Shot in beautiful Mongolian country, dialogue in Mongolian, mainly with Japanese actors.

Beautifully acted, filmed, produced and with a fascinating film score this is a great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Russian made epic about Genghis Khan, 26 May 2009
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
This Russian production, filmed in Kazakhstan with actors from a number of Asian nationalities, is a very enjoyable film, in the tradition of classic epic cinema, on the early years on Genghis Khan, from the day he was born until the day he was named ruler of all the Mongols. After surviving a number of adventures and occasional setbacks in order to position himself as the future ruler of more than half of Eurasia (the largest empire ever, in terms of its area), Genghis Khan probably comes out as a guy that is a lot nicer than he probably was, and his wife's influence on him appears as improbable in medieval Mongol society (the early scene where as a child he chooses as his bride among a lesser clan, against the wishes of his father, is one of the movie's best). Despite this and other inaccuracies, this is a very entertaining epic. Filmed in lush photography which shows in widescreen the natural beauty of the Central Asian plain, it is wonderfully directed by Russia's Sergei Bodrov, who certainly knows how to entertain an audience in the classical tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rise of a bloodthirsty barbarian, 2 Mar. 2009
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
"Mongol" is a worthy and absorbing foreign language film which traces the rise to power of Temudgin Khan, who would of course become the notorious Genghis Khan in his later years. The film focuses on his early life, starting with him as a nine year old choosing a bride with his Khan father (as you do - no internet dating hassle for him !).Unfortunately his father gets poisoned by his enemies and Temudgin has to flee from his clan. He ends up enslaved on several occasions and endures humiliation and hardship before asserting his leadership abilities and becoming commander of a large Mongol horde.The film highlights the amazing strength of character and indomitable spirit of Temudgin and is set against the dramatic, bleak landscapes of Mongolia itelf. A lot of "Mongol" centres around Temudgin's devoted relationship with his wife who is portrayed as a bit of an Oriental Helen of Troy .There are few dull moments in "Mongol" and I look forward to watching the planned sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film I've seen in 2008, 12 Dec. 2008
By 
D. Jones (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I usually watch about 3-4 films per week, many of them at the cinema. This is the best I have seen this year. Most of the people who criticised it seem to have either been looking for a bloodbath or a docu-drama. Mongol is neither, just a superbly filmed, brilliantly acted and authentic looking piece of cinema. The costumes and scenery looked fantastic. The main actors were very credible in their roles and the soundtrack was beautifully understated, bringing to life the emptiness of the Mongolian Steppe. I don't know how accurate the story is, but any story of his early life must involve a lot of speculation and artistic license as there is little known about his origins. The ending was rather abrupt, but I think some of the best films leave you wanting more (Look at the last 2 Coen Brothers releases). It has certainly made me want to learn more about Ghengis Khan, who, whether you subscribe to the revisionist view or not, is undeniably a fascinating character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Mongol [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you are looking for a historically accurate account of the early years of Genghis Khan, don't watch it. If you want to watch a superb, beautiful film, I can't recommend this highly enough. Though gory in parts, it is not really a war film but a love story - the main character with his wife and also in a brotherly-love way with a fellow Mongol leader. Hope they make the rest of the planned trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Ripping Yarn!!, 28 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. M. A. Woods "Beanpod, anyone?! www.Beanpo... (Warminster, Wiltshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
What a brilliant film! If you like stunning locations, great photography and awesome fight sequences then this is a film for you! From the get-go you know you're in for a treat. The opening shot pans through a spectacular set to the lead character who you instantly know is going to be a tough nut to crack...well, the guy IS Ghengis Khan!

No previous knowledge of the life of Ghengis is required...you will be harshly educated. You'll learn about yurts! You'll see offal enjoyed as a breakfast! See Mongolian forms of punishment!

The film moves at great pace through his eventful and grim life and, frankly, I'd watch this sort of film just for the photography. It really is a stunning piece of cinema to look at. You may have to do this if you mistakenly buy the DVD in the original Mongolian dialogue! Make sure it has English subtitles!

If you like action and drama I recommend this film. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars, 8 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
This film is about the childhood of Genghis Khan and until he unites the mongolian tribes. The acting and the scenes are great. The costumes seem very realistic. The only thing that I miss, is the effect that Genghis Khan had on the world. My nephews watched the film with interest, so it is also a good educational tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
D. Q. RAMOS (Sintra, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
All i'm going to say is that this movie is a lesson to american director's.

Here you can see well disguised special effects, instead of getting the feeling that you just watched a CGI animated movie (like most U.S. movies nowadays).

Landscapes are marvelous, acting supreme and story and rhythm never gets boring.

It is NOT historical acurate, but then again what is?

Just can't wait for the sequel, it deserves one at least, since it made me want to come back for more.

Like someone here said, if the 3 movies were done in just one movie, for about 9 hours, i would be standing in my chair with eyes open completely in awe.

What a marvel of a movie, one of the few in the last years to really get my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and Brilliantly Performed and Made, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
This movie covers the formative years of Termudgin/Genghis Khan's life, up until he becomes a man and a powerful leader and warrior. The film might initially seem scaled down because of this, but don't let it put you off as this is an epic and brutal tale even to this point of his story.
Visually it is stunning and the acting is brilliant (the girl that plays his wife Borte is not a professional actress, but is a natural).
The battle scenes are well choreographed and suitably bloody.
I have previously watched "Genghis Khan: To the Ends of the Earth and Sea" and left disappointed because it has tried to cover too much not particularly well, but there isn't that issue with "Mongol".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Dec. 2011
By 
P. R. Scott (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mongol [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the best foreign language films out on BluRay at the moment and well worth investing in. Just a pity that the sequels never materialised, though I heard on the grapevine that one may still appear. Okay, it might not be historically accurate in a few places, but it is a sumptuously made film with excellent acting, good battle scenes and a great soundtrack to compliment the visuals. I'll never tire of watching it, and have no hesitation in recommending it to my friends and anyone else who enjoys an epic historical romp. Subtitles are clear to read for a change too...not checked if there is an English dubbed track yet...never use them to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mongol: The Rise to Power of Genghis Khan [DVD] (2007)
£2.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews