Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy video, Batman! Relive the hilarious sixties series.
Holy video, Batman! Fans of the sixties series should all own this movie. It encapsulates the programme - ridiculous villains, heroes not much better, set up fights, all acted rather badly but with extreme earnestness. Kids of all ages will love it, whether they are seeing for the first time or reliving their lost youth.
Published on 23 Nov 2000 by Sara

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu ray review
Bought the blu ray today, still a good movie, the quality is superior to the DVD - but not as razor sharp/crystal clear as I was hoping for. A slightly soft image, but still has a cinema-like quality.
Published 7 months ago by MARK C. BALE


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy video, Batman! Relive the hilarious sixties series., 23 Nov 2000
By 
Sara (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Holy video, Batman! Fans of the sixties series should all own this movie. It encapsulates the programme - ridiculous villains, heroes not much better, set up fights, all acted rather badly but with extreme earnestness. Kids of all ages will love it, whether they are seeing for the first time or reliving their lost youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Pure Entertainment, Batman!, 12 Aug 2002
It's difficult to add to the excellent reviews by Amazon and the other contributors, as they've summed it up so well!
The 1989 Batman movie had the Joker - and was very good. The follow up "Batman Returns" had the Penguin and Catwoman, and was pretty good too. The next one "Batman Forever" had the Riddler, but it wasn't up to much. And let's forget about the awful "Batman and Robin" one! This 1966 movie, however, has all these characters and has more entertainment value than all the more recent offerings put together.
Kids will love this movie, as will adults with an ironic sense of humour. There are so many laughs to be had, the characters are larger than life and it is quite evident that the actors are really enjoying it. With a few nods to the camera by Adam West as Batman, what we have here is the movie equivalent of a stage pantomime.
For me, the one scene that stands out is about an hour into the movie where Batman tries to dispose of a bomb. It's got to be one of the funniest scenes in cinematic history! But there are some wonderful throwaway gags that explain how Batman miraculously gets out of a sticky situation.
If you have a DVD player, this is a must-have DVD. There is a worthwhile commentary by Adam West and Burt Ward (Batman and Robin), stills galleries (some of the photos of the Riddler with a "circular saw - conveyabelt torture trap" appear to be from the TV series) and an interesting documentary. The presentation throughout is superb too. Absolutely flawless.
My only wish now is for the 120 episodes of the 1966-68 TV series to be released too! Maybe then we will finally get to see that conveyabelt of the Riddler in action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars batman as it should be, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Movie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
can there be anything more entertaining that batman battling a clearly made of rubber fake-shark and shouting in staccato speech to robin "pass.. me.. the.. shark.. repellent.. bat.. spray" I'm in my (very) late 30s, my youngest son is 6 and we both love this film. no language, no violence, no gore, just good clean fun and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended to all families, 4 Mar 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In 1966, with the newly minted Batman television show already underway, this movie came out to drum up even more ratings. In this movie Batman (played by Adam West) and Robin (Burt Ward) face an uphill fight, when Penguin (Burgess Merideth), Joker (Cesar Ramero), Riddler (Frank Gorshin) and Catwoman (Lee Meriwether) team up to take over the world! With lots of Biffs and Whams, the dynamic duo takes them on head-to-head, and win with their hearts and minds. [Color, released in 1966, with a running time of 1:45.]
OK, this movie shouldn't be taken too seriously. With a low budget and tongue-in-cheek writing, it's hard not to laugh at the antics. But, that said, it is a fun movie, with lots of excitement and action. My children loved this movie, and I loved that it was clean and up beat.
By the way, a real selling point of this DVD is the extras. My favorite two extras were the look at the Batmobile (staring its designer, George Barris!), and a fun Batman featurette in which Adam West and Burt Ward let you in on all the behind-the-scenes hijinks. This is a great DVD that I highly recommend to all families! Watch it and have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy overacting, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun this. Kids love it and grown ups will laugh their heads off at the tongue in cheek matcho behaviour of Batman as he tries. To. Get. Rid. Of. The. Bomb. Hilarious how he explains World peace to Robin. Great walking up the horizontal wall moment etc etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old memories, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Children loved watching this old batman movie they were glued to it. Value for money and deliverd well on time for christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an old dvd but sometimes the old ones are the best
the recipient is a great batman fan and loved this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun and entertaining!, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Batman the movie is brilliant!It is fun family film to watch.All the villians are very funny and evil.This batman film is very different to the new,It is more of a funny movie and no gore or strong violence set up than the new batman films.The story is nice and easy to understand.The villains The Catwoman,The Joker,The Penguin and The riddler team up and they have a dehydrator which turns people into dust.The villains use this gun to take over the world,so Batman and Robin have to stop them.This film is good for anyone at any age to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zork!, 3 Jun 2012
This review is from: Batman: The Movie [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even though the 1960s series may never be released on DVD, the Blu-ray special features are more focused on the series than they are on the movie. The movie has all the crazy trappings of the series - the labelled tech in the Bat-Cave, the spray for a variety of ocean animals and manic, scenery-chewing, fantastic appearances of Joker, Penguin, Catwoman and the Riddler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Batman, 29 Dec 2010
I got this for my 5 year old who has a big batman thing going on at the moment. All the modern stuff is over his head and too dark. This is a huge hit he loves it and its just what he likes loads of fighting and bad guys but without any real bloodshed. Its a huge hit in our house. Think its time to revisit some other older stuff, The incredible hulk, A team etc. etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa47d54b0)

This product

Batman: The Movie [Blu-ray]
Batman: The Movie [Blu-ray] by The Riddler (Blu-ray - 2008)
7.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews