Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival Horror at its finest!
What a sleeper hit Dead Space has become! And rightly so. It has to be one of the scariest games I have ever played along with some amazing graphics and gorgeous lighting. Not only that but I do have to comment on just how silky smooth this game looks and runs on the PS3. I haven't encountered one bug through the entire game and the level of detail that has gone into...
Published on 28 Oct 2008 by BritReader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space
Dead Space is a game that is exactly what it says on the tin , a shooter/horror that is set in the deepest reaches of space where , as the player you will have to perform specific tasks in order to reach your objective , whilst fending off the stuff of nightmares that stalk you and try to hunt you down. What I like about this game is that when you are presented with...
Published on 15 Sep 2012 by Chaines1991


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival Horror at its finest!, 28 Oct 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
What a sleeper hit Dead Space has become! And rightly so. It has to be one of the scariest games I have ever played along with some amazing graphics and gorgeous lighting. Not only that but I do have to comment on just how silky smooth this game looks and runs on the PS3. I haven't encountered one bug through the entire game and the level of detail that has gone into making the USG Ishimura appear real and authentic is quite something.

As you enter the USG Ishimura you get a sort of Bioshock feel with voices from loud speakers announcing that you have arrived and numerous advertisements on the walls stand out at you. You really feel that the ship is real and the surfaces of the floor and walls and particularly glass are some of the best looking I have seen all combined with fantastic lighting.

Instantly you feel on edge and you know that around every corner something may be waiting to jump out at you, or not. That is what Dead Space does so great, it's never predictable and will tease you with eerie sounds and distant screams to make you feel uncomfortable to proceed forward. This game can really make you jump many times, the sound effects are brilliant and the enemies so gruesome and evil looking.

Use of weapons in Dead Space is one of my favourite features. These weapons, although very useful, aren't your standard rifle and shotgun business, these are tools/items cleverly crafted to become lethal objects. My favourite has to be the Ripper, a magnetic razor sharp blade that takes limbs off in a way that leaves you feeling more than satisfied.

And boy will you need your weapons, at times you can find yourself trapped in a room with a load of enemies and you'll have to work hard to manage them all at once as they only die for good once their limbs have been cut off.

The story is interesting with twists here and there and is told through video/audio logs keeping you totally immersed in the game. The fact that there's no HUD in the game works well too and the various suits Isaac wears are pretty sweet.

Overall a fantastic scary well-made horror game that keeps you hooked from the moment it starts to the moment it finishes. Some amazing space effects and graphics are displayed and the game runs very VERY well on the PS3. The fact it also has trophies and on the Playstation Network you can download other suits for Isaac to wear also adds to make this game one of the must have of 2008.

10/10 Can't wait for Dead Space 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival Horror at its absolute BEST!!, 25 Oct 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
The premise of Dead Space might seem, to some, very cliched. Big spaceship, overrun with aliens and lots of gore. Aliens, Event Horizon, Doom, etc, etc, all spring to mind when trying to explain the game.
But you'd be wrong to think this was anything else but brilliance!
This game has taken the best of the hard sci-fi horror genre and crafted it into a astonishing piece of technical mastery. Its that good.

The setting for Dead Space is a large mining ship names the USG ISHIMURA, you play as Isaac Clarke, a miner, who whilst arriving onboard realises that something is terrilbly wrong, as the vessel is crawling [quite literally] with beings known as Necromorphs. These half-alien/half-human hybrids literally want to suck the flesh off of your skull.

GRAPHICS-
After playing this on a 32" HDTV I can honestly say its one of the finest looking games I've played. It even rivals Metal Gear Solid 4 and Uncharted: Drake's Fortune in terms of sharpness and graphical detail. The lighting effects are spot on and the gore is freakishly realistic. The USG ISHIMURA feels incredibly claustrophobic as shadows of Necromorphs flicker and dart around you. The Necromorphs themselves are severely mutatated and animated superbly and disturbingly, as you blast a leg off, and it continues scuttling towards you! OVERALL 10/10

GAMEPLAY-
The 3rd person perspective works very well and the camera is surprisingly responsive. The games core mechanic is fright and dismemberment which work brilliantly. Quite often strategically shooting a certain limb after the Necromorph has jumped out at you, scaring you half to death, is very rewarding, especially playing on the harder difficulty setting. The weapons are balanced and no one weapon has a distinct advantage over the other. [The Ripper is a personal favourite of mine!] OVERALL 10/10

SOUND-
The sound effects are some of the best I've heard. Having it on loud will guarantee a swift change of underwear. Everything from the demented howls and blood curdling screams are very well done. Quite often what yo hear is scarier than what you see, and theres nothing more un-nerving than hearing scuttling in the vents above you, not knowing when or where it will ambush you. OVERALL 10/10

TROPHIES-
Thankfully, EA has included Trophies out-of-the-box. And they all seem fun and a nice reward after you've nearly given yourself a heart attack. They range from completing levels, to severing x amount of limbs, and there loads to get which adds lots of replay value.

Overall its a well made horror masterpiece, can't wait for the sequel!

*The Obsidian Suit is a must have, downloaded from the Playstation Store! Its superb.

OVERALL 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocked and Amazed at the same time - Should be NC-17 rating, 26 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game based upon the Amazon reviews and was expecting and outer space horror adventure a la RE1-3. Instead what I got is the most brutal, gory, bloody slasher-game I have ever seen on any console. The theme of 'Event Horizon' vs. 'Aliens' does hit the nail on the head.

Yes, there are the Resident Evil's, Silent Hill's and Obscure's of the world, but Dead Space is breaking new grounds in providing sheer brutal mayhem and massacre fear to its players. The sound effects and visuals are massively impressive and send a shiver down your spine every 10 seconds - I must admit that there are points where even I had a sick feeling in my stomach, especially when I had to mutilate corpses by stomping them to slush-puppy mush.

I am amazed and appalled at the same time that games like these are being made, are being released and are available for anyone to buy. Maybe Europe needs to adapt the American NC-17 rating for extreme brutal games like these - I would not advocate to stop making them, because someone, somewhere will always push the envelope and create something else that is this shocking. However, for parents it would be easier to identify what my kids should and should not play and with Dead Space, no one under 18 should have access to this game - period!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Terrifying!, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Dan Morgan-kane (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
I picked up Dead Space after having read some of the reviews. I was pleased to get it home, with my younger brother in toe, and give it a go.

We sat down with the volume up, the lights off and only the pause button for refuge; my God, what a heart-stopper!

During the first ten minutes or so, it becomes very apparent that a lot of effort has gone into this game. The graphics and most importantly, the atmosphere, has been very well thought-out and are technically superb.

Once you get into the swing of things, you're really in for a terrifying roller-coaster!

As the story progresses, you begin to learn how the enemy operates, and thanks to the objectives menu and path-finder ability, you'll never be stuck. But with the thrills and spills occurring on that first night in front of the telly, we won't be forgetting this gore-fest in a hurry!

TIP: It's up to you to really get the most out of this game. Turn the lights off, the sound up, and wii-fit will never be able to match that pulse-rate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "dead space" in name alone, 27 Oct 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
For the past few years, I have used the term "dead space" to mean "an unloved game or movie on my shelf taking up space". It is then with great humility that I must now refrain from using the term in this way, as it has now been reclaimed by the this game's developers to mean "artfully produced sci-fi survival horror game".

As with many of the best games ever created, not one element attempts to sell the concept on its own. It is the marriage of these elements that makes the product greater than its sum.

Does it move right? Yes. Nothing "to get to used to" at any rate.

Does it look good? Yes. At times, jaw dropping.

Good use of physics? Think about that scene in Event Horizon when they first board the ship. To wit: Vivid.

Is the enemy AI up to scratch? Pretty much.

Are the weapons any good? Oh yes. Upgradable power tools? Please...:-)

Is the story worth following? For sure.

The game's use of sound is actually the best I've ever heard. I've got a 5.1 Dolby/DTS surround system at home, and this is the first game I've played that actually exploits its capabilities properly. When I first got this game I turned all the lights off and sat on the floor of my lounge staring at my 32" LCD. After an hour I heard a spanner drop onto the floor behind me, and I swear, I thought someone had broken in through the window.

The point is, whether you'll find it scary or not (most will I'm sure), the overall experience is bordering on magical, and the only way to see this magic is by playing through the game yourself.

Superb stuff.

PS. Those with a heart condition or nervous disposition should stay well away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Good!, 1 Jan 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
I couldn't have asked for a better survival horror game than this! I find the latest games have been less fun, maybe too serious, not since Bioshock and Resident Evil 4 have i enjoyed gaming as much as this. Granted survival horror is my type of thing, but i consider this as good as both of those and thats saying a lot.

The gameplay is great, i didn't find it repetitive or easy, the tools (weapons) are solid, and i particularly enjoyed stasis, kineses and the zero-gravity zones are very well done. There's a lot of "jump" moments and times where you don't want to enter a room. Not since the older residents evils have i had that problem, that was when i was 12ish, now i'm 20 and it takes a lot more to do that! The monsters are great, much more variety than i was expecting, and the bosses are big. But the best thing about it is the story. It really is film worthy. And i actually enjoyed Downfall, the poorly animated movie released just before the game, about events before the crew of Kellion reach USG Ishimura, because of the story.

I really look forward to the next game/s to follow on, as there are questions to be answered, especially after the last moment of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in atmospheric gaming, 20 Nov 2008
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
Wow, where did this come from?

After not really knowing too much about Dead Space, I picked it up on a whim with Far Cry 2, and boy oh boy... what an amazing surprise it turned out to be.

Providing what is without doubt the most atmospheric gaming experience I have ever had, Dead Space plays like a combination of the movies Aliens, Event Horizon and The Thing as you navigate a devastated space craft trying to find out what happened to the crew. You'll be in genuine terror at times as you desperately fight to survive some horrifying looking creatures and some masterful set pieces that make this one of the year's best new games.

It looks stunning to boot, with detailed, smooth visuals that perfectly create the right atmosphere with moody lighting effects and large scale areas coupled with some really impressive 'space walking' sequences and a genuinely haunting score/soundtrack combined with brilliant voice acting and a superior plot make this one big scary pot of awesome.

I cannot recommend Dead Space highly enough. If you like survival horror, you will not do better. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nerves of Steel, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Andries J. Hough "Sunray" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game having read no reviews at all. I was a bit overwhelmed after I started playing. The controls are quite tricky - and this proved fatal within the first few minutes of the game as I was killed repeatedly. A word of advice - sort our your movements and get familiar with the controls before you enter the Ishimura.
This game is absolutely fantastic. It will scare the living daylights out of you - whether day or night. The visuals are brilliant and the sound effects will make your skin crawl. You really feel that you are lost, abandoned and alone in space in a ship infested by deformed humans and other not so human. It builds tension to the extent that I have to pause the game and take a break. This game gives the word 'interactive' new meaning. I forgot about everything around me and was immersed from the very beginning. Everything about this game is awesome. Whether or not you are a fan of survival horror, or not, this game will be a worthwhile addition to your collection. There is not a very big selection of PS3 games to choose from at the moment (good ones), but this is truly outstanding and I cannot recommend it high enough.
Order without delay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game!, 22 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Ali Aziz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
Having so far completed the first seven chapters(there are 12 in total) of this game, and loving every moment, I can safely urge anyone pondering whether to purchase it, go ahead! The gameplay is addictive, absorbing, intense, and great fun! Weapons are superb with upgrades and new items available via a 'store' and 'work bench' throughout the game. The visuals are astonishing in places with stunning graphics in general, and the sound is probably the best I've heard yet in a game. I can only repeat what other reviewers have said, that is to play this game alone at night, lights off and sound turned up for maximum effect! One reviewer said something about the game being 'too dark'. This is nonsense! Sure, some areas are dark but not so it affects the gameplay. Maybe it's time for him to buy a new tv set! Besides, the game has an option to adjust the brightness to your liking at any time. So sci-fi and horror fans, buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Space is Dead Good!, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dead Space (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing `Dead Space' for just an hour or so, I knew straight away that this was going to be one of the best games of 2008 and now that I'm about 10 hours into the story, I'm not wrong! Why is it so good? First of all it takes the excellent over-the-shoulder perspective of the classic Resident Evil 4 mixes it with the ground-breaking physics of Half-Life 2 and then has all of the scares and a similar setting to the terrifying Doom 3 which ends up as one of the best all-round survival horror shooters ever.

The graphics are some of the best I've seen on the PS3 with some very impressive lighting effects and very detailed surfaces and characters. The music and sound effects are really scary, especially when playing this using a surround sound system or with headphones. The HUD and maps etc are all on a display that comes out of the main character's helmet - there is no pausing to look at where you're going or use your inventory so you'll need to use your best tactics to find a safe place to do this! Video logs from your colleagues or others from the ship are also displayed this way, which is good as it stops long cut-scenes and you can continue exploring the ship whilst they are playing. You can also slow-down time and move objects using telekinesis (similar to the gravity gun in HL2). Another good feature is the zero-gravity rooms where you can jump to other platforms and items and enemies float around the environment. The action is fairly fast-paced and is also very gory. The puzzles are quite challenging at times and using the character's special skills will take one or two attempts to get right on occasions.

Overall this is a very good game that has kept me really entertained and I'm not near the end yet. I highly recommend it to fans of survival horror, shooters, sci-fi horror and basically anyone after a really decent action game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Space (PS3)
Dead Space (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£14.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews