Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb set
I am sorry I simply cannot agree with the review that said this was a bad series. As some of the other reviewers have said this is more akin to classic Dr Who of the past but with absolutely top notch acting and very good attention to detail/Special effects. It also has a lot of nice little touches such as allusions to Dr Who and strong internal continuity. Yes it was...
Published on 11 Dec 2008 by Romanos D. Daniel

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, but Kids Will Love This
'The Sarah Jane Adventures' is CBBC's very own 'Doctor Who' spin-off series, created by Russell T Davies and charting the adventures of the Doctor's former travelling companion Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen), now going it alone as a freelance investigator and troubleshooter specialising in the strange and the alien, with help from her adopted son Luke, and his...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by A. Foxley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb set, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Romanos D. Daniel "Manos" (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am sorry I simply cannot agree with the review that said this was a bad series. As some of the other reviewers have said this is more akin to classic Dr Who of the past but with absolutely top notch acting and very good attention to detail/Special effects. It also has a lot of nice little touches such as allusions to Dr Who and strong internal continuity. Yes it was designed as a kids series but it definitely has almost universal appeal. Couple this with a great 4 dvd set at a price that is less than the typical price of a single Dr who dvd and you have one of he best value box sets I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important information episode list., 15 Sep 2009
Invasion of the Bane--- disc one is EXACTLY the same as the single episode release.
Revenge of the Slitheen
Eye of the Gorgon
Warriors of Kudlak
Whatever Happened to Sarah Jane??
The Lost Boy

From the above you will note that there is no need to purchase the single episode release of Invasion of the Bane as you won't get any extra special features or anything. It annoys me that Amazon do not put up proper details of D.V.D.s so one is often buying blind. I got caught out and bought the single release and wasted my money. I have posted these details so that others do not get caught out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now This is How You Do a Spin-Off!, 10 Oct 2008
Since Doctor Who's revival in 2005, it seems that everywhere we turn we are bombarded with Doctor Who merchandise, magazines, toys, DVD's ect and now we have two spin-off series. The first being the more "adult" Torchwood and the second, the more "child friendly" The Sarah Jane Adventures. Both have their own merits, however The Sarah Jane Adventures (SJA) works so much better as a Doctor Who spin-off than what Torchwood does. Firstly, we have a character who many fans have known for years and in a lot of cases, grew up watching. Sarah Jane Smith is once again played by the brilliant Elisabeth Sladen, and here she's back and better than ever armed with her own sonic-lipstick and supercomputer Mr. Smith. Fair enough this does sound a little silly, and it sounds even sillier when we start talking about Slitheens and an alien pop factory, however the show is aimed at kids and it does a good job of catering for that audience as well as an older audience as well. Meaning that this series is enjoyable to anyone who doesn't take it too seriously.

The show itself is of incredible quality compared to some other children's programming. When aired originally each "story" was split into two 30 minute episodes, ending on a cliffhanger which was resolved the following week and that format is restored here in this set.

The episodes are each brilliant in their own way (well maybe except for Revenge of the Slitheen but it's still not bad). Highlights include "Eye of the Gorgon" "Whatever Happened to Sarah Jane?" and "The Lost Boy". That being said, every episode of this series is enjoyable and entertaining, but the ones I mentioned are just the strongest of the bunch. Also present here is the first episode Invasion of the Bane which originally aired as a New Year's special and also acted as the show's first episode which guest stars Samantha Bond as Mrs. Wormwood who goes on to return in the final episode of the second season.

The acting is always on top form. If you are new to the series starting from "Invasion of the Bane" please don't be put off by the one major mistake the writers made which was creating the character of Kelsey, how thankfully was replaced by the much more likable and entertaining Clyde. Aside from Sarah Jane as the lead, we have Maria Jackson played wonderfully by Yasmin Paige who is Sarah Jane's "companion" if you will. Also starring is Tommy Knight as Luke Smith, Sarah's adopted son (yes she has a son now!) and Daniel Anthony as Clyde Langer, the comic relief of the series. Writing, directing and production values are always up to scratch, a lot of effort was put into making this series and it shows on screen and in the quality of the series itself.

The special features aren't as in-depth as those featured on the Doctor Who DVD's, but as the boxset is aimed at the show's target demographic then it is to be expected. There is still a lot to be found on the DVD's though in terms of special features, there is a quiz which "unlocks" an outtake reel, some interviews, Blue Peter spots, trailers and character profiles as well as others. The DVD's come in an attractively designed box, which houses the four discs and the menus are the same as those on the Sarah Jane Adventures - Invasion of the Bane (BBC) [DVD] DVD, which display an animated and interactive version of Sarah Jane's attic.

This boxset does make a worthy purchase, and a nice addition to any Doctor Who fan's collection, plus the low price Amazon has the set listed at makes this both a bargain and a quality purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice SciFi family adventure, 30 July 2009
By 
L. B. Fanch (Mont Dore, SP New Caledonia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This family adventure will work wonders on kids as well as the parents. It's a joyful mood yet the action is there. Perfect in all the way. I just wish eash episode would be the length of any Doctor Who or Torchwood episode, in fact, slightly under 30 minutes is a little short to tell the story, hence the numerous two parts adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second-best alien butt kicker in the Whoniverse!, 19 Mar 2009
Sarah-Jane Smith is the (former) Doctor Who companion with the nine lives. Like Bond girls, The Doctor's companions (male and female) tend to fade into oblivion upon leaving the show, with a few honourable exceptions (Billie Piper, Peter Purves), but the redoubtable Miss Smith just keeps coming back for more. In 1981, five years after leaving the show she had joined when Jon Pertwee was The Doctor, there was the oddly charming but critically mauled `K9 and Company', followed two years later by the Twentieth anniversary Doctor Who story `The Five Doctors'. Sarah-Jane then disappeared for twenty-three years before resurfacing in the revamped Doctor Who series, again with the (t)rusty K9, in `School Reunion'. But The Sarah-Jane Adventures is undoubtedly actress Elisabeth Sladen's piece de resistance; as she teams up with Maria Jackson from over the road and Maria's mouthy friend Kelsey, as well as her super computer `Mr Smith', to investigate alien activity on Earth (K9 being sadly indisposed, preventing a black hole from destroying the planet.
After the fun but typically patchy pilot episode `Invasion of the Bane', Kelsey was replaced by the brash but endearing streetwise Clyde Langer and the show really took off. Along with Sarah's adopted son Luke (artificially created by the Bane), and primary companion Maria, Sarah uses Mr Smith to help her locate alien activity from the attic of her house on Bannerman Road.
With six two-part adventures in the series, writers Gareth Roberts, Phil Gladwin and Phil Ford really have an opportunity to put some meat on the bones of each episode, and this leads to a solidly constructed, invigorating and relentlessly impressive series of stories. My personal favourite is the eerie `Whatever Happened to Sarah-Jane', in which our hero is taken out of time by the Machiavellian `Trickster' and the girl she saw die forty years ago is brought to life and allowed to live in her place...
In all honesty there isn't a dud story here. Russell T Davies has struck TV gold once more, and with a further series being broadcast as we speak and a third already commissioned this particular spin-off looks set to run and run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure! For Children, Teens and Adults, 31 Oct 2008
By 
This is the more "Child Friendly" Spin Off of Doctor Who unlike the adult version of Torchwood, Being a Fan of Doctor Who and Torchwood I thought to give Sarah Jane Adventures a chance and I did and I have always watched it on CBBC, This show has been proven to draw: Child, Teen (Myself being one) and Adults (My Mother Exibit A), Elizabeth Sladen and her Child Companions Maria and Clyde with her adopted son Luke attract Aliens etc. The Series was really good my favourite being Warriors of Kudlak and The Lost Boy, The New Series currently Showing on CBBC is showing real promise even though they replaced Maria it still carries on, If you are looking for a change from Torchwood and Doctor Who or something to entertain you while the shows are on a hiatus I recommened Sarah Jane Advenutres, you will never look back :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series, 29 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is it's a brillaint series and any Doctor Who fan will enjoy it Adult and child alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 9 July 2009
By 
C. Churcher (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great series made in the style of Dr Who but with a younger audience in mind. Each episode is of a good length, so that kids do not lose interest. A great introduction to Dr Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuanced performance from Elisabeth Sladen in superb sci-fi spin off show, 7 Jun 2009
Terrific children's BBC Doctor Who spin off that often feels more sophisticated, grounded in real emotion and coherent than it's parent show. Much of the credit for this is due to Elisabeth Sladen, who gives a subtle and nuanced performance throughout. For those of us who loved Sarah Jane first time round as the doctor's companion, her 'second chance' to have these exciting new adventures feels like a vindication for us too. Series creator Russell T Davies knows this and cleverly creates a world in which Sarah is forced to confront issues that many of her original audience will relate to (including loneliness, the passing of time, the role of fate in our lives). Which isn't to say that this show misses out on any of the things that younger viewers would expect: the actors are all excellent, there are impressive special effects and monsters that amuse rather than frighten. The scripts fizz with sharp humour ('Eye of the Gorgon' has some witty one liners) but also have moments of pathos - particularly around growing old. As the season progresses, there is a real sense that Sarah Jane has found a family and has finally begun to enjoy her life back on earth. Any fan of sci-fi should love this and cherish it always. Can't wait for season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic spin-off, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Holly Pullinger (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really great spin-off. although it's marketed as a kid's show, i'm a teenager and i love it, as do loads of my friends, and my parents. it's exciting and fun, and a lot less violent than torchwood (but i still love that too!). but even if this series is less violent than others, that doesnt make it any less scary, nerve racking and exciting. plus, this box set has some great extras too. i'd reccomend it to absolutely everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews