Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Scots Rock
For once you can believe the hype - the Glasvegas debut album is stunning. James Allan delivers his songs in a very Scottish voice indeed which will not be to everyone's taste but it lends real authenticity to his lyrics of contemporary Glasgow life: stabbings; absent fathers; social workers; paranoia and broken childhood dreams.

The music is guitar driven...
Published on 12 Dec 2008 by D. Newton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When it's good, It's good, but...
There was an awful lot of hype surrounding this album, and to an extent it's justified. There are some excllent tracks on here; Flowers and Football Tops pretty much sums up what Glasvegas are all about, with Jesus and Mary Chain noise meeting motown/Phil Spector sixties pop. This formula is use to create some really effective emotional exploitation, notably on "Go...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by A. Glen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Scots Rock, 12 Dec 2008
By 
D. Newton (Swindon, Wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
For once you can believe the hype - the Glasvegas debut album is stunning. James Allan delivers his songs in a very Scottish voice indeed which will not be to everyone's taste but it lends real authenticity to his lyrics of contemporary Glasgow life: stabbings; absent fathers; social workers; paranoia and broken childhood dreams.

The music is guitar driven with strong percussion but it stands apart by way of its shimmering guitar backdrop, almost a `wall of sound' shining like a dirty jewel. The songs soar and are almost anthemic but are never dull due to the power and meaning behind the lyrics.

The singles `Geraldine', `Flowers & Football Tops' and the poignant `Daddy's Gone' are truly superb and rightly celebrated, but for me `It's My Own Cheating Heart..' is stunning with its pounding guitar line and lyrics delivered from the heart. `Glasvegas' shows amazing confidence for a debut album; `Stabbed' features a dreamlike lyric about imminent wounding spoken over Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata. The band are also not afraid to sing a snatch of `You are my Sunshine' at the end of `Flowers & Football Tops'; both of these tricks work superbly. The final track, `Ice Cream Van' begins almost ethereally but gradually builds to a crescendo of guitar noise and is a fitting finale. Even the foul-mouthed singalong of 'Go Square Go' makes sense when you listen to the lyrics.

`Glasvegas' is a great record and shows how effective music can be when it is delivered with passion, meaning and authenticity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Like Glasvegas?, 29 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
Hmmmm, I bought this album after waiting nigh on a year for it. It was the first time in years that i was actually EXCITED about buying a record!

First the bad news....If you loved the original DIY versions of the singles 'It's My Own Cheating Heart that Makes Me Cry' ( one of my favourite songs of the decade, the guitar refrain makes me melt, and recorded perfectly for me on original release)and 'Geraldine' you might be a little disappointed.

Radio friendly re-recorded versions of these songs placed virtually at the start of the album kicks it off badly for me. The usual major label inteference. On first listen I was devastated.

But....The good news, the original versions of the above songs wouldnt have fitted into this 10 track opus in their original guise anyway and this actually isn't a bad thing.

The recording of this album (buy it on vinyl if you can) is lush, vibrant and many tracks (well, the first 5 anyway) segue into a victorious cacophony of atmospherics and crunching guitars.

For me the real victory in this recording is the downbeat final 3 tracks (Stabbed, S.A.D. Light and Ice Cream) which on listening usually a)terrify me and b) nearly have me in tears. And that takes something. Whoever came up with the idea of using the lyrics to their originally recorded version of 'Stabbed' then underpinning it with Beethovens 'Moonlight' Sonata should be awarded a chufty badge in my opinion. It works really well.

After my initial disappointment, I absolutely LOVE this record now. It wasnt what i was expecting, growing up listening to J.A.M.C., The Wolfhounds, MBV and The Wedding Present in the 80's, my ears are more tuned into abrasive and discordant music and in all honesty I was expecting an 80's indie album in the ilk of the previously mentioned especially after their first 2 singles, but for sheer emotion, power and honesty, this record returns in spades, especially with a nice bottle of red wine in tow.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars indie not dead, 17 Aug 2009
By 
L. saunders "(celt)lfs" (lincs.england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
if jesus and mary chain had met motown at the the back of a cinema in a dead end scottish new town,and over their carry oot and fish supper concieved a child they would have called it glasvegas.brilliant writting and tight score make this a cd you should have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When it's good, It's good, but..., 10 Jun 2009
By 
A. Glen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
There was an awful lot of hype surrounding this album, and to an extent it's justified. There are some excllent tracks on here; Flowers and Football Tops pretty much sums up what Glasvegas are all about, with Jesus and Mary Chain noise meeting motown/Phil Spector sixties pop. This formula is use to create some really effective emotional exploitation, notably on "Go Square Go," with it's chant along, aspiring terrace album climax, and Daddy's Gone, a sickly but affecting ode to absentee fathers.

That said, the rest of the album is less effective, with only Geraldine really showing the humour and callousness that the best lyrical elements of the band's songwriting can rise to. For a full length album, there's an awful lot of feedback and reverb used as padding, and a shortfall in actual tunes.

Add to that the repetitive, monotonous drum beats used throughout the entire record, a side-effect of (allegedly) choosing a non-musician for a drummer based on her apperance, and you get a debut album that ends up being more style than substance. Worth having for the 5 or so stand out tracks, but overall not a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype, 10 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
Even on a few listens, this is a stunning debut album, and for once the hype of the music press seems justified.

The opening and closing tracks are sublime. Flowers and Fitba tops is a good an album opener as the Smiths "the Queen is Dead" or the Roses "I wanna be adored", whilst the outro to the final track has a very dark, anthemic feel to it, totally attuned with the underlying feel of the work.

In between, "Go Square Go" gives us the chant of 2008 winter tours in "Here we F***** go". There isn't a filler here, although unlike previous reviews, the spoken word track (Stabbed) doesn't work for me. Certainly nowhere near the Cribs "Be safe" in this field.

In terms of similar sounds, can't immediately seem the similarity to the Mary Chain. Yes they are Scottish, working class and have a standing drummer,but Glasvegas are not driven by the riotous feedback of the Reid brothers. In my mind they're more akin to the Bunnymen, or for the current generation there are similarities (in guitar work) to Interpol and Editors.

Really looking forward to seeing this band live on their current tour of small venues. There are traces in the album of guitar work simiar to My Bloody Valentine, and it will be interesting to see if they try to replicate this live. Not sure how an English audience will react to the Scottish accent - perhaps a reverse of a Scottish audience never really taking to Oasis' Manc tones. But good to catch them now - they will be massive next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the year., 30 July 2008
By 
Robert P. Splaine "mrbobsltd" (pattaya) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
I had been waiting for this CD to come out since l first hit them on you-tube. The songs are all of different themes, and the tempo does change, don't expect Daddy's Gone, and Geraldine, to be the set style.
But the styles suit them so much. You wouldn't think Glasvegas could do slow tunes after their 1st 2 singles.
I ask anyone who buys this CD to read the lyrics, some will have you in tears. I'm not sure what the average age member of the band is, but the lyrics are of a massive artist. Where else do you hear words like
"I'm sorry mam for all the things l said when l was 10", and l think yes!! l wish l could have said that to my mum now.
There is no way this band are going away they are here to stay, and l have got 1 more group to add to my favourites. really cant praise this album enough. Though being of large build and 51 playing the Cd as loud as it will go, l do get the funny looks, but l don't care,l want everyone to enjoy it....especially Daddy's Gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A debut with great promise, 11 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. Joel C. A. Cooney "Joel_C" (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
Maybe its a colloquial thing: I'm holding my hands up straight away to admit, yes, I am a Glaswegian and thus perhaps more pre-disposed for enjoying Glasvegas than your typical home-counties type (although, perhaps it has a special exotic appeal to southerners that I can't quite appreciate). Not since The...(nnnnnngh!)...Proclaimers were in their prime has an unadulterated Scottish accent graced a hit record so stridently; this time it doesn't even induce the usually ubiqutous "Tartan Cringe" in me. There is something patently thrilling about hearing the cry of "Go Square Go!" at full volume - what next, "Haunders!" or even "Keeyzees nae comebacks!"?

Of course, its not simply the novelty of hearing local dialect that make them a bit magical. Glasvegas are a band that wear their influences on their sleeve, and I'm not just meaning their all-black leather biker jackets and the Roy Orbison raybans.The Jesus & Mary Chain loom large, as does Phil Spector and that 50's surf rock'n'roll balladeering; lyrically, premier Falkirk miserablists Arab Strap deserve a shout, not least for the bleeding raw emotion on display.

Reviewers who decry a lack of original thought should recall The Strokes' debut and the impact it managed to make (yes, yes, I know they ran out of steam by the second album but they pretty much revived indie rock as a pop medium after that turgid 1998-2001 period). The fact is, whilst the rest of indie-pop land is in thrall to Mardy Bums and trouble at t'mill, or are making music with their big brother's old Commodore 64, Glasvegas are happily plowing their own unique furrow: NO-ONE out there sounds like them right now. Oddly enough, I can see a cross-over appeal with guyliner-clad emo fans - maybe its time to lose the insincere Americans for a bit in favour of something closer to home (and gothier-than-thou) eh kids?

My only misgiving is the feeling that after about 5 songs (misfit oddity "Stabbed" aside), there is the distinct feeling that the band start to repeat themselves somewhat; then again, I said that about Nevermind and that never did Nirvana any harm. Then AGAIN again, I do have reservations about their long term future if they do indeed turn out to be one-trick ponies. In the mean time, lets just bask in the moment where a (genuinely) good Scottish band are top of their game. <satisfied sigh>...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars viva glasvegas (sorry couldn't help myself!), 9 Sep 2008
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
i first came across glasvegas some 12 months ago on myspace and have eagerly awaited their debut album since then i have to say i'm not disapointed right from the start they sing about (with emotion) what is going on around these days with some really beutiful and moving lyrics they have come up with an album of great quality so why only 4 stars? well to get 5 stars it has to be a wish you were here, revolver, and it doesn't get to those height but it certainly is a very good album and i defy anyone to say anything less!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sneaky peak, 18 Aug 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
Continuing the long line of Scottish jangly pop bands, you can't help but notice the fact that when everyone else was apparently listening to the Velvet Underground Scottish bands were and obviously still do listen to Big Star. Having resisted the temptation to subdue the Scottish accents Glasvegas present a wistful yet effervescent selection of songs that inspire and just make you want to smile. Showing a wry sense of humour (first namecheck for Polmont in a song title I'll warrant) this is an excellent pop album that you just cannot help liking.

Now as long as the NME doesn't overhype this lot (and early signs give cause for concern) then let them grow and gain a discerning fan base because they have the potential to be huge.

If you like anything from Orange Juice, Frattellis, Buzzcocks and the like then you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect, 19 Sep 2008
By 
JS (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glasvegas (Audio CD)
Where have I been all summer?? Never had the pleasure of seeing this lot live but bought the album the day after it came out. It's pure emotionally charged indie rock n'roll meets Phil Spector. It's too easy for Indie bands to all sound much the same these days but Glasvegas have managed to find a slightly different sound. Lyrics are a bit dark in places but they're real for a lot of people. To be fair Stabbed is a step too far. I'd have preferred 9 tracks without Stabbed. Also, even though my Ayrshire accent is probably worse, the Glesca accent is a wee bit overdone in places. That can cut both ways with wider audiences, it remains to be seen how the album does outside their powerbase.

All in all its an impresive debut, reminded me of so many things.... roots like the 'phonics 1st Album, big anthemic choruses like the Manics, Phil Spector wall of sound, hell there's even a touch of Joe Strummer in there so... all in all quite a heady mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9bdb7d4)

This product

Glasvegas
Glasvegas by Glasvegas (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews