Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Think We've Got Something Special
Stop the press... we have a major problem here! Usher's new album is going to get some very mixed reviews! Why?... because of the high expectation that comes with any Usher Raymond release. People are expecting to hear a world class banging CD on first play, but that's exactly what you don't get with "Here I Stand".

Usher has grown up and as personal as his...
Published on 25 May 2008 by J. Rhodes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes Less Is More
Mr Raymond, I wanted to like your new album. I really, really did.

It's a fine voice you have there...no doubt about it...a very fine voice...

...and it's not as though you were short of a few good songs too.

...but then something went badly, badly wrong between the conception, writing
and final execution of this project...
Published on 30 May 2008 by The Wolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking., 23 Jun 2008
By 
N. J. Cockburn (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
Usher has come back to the charts with two great new, catchy singles with incredible beats: Love in this Club and Moving Mountains. This album is filled to the brim with similar-gender songs, however some of the tracks really do fail to deliver any sort of 'umph', and therefore this is where the three-star rating came in.

Maybe Usher should have stuck with the more club-like songs - yes, Love in this Club is a good song, but none of them will live up to the great single 'Yeah', which you seem to hear once or twice every day off some sort of radio now.

Yes, it's a nice album - but it feels rather sketchy and 'unfinished'. Here I Stand is worth buying, but do not expect the newcomer to be filled with great number-one hits all around. This album is good, but not great. 7/10 - that's 3.5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long time coming and well worth the wait., 29 Jun 2008
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
I am astonished that some people have given this album less than 5 stars. This album is without a doubt a step above anything he has ever relased - evident from his lastest release Moving Mountains, which I personally think is one of many excellent tracks on the album. Other favorites are - Before I met you, Appetite, His Mistakes and whats a man to do.

Comparassions with Chris Brown are inevitable, but without grounding. Chris Brown is not in the same league as Usher...have you heard Chris Brown sing live? I have, and I dont want to hear it again...

Anyway, I strongly recommend this album to Ushers fans old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like but don't love, 26 Aug 2008
This review is from: USHER-HERE I STAND (Audio CD)
I like this CD, it was a long wait and I don't really regret buying it, although the first time I listened to it, I was disappointed. I kept skipping the tracks and thinking 'don't like this, don't like that...' but then, when I got to number 11 I loved track after track so in my opinion the first half is not so great (apart from love in this club and moving mountains of course) and my clear favourites are appetite, before I met you, what's a man to do and will work for love.
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ushers on top form !!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
A. Brown "Soul /R&B Lover" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
I read many of the mixed reviews on here about 'Here I Stand'. Don't go with the negativity - Ushers grown up !!!
This CD shows his maturity and I can't fault it. From the beats to the lyrics, Usher hasn't put a foot wrong.
If you've grown with him from Confessions, then you will understand where he's coming from; he is afterall now a married man with two kids !!
This is on constant repeat in my house
Definetly buy, listen & enjoy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here I Stand, 22 May 2008
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
Just heard his album on his myspace page. I think its his best work. He has matured as an artist in every way. I have not got a bad thing to say about this album, every track is on point. Tries something new on some tracks and that I feel is very important for an artist in order to grow. So yeah, his best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here I Stand - Usher, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
I may be middle - aged , but there is something about Usher's music which I find relaxing and pleasant to listen to . This compilation of tracks , I feel , is well balanced and mature in taste . The music is complex sometimes and I personally enjoy as such .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to this, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
I love this album ....
Playing it everyday, will never get tired if Ushers voice
Forever young, moving mountains, his mistakes are my favourite trackes.
This is one of the older albums but well worth a listen.
GREAT !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
Great album, 'love in this club' is amazing, can't stop playing it. Stands the test of time well, is a real classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: Here I Stand (MP3 Download)
It's amazing all the songs have great vibes but forever young defo my fave song. I like both love in this club and love in this club II!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here I Stand (Audio CD)
excellant cd delivery was fast and product in excellant condition. would use sellor again. packaging very good no scatches or scuff marks on cd. It was a gift and came on time was fast delivery and was easier to find better than buying in the shops.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Here I Stand
Here I Stand by Usher (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews