Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent edition of WrestleMania. Truly fantastic
WrestleMania 24 pretty much has it all this year. The fantastic outdoor venue (the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Florida), large crowd, strong undercard, classic main event and celebrity involvement resulting in a truly fun-filled extravaganza that doesn't disappoint. While it isn't the best WrestleMania of them all, it's still a fantastic show that has the essentials we've...
Published on 12 July 2008 by R. Wood

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WM 24
HERE WE GO

Belfast Brawl
Finlay vs. JBL 3.5/5

Money in the Bank Ladder Match
Mr. Kennedy vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. Chris Jericho vs. Carlito vs. Montel Vontavious Porter vs. CM Punk vs. John Morrison 3.5/5

Battle for Brand Supremacy
Umaga vs. Batista 3/5

ECW Championship
Chavo Guerrero vs KANE 1.5/5...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by David Craig


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent edition of WrestleMania. Truly fantastic, 12 July 2008
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 24 (Tin Version) [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
WrestleMania 24 pretty much has it all this year. The fantastic outdoor venue (the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Florida), large crowd, strong undercard, classic main event and celebrity involvement resulting in a truly fun-filled extravaganza that doesn't disappoint. While it isn't the best WrestleMania of them all, it's still a fantastic show that has the essentials we've come to expect from the biggest wrestling show of the year.

Belfast Brawl
Finlay vs. JBL
The whole `Hornswoggle is Mr. McMahon's son. No, he's actually Finlay's son' storyline was poorly devised and dragged on for far too long. So it's pleasing that it finally gets resolved here in this opening contest, which is a fine one at that. Both guys are in their element here and produce a nice, well-executed hardcore bout that's given the right amount of time. Not particularly memorable or as intense as it could've been, but it's a good start to the show, and Hornswoggle's role enhances the quality. I like it. (7/10)

Money in the Bank Ladder Match
Chris Jericho vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. John Morrison vs. Carlito vs. CM Punk vs. MVP vs. Mr Kennedy
The more I see Ladder Matches, the harder it becomes for there to be originality. The participants obviously laugh at that theory, as they all produce an absolutely awesome stunt-filled melee with outstanding, original innovation that I've never seen before. The MITB contest at WrestleMania 21 is still the best, but this is a very close second. Watch out for a surprise return and a truly worthy winner. (9/10)

Battle for Brand Supremacy
Batista vs. Umaga
This could've been a really intense, fantastically good slugfest...but it's not. The lack of a proper build-up, coupled with Batista's sloppy performance, a botched-finish and the wrong guy winning, results in an average bout that's rather forgettable. Still, Umaga shines here, giving a great performance which deserves rewarding at some stage. The `Uu-uu-uu-maga!" chants are brilliant. (5/10)

ECW Championship Match
Chavo Guerrero (Champion) vs. Kane
Finally Kane is given a push that he deserves. A second world title reign for the Big Red Machine was LONG overdue and Chavo (as good as he is) did NOTHING with the ECW title. I can't be too generous, though, as this is essentially a squash that lasts nine seconds. Short, sweet and sensibly done...but a squash is a squash. (3/10)

Career Threatening Match
Ric Flair vs. Shawn Michaels
Ric Flair...thank you. For giving us over thirty-five years of perhaps the most wonderful career of any wrestling legend. If this was gonna be the Nature Boy's last hurrah, the only logical place and opponent would be WrestleMania and Shawn Michaels. An excellent storyline is made even better here thanks to Shawn bringing Ric to the very best of what's left, and Flair himself determined not to let his opponent and fans down. A truly emotional swansong and beautiful wrestling contest. Shawn's selfless act at the end and the poignant aftermath are equally timeless. Worthy match of the year candidate. (9/10)

Playboy Bunnymania Lumberjack Match
Maria & Ashley vs. Beth Phoenix & Melina
As Trish Stratus has said...there IS a place for stuff like this in wrestling. But quality women's wrestling (e.g. Trish and Lita among others) seems to be taking a backseat to this STUFF lately (especially at WrestleMania) which is disappointing, frankly. Nonetheless, Beth and Melina carry their opponents to an okay bout. It's pretty much filler, which we needed in order to recover from the previous match. Sloppiness and the lights temporarily going out spoil this, but Santino and Snoop Dogg's involvement makes for fun viewing. (5/10)

WWE Championship Triple Threat Match
Randy Orton (Champion) vs. John Cena vs. Triple H
A match that had very good build-up and benefits from all the participants having great storyline history with one another. With so many variables going for this, what you have here is a great triple-threat outing from all three participants. Not the classic it could've been, but still a fun, non-stop affair with a surprising outcome. Worthy of WrestleMania. (8/10)

The Biggest vs. The Best
Big Show vs. Floyd "Money" Mayweather
I was initially unsure whether or not this was such a good idea for WrestleMania. There is a world of difference between wrestling and boxing and bringing them together doesn't guarantee that it'll work. However, this can definitely be called a success. Superb booking and presentation makes this a very realistic and believable contest. It's a bout that makes both the Big Show and Mayweather look so credible and pays equal respect to wrestling and boxing. A fight both athletes can be very proud of, and one we can all really enjoy. (8/10)

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Edge (Champion) vs. The Undertaker
Finally, after so many months of Edge being the godlike heel, screwing over Taker and escaping judgement again and again, we finally have their long-awaited, highly-anticipated confrontation. And it was worth the wait. With Edge playing the heel so well, it seemed like the Dead Man's WrestleMania winning streak would be in serious jeopardy, more so than it had been in previous years. It's perhaps the best one-on-one, straight wrestling match that either individual has ever had in their careers, complete with so many counters, excellent pacing and false finishes that will have you hooked. And the ending...well, see for yourself. As a WrestleMania main-event, it's excellent. Match of the night. (10/10)

Extras are sorely lacking here when compared to previous WrestleMania 3-disc sets. There's only the entire Hall of Fame Ceremony and the pre-WrestleMania Battle Royal. While they're both great to see, interviews, segments and build-up to the show usually fill these DVD releases to bursting point, and it doesn't happen here which is a bit of a letdown.

Nonetheless, it's WrestleMania, the biggest wrestling event of the year, and the twenty-fourth incarnation, like the ones before it, is a truly amazing spectacle. Without question, it's worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this for BLU-RAY, 26 Jun 2008
By 
D. A. Podesta - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I didn't get see the HD version of Wrestlemania 24 when it was shown live on TV, but when I got the Blu Ray, which is the first time I've seen WWE in High Definition, it was BREATH-TAKING. I've seen nearly 30 Blu-Ray movies but hands-down Wrestlemania 24 has the best picture quality I have ever seen in my life! Though the sound is only presented in 5.1 Dolby, not DTS-HD, it still has a brilliant effect.

The matches are historical and very entertaining, with 4 hours of wrestling on One Disc! Second disc has the 2008 Hall Of Fame Ceremony again in 1080i High Def.

Even if you're not even a wrestling fan, but has a Blu-Ray player, it is vital you buy this for the greatest picture quality around.
You will not be dissapointed.

Picture - 5/5
Sound - 4/5
Event - 4/5
Extras - 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, 1 of the best Wrestlemanias ever, 11 May 2010
By 
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 24 (Tin Version) [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Right I'm not going to give spoilers, I'm just going to try and get to the point and hope it helps those reading know how good this ppv was (apoligies if I get the match order wrong or waffle by the way):

Finlay vs JBL Belfast Brawl: God awful storyline with Hornswoggle but thankfully when it turned and produced this match, it at least made for a good brawl and opening match. 7/10

Money in the Bank Ladder Match (featuring: CM Punk, Chris Jericho, MVP, Shelton Benjamin, Carlito, John Morrison and Mr Kennady): well it is what you would expect and better. So far the 2nd best MITB match since it started in WM21. It is a spotfest but smartly done and full of great stuff with most here surprising everyone and taking it another level. The ending in particular I thought was smart booking. 9/10 (I think if Jeff Hardy had been in this as planned instead of screwing himself over, this might have reached the 10, look on the internet if you do not know the story there)

Batista vs Umaga: To be honest, they could've had better but Batista in particular, with the exception of the ending, did not put the needed effort in, in my view as Umaga is good. But it should've especially from Batista, so a 3/10 for his lack of effort.

Kane vs Chavo Gurrero for the ECW Title: This could've been an average contest at least but it wasn't even that, not because of the wrestlers but because of poor booking and WWE further ruining ECW's legacy. 1/10

Shawn Michaels vs Ric Flair Career Threatening Match: This was named match of the year not far in front of MITB and it's no surprise why. Both put in a great effort with a great story and booking. This is what you expect at wrestlemania and despite Flair's age, he can still go when push comes to shove. 10/10

Maria and Ashley vs Melina and Beth Phoenix Lumberjack Tag Match: Well better than the previous year's wrestlemania but it just was not happening, was mainly a filler for those like myself who are straight males and enjoy a pretty sight. 3/10

HHH vs John Cena vs Randy Orton Triple Threat for the WWE Title: This was ok but wasn't long enough in my book and was more your typical triple threat so no surprises really or anything outstanding but wasn't bad either. 5.5/10

Floyd Mayweather vs Big Show Anything Goes Match: Ok this was 1 of the big draw matches and I was shocked by how good it actually was. It wasn't going to get match of the year at all but it turned out alot better than most thought, mainly because of the added stipulation. 7/10

Edge vs Undertaker for the World Title: This was always going to be at least good but it was so much better than that, it was a great feud that would continue but this 1 their best singles match without a gimmick stipulation. An awesome main event that's not far behind the 2 match of the year contenders on this show.

The extra are worth it here. The whoe hall of fame ceremony which is good just because of Flair, seeing the rest were a small bonus, although seeing the Rock again was also awesome as well. The 24 Man Battle Royal was your typical TV match battle royal, nothing special but was a good way to start the crowd off and would get a 4.5/10.

This was simply awesome even despite it's bad points and hope you enjoy it if you get to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Wrestlemania Under The Sun, 1 May 2010
By 
C. Swan "Swan Lake" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Belfast Brawl
Finlay vs. JBL

Great way to start of Wrestlemania 24, with a 9 minute all-out fight between the two with everything from trash cans to singapore canes to steel steps to tables. Don't expect a technical fest, and the highlights aren't that memorable but a worthy and solid match up that is what it is. I was expecting, and I think hoping, for a Mr. McMahon involvement since he was involved in the storyline but obviously not and in a way this may of been a disappointing finish to a long storyline. Good match none the less.

7/10

Money in the Bank Ladder Match
Chris Jericho vs. CM Punk vs. John Morrison vs. Mr. Kennedy vs. MVP vs. Shelton Benjamin vs. Carlito

Way too many and innovative spots to name, but personally, the best Money in the Bank Ladder match to date, every superstar gets involved sufficiently and does something to entertain the crowd, except perhaps MVP but Matt Hardy's run in serves him well. Keep track of Benjamin and Morrison who are the stars of the match up, however I totally love and agree with the winner. Highlights included a moonsault with the ladder, a triple power of doom of the ladder, Shelton crashing through the ladder, a backstabber off the ladder and many many more. A very highly entertaing and well booked match up.

9.5/10

Battle for Brand Supremacy
Batista vs. Umaga

It's a shame but they could have done so much more with this match/ feud. It was just there/ filling up for time which is a shame considering the paticipants. They could have made this a proper fight for supremacy, maybe even of made in a lumberjack with smackdown stars representing Batista and raw stars representing Umaga. Still it was what it was, and although it didn't go on for 2 long they put on a tolerable match, with Umaga hitting an amazing spinning heel kick. Although they have put on much better matches besides Wrestlemania.

5.5/10

ECW Championship Match
Chavo Guerrero vs. Kane

I can't rate this because it was 8 seconds, but due to the abruptness, I can't deny that it wasn't memorable. Despite Chavo's ability and heritage, I'm happy Kane won this one of a very long over-due title run with any title.

N/A

Career Threatening Match
Ric Flair vs. Shawn Michaels

A highly emotional match up. This match had a great story, and was very emotional. The wrestling was outstanding too with Ric Flair putting a performance better than any of his post 2001 wwe matches. Shawn Michaels takes a sick bump when he misses the moonsault and crashes on the announcer table. This match just needs to be seen, along with the very emotional ending.

9/10

Playboy Bunny Lumberjill Match
Maria & Ashley vs. Beth Phoenix & Melina
with Snoop Dogg as Special Enforcer

A filler to calm the crowd down from the previous match, although it's not that bad. Just the snoop dogg post match involvment is silly and the light troubles during the match hurt it abit. Although I'm greatful it happen in this match.

5.5/10

Triple Threat WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton vs. Triple H vs. John Cena

A great match, not quite Wrestlemania 20 standards but that is a very hard one to top. The band performing Cena's entrance was special and a nice additon, but the match itself was sufficient and well booked with all three men coming out looking good. Another thing is that pretty much the entire duration all three men are trying to get involved rather than the typical one man lays out, the other two fight. Surprising winner aswell.

8/10

Anything Goes-The Biggest vs. The Best
Big Show vs. Floyd 'Money' Maywhether

This match has to be taken for what it is and I remember the creative team being very nervous of how this was going to play out. Well kudos to WWE because they were successful. Both men retained their respectable status by the end by performing a tremendous 11 minute match/ segement/ whatever. I did enjoy Big Show beating up Floyd aswell.

7/10

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Edge vs. Undertaker

I was surprised this was the main event but it deserved to be as these 2 brought it. They had great chemistry and meshed well together, delivering a nice sequence of finishes and counters after counters. Well done to all invlolved.

9/10

First when I saw this, I didn't know what to make of it. Then I decided it was one of the better Wrestlemania's this decade so far. Because there are things I would change just like with anything, but alot of it is pretty satisfying and has nothing wrong with it. I certainly wouldn't changed the 4 main events and the ladder match, yes I would make the ECW Title an actual match but like I said what happened was still memorable, and aside from the matches, everything else was great. The card was correctly lined up, the entrance set is to be seen to believe, the backstage segements were fitting, the promos were selling and the location and crowd were hot and ready for each moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The WWE entertains a record 70,000 Orlando fans!, 26 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WWE Wrestlemania 24 comes to Orlando, Florida as 3 championship matches are booked. Also the Money in the Bank Ladder match takes place yet again, who will rise to take the briefcase? Also Ric Flair's 30+ year career ison the line as he squares off against Shawn Michaels. And it's the biggest vs. the best as Floyd Mayweather Jnr takes on The Big Show.

1. Belfast Brawl Match: JBL def. Finlay w/ Hornswoggle - 6/10

A pretty good contest to begin with, and a lot of weapons used in this match, Hornswoggle was used quite well in this match also, good first match.

2. Money In The Bank Ladder Match: CM Punk def. Carlito, Chris Jericho, John Morrison, M.V.P , Mr. Kennedy & Shelton Benjamin - 7/10

This was quite a good ladder match, not the best I have seen but all superstars gave it their all and with Jeff Hardy missing through suspension, an 8th superstar did interfere to cost someone the match.

3. Battle for Brand Supremacy Match: Batista (Smackdown) def. Umaga (Raw) - 6/10

This wasn't a great contest as both of these big men just used the power game on each other, not quite a classic match to remember, not one of Batista's greatest.

4. ECW Championship: Kane def. Chavo Guerrero (c) - 1/10

The most pointless ECW match at Wrestlemania as it didn't last 10 seconds, but well done to Kane on winning a big title.

5. Career Threatening Match: Shawn Michaels def. Ric Flair - 8/10

This was a very good match for the Nature Boy to bow out on and with HBK being his opponent you could tell this would be a classic. Flair used all the tricks in his book which was good to see. Ric Flair is a true legend.

6. Playboy Bunnymania Tag Team Lumberjill Match: Beth Phoenix & Melina def. Ashley & Maria - 5/10

Not the best WWE Diva match I have ever seen but it was mainly to get all the Diva's invovled I suppose. Snoop Dogg was at ringside for this contest.

7. WWE Championship: Triple Threat Match - Randy Orton (c) def. John Cena & Triple H - 7/10

A good triple threat match and with lots of good moments, and the man who nodbody thought would win, actually pulled it off, a good match for all 3 of these men.

8. Anything Goes Match: Floyd Mayweather Jnr def. The Big Show - 7/10

This was quite an entertaining mathc considering Mayweather not being a wrestler but both of these 2 men pulled off a decent match and despite Mayweather being a face, the crowd didn't follow along with that.

9. World Heavyweight Championship: The Undertaker def. Edge (c) - 8/10

This match was very good and well done to Edge for proving he can main event Wrestlemania, he definitely showed why he is one of the best and went the full way with the Undertaker. A good main event.

Extras include:

24 man battle royal - winner faces ECW Champion Chavo Guerrero
2008 Hall Of Fame ceremony - including The Rock!

Overall DVD Rating: 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wrestlemania 24 very good, 11 July 2008
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 24 (Tin Version) [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Wrestlemania 24

1. Belfast Brawl- JBL vs Finlay

** Quite a nice little hardcore match here, good way to start the show

2. Money in the bank Ladder Match

*** All of the MITB ladder matches have been very good and this is no differant very good match the right man won i thought also a nice return in the match as well that being matt hardy!

3. Batista vs Umaga

* It was OK i wouldn't say its wrestlemania quality

4. ECW Championship- Kane vs Chavo

DUD- not really a match, 12 secords long but a nice moment for the big red machine

5. Ric Flair vs Shawn Michaels

**** Well this was a Wrestlemania worthy match up here a solid match between these 2 great performers and the end of a great career for the naitch

6. Maria and Ashley vs Beth Phoenix and Melina

* I tell you what i was close to skipping it because i thought it was going to be horrible but it wasn't a bad womens match up really

7. WWE Championship- Randy Orton vs John Cena vs Triple H

** Well a lot of people where suprised about who won the match and never expected it anyways the match itself wasn't great i thought but it wasn't bad

8. Big Show vs Floyd Maywhether

DUD This was total rubbish i thought thats all i've got to say

9. World Championship- Undertaker vs Edge

*** Good wrestlemania main event and the streak of the undertaker goes on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, 21 Jan 2009
Overall Wrestlemania 24 was a really great show with some fantastic matches and even the low points of the show weren't even that bad. The DVD is 3 disks and the event is held on the first 2 and the 3rd disc features the hall of fame ceremony, which is great as The Rock gives some great comedy while inducting his father and grandfather.

JBL VS Finlay- in a Belfast Brawl

The match shocked me quite a bit to be honest, going into Wrestlemania I wasn't exactly expecting a great match from the two but was shocked. The match didn't last long but had some nice spots such as JBL hitting Finlay with a trash can while Finlay was in mid air trying to attempt a suicide dive which looked brutal. Another spot included JBL throwing a trashcan at Hornswoggle, which was very nice. JBL picks up the win with the clothesline from hell in a decent opener and sets the show off nicely
*** out of *****

Money In The Bank Ladder Match

This year's money in the bank match was defiantly one of the high points of the show. The match had some crazy spots and kept me shocked and entertained throughout. The 7 guys in the match all impressed me a lot, some insane things include: John Morrison moon salting to the outside with a ladder, Shelton Benjamin going through the ladder, Matt Hardy's return to take out MVP and much more. These are just a few of the spots in the match and there are also many more. CM Punk won the match, which was very nice; he hooked Jericho's leg in the ladder to retrieve the briefcase, which I thought was a nice touch. All men performed well in this match and really showcased some of the stuff these guys can actually do, I was also thinking what more could they do in a ladder match which they haven't done before? But after watching the match I was truly surprised by some of the innovation featured within the match.
****1/4 Out of*****

Batista VS Umaga- Battle for brand supremacy

Probably one of the low points of the show, Batista seemed lazy in the match and didn't seem to care much to be honest. Not a completely poor match, but nothing to note to be honest with you. Batista with a Batista bomb on Umaga gets the pin fall.
** out of *****

Kane VS Chavo Guerrero- for the ECW Title

Lasted 8 seconds, Kane gave Chavo a choke slam and that was the end of the match

0 out of *****

Shawn Michaels VS Ric Flair- Career Threatening match

This match was my match of the night and also my 2008 match of the year. Great emotion in this match, which really made for a fantastic send off for Ric. The match starts a bit slow but picks up quickly, brutal spot where Michaels attempts a moonsault but inside hits the edge of the announce desk, must of hurt. Great near falls and submissions, crowd are really into this and makes the match better because of the great atmosphere. To be honest with you, I'm not going to say any more but simply: Watch this match! Ends with Michaels saying "Sorry, I love you" to flair then sweet chin music for the 3 count which added tons of emotion to the match!
****3/4 out of *****

Playboy BunnyMania Lumberjack match

Match was rubbish, don't have much time for the divas if I'm honest, good interaction between Snoop Dogg and Santino gave this a bit of comedy, I didn't take much notice of the match so I'm not going to rate.

Randy Orton VS Triple H VS John Cena- For the WWE Title

Again shocked with how good this match actually was and the ending added to how good the match actually was. Again some really nice spots that you don't normally see in Triple threat matches. The end came with Triple H pedigreed Cena hoping for the 3 but then Orton punted Triple H in the head and pinned Cena for the 3. I was completely shocked by the ending to the match and was also very happy about it, the match was one of the better triple threats I have ever seen with cool spots including one where triple H had an electric chair on Cena then Orton hit Cena with a cross body while on his shoulders, which was really nice. End was nice; the match didn't drag and is most defiantly worth checking out!
**** out of *****

Floyd Mayweather VS The Big Show

This was actually again surprising, not technically great but still a lot of fun, which is what it needed to be! Hats off to Mayweather also as I thought he took a few nasty moves, especially the chops from Big Show. Both men played there roles very nicely, Mayweather playing a really good heel and the match ended nicely as well where Mayweather knocked out Big Show with a set of Brass Knuckles. The rating is mostly because of entertainment because the entertainment in the match was very nice and different to the rest of the show
*** out of *****

Edge VS The Undertaker- World heavyweight title on the line

Match started off a bit slow but picked up eventually, should of picked up a bit earlier in my opinion, but once this did pick up it was really nice. Told a nice story, both men simply couldn't put each other away and they were both going all out and neither man could put the other away. The end to the match was also pretty nice, nice dive from Undertaker during the match, both men looked extremely good in this match with Edge even kicking out of a tombstone. I thought Undertaker should of lost here and maybe passed the torch to edge as if anyone should of taken the streak I think it should have been Edge, but that is a very small complaint. End was nice, edge hit a spear, didn't get the 3, hit another spear but Undertaker reversed it into the Hells Gate which made Edge tap, nice ending in my opinion.
**** out of *****

Overall the DVD is well worth purchasing, with 4 fantastic matches on the card it is worth the money easily, the hall of fame is also a nice addition. Some of the matches on the DVD are must see matches, so buy this DVD now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 24 (Tin Version) [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
very good matchs. i love the money in the bank ladder match and hhh vs john cena match. all in all very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An overrated Wrestlemania...but still better than most., 5 Sep 2013
After one of the most underrated Wrestlemanias of all time, we come to what I feel is one of the more overrated of all time.

Wrestlemania 24 does have some really good matches particularly Shawn Michaels vs Ric Flair and Edge vs The Undertaker. The Belfast Brawl was also a good match, though I feel it started the beginning of the end for Finlay. The Money in the Bank match while it was a good match, I felt that none of the participants besides Chris Jericho were ready to be a World Champion yet. Also while Cena/HHH/Orton was also a good match, I still feel the match should have been Cena/Orton in a singles match.

The negatives of this show include Batista being wasted in a meaningless match with Umaga (no offence, but Umaga had really lost his importance by this point), BunnyMania (enough said) and Mayweather/Big Show, which I feel is very overrated, and was kind of pointless as the fans really started to see what a jerk Mayweather was and turned on him weeks before the match happened.

Belfast Brawl: JBL vs Finlay (3/5)

Money in the Bank Ladder Match (4/5)

Batista vs Umaga (2.5/5)

ECW Championship: Chavo Guerrero vs Kane (0/5)

Shawn Michaels vs Ric Flair (4/5)

Ashley/Maria vs Beth Phoenix and Milena (1/5)

WWE Championship: Randy Orton vs Triple H vs John Cena (3.5/5)

Floyd Mayweather vs The Big Show (2/5)

World Heavyweight Championship: Edge vs The Undertaker (4/5)

So still a good Wrestlemania, but in my opinion, it's not as good as most think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlemania 24, 6 Jan 2013
74, 635 people (a record crowd) packed the Sold Out Citrus Bowl in Orlando Florida for Wrestlemania 24

This is a 3 disc boxset,.

First disc

1)Opening Contest- John "Bradshaw" Layfield vs Finlay (w/Hornswoggle) in a Belfast Brawl

This match was going to be a brawl, everyone knew it. It was in the match TITLE. The fans were ready for Wrestlemania. This was over 8minslong an a geat,rough match.

2)CM Punk vs Shelton Benjamin vs Y2J Chris Jericho vs Carlito vs Montel Vontavious Porter (MVP) vs Mr. Kennedy vs John Morrison in the 4thMoney in the Bank Ladder Match

This was meant to have Jeff Hardy in it which probably would've made it even better. I don't think that this was the best money in the bank show but had a few good moves and kept it exciting throughout. PS DON'T LOOK AT THE COVER OF THE DVD BECAUSE IT GIVES AWAY WHO WINS.

3)Batista vs Umaga in an InterPromotional Match

Batista was wrestling for Smackdown and Umaga for Raw, this match lasted 7.06 mins. I didn't expect that much but it was ok, it didn't feel like 7+mins.

4(Kane vs Chavo Guerrero (c) for the ECW Championship

This match was made via the dark match which is on disc 2, and pretty pointless as well. Lets just say, it took more time for them to get to the ring than the match itself.

5("The Heartbreak Kid" Shawn Michaels vs "The Nature Boy" Ric Flair in a Career Threatening Match

Great build up to this. This is pure emotion throughout. Both men respect eachother and Shawn Michaels looks up to Ric Flair. Great match for Wrestlemania.

6(Beth Phoenix and Melina (w/Santino Marella) vs Maria and Ashley in a Playboy BunnyMania Lumberjack match

Snoop Dogg served as the Master of Ceremonies for the match. Here were the "Lumberjacks" incase anyone care's: (should be Jills) Cherry, Eve Torres, Michelle McCool, Victoria, Mickie James, Jillian Hall, Katie Lea Burchill, Kelly Kelly, Layla and Maryse. Not a great match at all.

7(Randy Orton (c) vs "The Game" Triple H vs John Cena in a Triple Threat match for the WWE Championship

This has a shock in this. A highlight during this match was the Crossface used by Triple H to John Cena. Pretty decent.

8(Floyd "Money" Mayweather, Jr. vs The Big Show in a No Disqualification match

Firstly The WWE did a great job promoting this special attraction. I have to say that but for me this wasn't good, just because theres too much outside interference. Plus I think the crowd was actually rooting for the Big Show.

9( Main Event- The Undertaker vs Edge (c) for the World Heavyweight Championship

One of the better matches on the night and a better main event than past wrestlemanias. Decent match, good moves fro either side and good back story told.

Now for some reason the hall of fame is spilt between this disc and disc 3 don't know which, it oesnt make sense and spoils it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Wrestlemania 24 (Tin Version) [2008] [DVD]
39.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews