Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars challenging
You need to be a real game player for this one - a real challenge, months of fun
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Mrs. T. A. Starling

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midway are lazy, TNA shouldn't pay em for this '2 year' product
Bad points:
Not a full roster for the time the game was made, let alone an up to date one.
Minimal entrances, no ramp walk etc.
Scatty commentry, loose and irritating.
Very poor collision detection.
No create a wrestler option.
Career mode can only be played with some generic chap in a suit, that looks a bit like Spawn.
No blood, only...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by M. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midway are lazy, TNA shouldn't pay em for this '2 year' product, 14 Sep 2008
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
Bad points:
Not a full roster for the time the game was made, let alone an up to date one.
Minimal entrances, no ramp walk etc.
Scatty commentry, loose and irritating.
Very poor collision detection.
No create a wrestler option.
Career mode can only be played with some generic chap in a suit, that looks a bit like Spawn.
No blood, only weapon is a chair, no tables.. no hardcore matches, first blood etc.
No cage match.
No signiture taunts for any wrestler.
No female wrestlers.
Tag team partners enter seperate from one another.
Cheap a.i. and difficulty, you get hurt way more then your opponent does from your attacks.
Career mode is full of generic, useless fake wrestlers that your required to defeat.. they don't even have ring entrances.
No referee.
Yes there is a reversal system, but there is no skill.. just button bash the reversal button and you'll be successful.. no skill required.
You can't win belts and defend them, so far I've won the tag titles and not even seen them on screen.
Pretty much identical move sets for each wrestler, that's just Midway disrespecting A.J and Samoa for getting in those motion capture suits, what a waste..
No excuse Midway, you suck.

Good points:
Fight as some of your favourite TNA stars.. obviously.
Submission moves require 3-button sequence inputs to continue/get out from the move, fun in multiplayer.
Pretty decent animation for PS2 and wrestlers look like they should.
The story mode cut-scenes are half-decent, sometimes funny with Kevin Nash as your manager.

The game is fun enough but is shockingly lacking. I don't care if it's TNA's first game, that's a banal point of argument.. Midway were lazy and getting paid for mediocre at best end product. I love TNA wrestling and much prefer it to WWE. This game reaks of rushed movie to game merchandise quality..
I'm glad I own the game, it is still fun to fight TNA stars. Certainly not worth the asking price on the next-gen consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Nov 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
The PS2 version of this game was one of the most disappointing gaming experiences I've had in years. After all the hype and build up, it turned out to be a below average fighting game that simply doesn't reflect the action of TNA.

One of the best things about watching TNA is the variety of moves and counter-moves on display, but this game provides you with extremely limited choices, with only the finishers being unique to each character. Unlike Smackdown vs. Raw, there's nothing to give you the feel of playing as a unique character and, on the PS2 at least, there's no option to create your own wrestler.

The story mode is really easy to complete and features a number of bland jobbers, who could easily have been replaced with real life TNA stars. For a company with such a huge roster, it would have been easy to include more real life wrestlers rather than the likes of the cliched clowns, masked Mexicans and military characters to be found here.

I love TNA, but this game has little replay value, with barely any match choices and no action backstage or outside the main arenas. The Ultimate X match is a nice feature, but once again, fails to capture the excitement of its real-life counterpart.

Time to go back to the drawing board Midway, as I for one will be sticking to Smackdown vs Raw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as expected, 14 Sep 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
overall good game, good gameplay, nice grapics and all that.
But many disappointments:
lack of match types
no tna knockouts
cant create wrestlers
no title matches
awkward camera views in tag team matches
too easy to complete total gameplay so far about 4 hours and early 60% complete
no blood!

depends on what you look for in a game i suppose, if all your interested in is wrestling with good graphics then great but its over too soon for me.
once ive completed it i dont think ill ever play it again whereas with smackdown ive never got bored of it because there are so many things you can do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Problems, 4 May 2013
By 
T. Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
Game graphics are good but there seems to be a glitch that when you're playing the game, the player freezes and you have to switch the game off then on again. Definitely not the consoles problem as it works fine with other games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Game!, 31 Dec 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
This game was a HUGE letdown. Don't waste your money here. Go find a copy of Fire Pro Wrestling Returns and create the TNA wrestlers and Ring Logo in that game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars challenging, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. T. A. Starling "comfort freak" (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
You need to be a real game player for this one - a real challenge, months of fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TNA Impact, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Ann Box - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
Bought as a Christmas present for my two son aged 8 and 10. Huge Wrestling fans.
Loved the game kept them entertained for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars tna impact, 18 July 2009
By 
Ms. SJ Doupe "sj doupe" (birmingham, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
To start with i thought this game was very good. The controls was very diffrent and i hope for there next release they will have this game right. It needs alot more on it because after you have finished the story mode theres not alot more you can do with the game(only on ps2 format).If you like tna though you will like this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does'nt live up to hype!, 9 May 2009
By 
Aj "Aaron" (Basingstoke, U.K) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
Good game but graphics are a bit dated and the gameplay is quite boring! Very easy to complete and once you do thats about it! Not worth buying! After all the hype it was quite a let down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars arcade style fighting, 19 Sep 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TNA Impact (PS2) (Video Game)
ok so i played a few matches in exhibition before hitting story mode, controls are straightforward, no multiple button fiddling as with smackdown vs raw, that said, the computer tends to reverse charatcer specific moves all the time, no option to turn this off, can get quite annoying especially when you have battered your opponent.

this game is definitely a button basher, found that its more effective to punch n kick strongly then keep trying to pull of slightly more skilled moves, even on easy the computer is fairly relentless with you, good difficulty, does make winning a match more satisfying.

story mode is silly but fun stuff, only a few matches in tho.

anyways these types of games are meant to be played against humans not computers & if you dont want a techy game then this is perfect for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa174c5f4)

This product

TNA Impact (PS2)
TNA Impact (PS2) by Midway Games Ltd (PlayStation2)
8.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews