Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival Horror at its absolute BEST!!
The premise of Dead Space might seem, to some, very cliched. Big spaceship, overrun with aliens and lots of gore. Aliens, Event Horizon, Doom, etc, etc, all spring to mind when trying to explain the game.
But you'd be wrong to think this was anything else but brilliance!
This game has taken the best of the hard sci-fi horror genre and crafted it into a...
Published on 25 Oct 2008 by Mr. M. Osborne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space
Dead Space is a game that is exactly what it says on the tin , a shooter/horror that is set in the deepest reaches of space where , as the player you will have to perform specific tasks in order to reach your objective , whilst fending off the stuff of nightmares that stalk you and try to hunt you down. What I like about this game is that when you are presented with...
Published 23 months ago by Chaines1991


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a bit short, 31 Dec 2008
By 
Patrick Duckles (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
this is a brilliant game if you like the resident evil series but unlike them it is far too short. in the first day I had it I had reached the 10 chapter and there are only 12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 21 Nov 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
This game looks great, but if you are one of those people who doesnt like reapeating things over and over then dont buy this. Most of the time you simply dont have enough weapons/ ammo, so it takes you about 10 goes to complete a small section. This can get very boring !! Also the aliens appear from no where you have no indication of where they are coming from and when you try to run from them to get a better point to shoot... guess what you bump into a door or a box that materializes from no where !! Apart from the few annoyances, the game is pretty creepy, weird noises and pretty gruesome aliens, when you get killed which is frequent, the killing seaquence can be a bit drawn out !! I have found myslef shouting at the screen ' I get the point' as an alien slashes you for the 20th time ! Rent it first !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dead Boring, 13 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Antonio Cavaldoro (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
I was a bit surprised I didn't like this. I read the great reviews and I particularly like horror shooters. But there's something missing here. As I wandered around the creaking ship offing aliens, I was filled with a "what's the point" feeling, rather than an edgy tension. The rather odd over-the-right-shoulder view doesn't help, but it's more than that. Your character is constantly contacted by his crew members sending him off to do dangerous things to help his escape. Most of which don't work. But this doesn't stop you merrily heading off to do whatever instructed. There's no stealth to it: you wander along a fairly linear path and battle with whatever comes your way. A lot of the time you find yourself charging about blasting. The fact that Isaac can't pop out from round a corner and take a shot or scramble over anything higher than knee height means you're limited to either sprinting off and spinning around when you can get a shot in or standing and fighting. I got to the end, but probably won't play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very scary, 30 Oct 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
Im of a mind that if your definition of horror is slasher movies like Saw then this will be great but if like me you prefer subbtle horror that plays with your mind like silence of the lambs or the Shining then this wont do it. Theres loads of gore but this is basically Doom 3 in 3rd person. I saw all the jumps coming, predicted monster responses before hand so save time by cutting off the legs early and Im afraid I just wasnt scared. I bought the PS3 version over xbox as I didnt want the fan ruining the atmosphere created by sound but after 10 mins I wished I'd picked up far cry 2 (my other choice at the time of buying it). I was playing it like ghost recon admittedly (gun ready, shoot anything that moves) but this felt tedious. Alas Im back on Call of Duty 4.

Before anyone gets excited about it, this is a GOOD game bue just too pedestrian compared to COD4, FC2, or Bioshock!!

Get it, but when its £30
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT HORORR, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. S. Liazid (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
great game, cant wait for dead space 2

highly recommended product

5 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In space, no one can hear you yawn!, 4 Sep 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
Purchased this game after my Nephew played it and said it scared him so much he couldn't sleep for 3 nights!
After reading many reviews singing it's praises I thought I'd give it a go.
I'm afraid to say I found this game very repetitive. It has 10 chapters of which I completed 5.5. The scenes vary slightly, but it's mostly the same gameplay throughout all I played. Admittedly there are a few jumps in there, but each level being so similar just sucked the enjoyment out of it for me.
As for some reviews saying this is the game Resident Evil wants to be, that's rubbish! Resident Evil totally knocks Dead Space into a cocked hat!
So to sum up, if you're thinking about buying this game, get Resident Evil instead, it has better story lines, better puzzles and much more action, suspense and character interaction.
Hope this helps.
I'm sure there are people out there who love this game, but I'm not one of them!
Chip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 4 July 2009
By 
Mark Costello "mc1728" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
Awful. Just awful. The atmosphere and story are good, the setting is good. Sadly the game play is terrible. The lack of HUD means that you keep trying having to look away from what you are doing and by the time you do...dead. The idea of having to shoot for limbs rather than heads is a good one. Sadly you can shoot the limbs all day and it won't make a jot of difference as the weapons have no effect.

The kensis and stasis were good ideas too, but just useless for combat situations. And why on earth are their no short cut buttons for inventory items? The O button on the six-axis is not even used, being able to assign it would have been a massive help.

All in all EA missed a trick here by fouling up some great ideas with a horrible, clunky and frustrating combat system. The worst part about it is that you want to like the game and then get frustrated at the ludricously bad execution. After a couple of hours of gameplay I am going to trade this in.

Just buy Resistence...the "atmosphere" may not be as "good" (read "you can see where you're going") but the gameplay and weapons are a hundred times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but aint played it alot, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Ashley (bradford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
i'll maybe play it more later but loks ok and plays ok for firdt hour or so, the game was quick to turn up and cant complain about the quality, all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After playing a demo I was underwhelmed, 14 Oct 2008
By 
Luke Browne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
I played a demo of this game at a special event, and found it to be a bit bland - many of the gameplay mechanics the EA rep was most pleased with seemed familiar. A Half Life 2 style gravity gun makes an appearance as your initial weapon. The 'zero G' areas reminded me of Spiderman - where you choose a wall to stick to, aim at it and fire yourself across. Mag boots then keep you attached to the surface of your choice. Not really zero G - just 1G with the gravity direction being choosable. Unexplicably the monsters seem to posess no magnetic boots yet still stick to the walls - at least until you start decapitating bits off them - which then do float around amongst globules of blood. A HUD is missing from the game - to add immersion, but health is measured in pips along your characters spine - this seems a bit confusing, and gamers will need to retrain themselves to look in an unusual place to deduce their characters health - the whole time playing I paid no attention to this health metric other than when it was initially pointed out. Weapon selection is done with a strange 3D type popup, which seemed to get partiually obscured offscreen when it tries to fit into a small area such as a corridor - however that might just be the demo version and may not be an issue in the final game. There is also no online or co-op components to this game.

The plus points are that it is gory, and some of the weapons are pretty cool - a blade cutting thing that is the best weapon looks like fun. Theres a lot of concepts which, whilst familiar, they are new to the survival horror genre, all bought together in one package.

I'll probably pick it up - but probably second hand (And with no online/multioplayer features they'll probably start turning up soon enough!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil in Space, 3 May 2009
By 
Michael Sterk (Rödelsee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
Becomes very fast anoying.
It's like Resident Evil in Space.

SO either you love it or hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Space (PS3)
Dead Space (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£18.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews