Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime
Its finally here ... the live DVD you have waited so long for ... and I cant see anyone being disapointed

Although hooked right from the first time I heard 'Today' ... i never got to see Talk Talk live .... something I will always regret..

But this DVD captures them live so well that taking it in comes a close 2nd

The first thing I...
Published on 15 Oct 2008 by Chris Read

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Back in 1980s, I recorded Talk Talk Colour of Spring concert off the TV to mono vhs. Keen to improve the quality, I purchased the CD but then saw this Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD], on amazon - pictures as well, in the hope it was the same thing. I was somewhat disappointed to see it was not the same at all, although it did have a few more songs. Whilst I...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Bob Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 15 Oct 2008
By 
Chris Read "Chris Read" (Northampton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Its finally here ... the live DVD you have waited so long for ... and I cant see anyone being disapointed

Although hooked right from the first time I heard 'Today' ... i never got to see Talk Talk live .... something I will always regret..

But this DVD captures them live so well that taking it in comes a close 2nd

The first thing I realised was just how accomplished the band were playing live, the musicianship is amazing

Mark Hollis doesnt miss a note, all the depth and feeling in his voice translates even better live .... The persussion is stunningly arranged .... The 2 keyboard players (Ian Curnow also performs) recreate the songs beautifully and Lee Harris and Paul Webb... Well let just say that Talk Talk were never just 'another' 80's band

Considering the recording is 22 years old, the dvd's production is superb .... upmixed to dolby 5.1 ... its a real treat hearing a live gig in 5.1 ... you simply must try it if you never have .... Best of all, a DTS soundtrack is also included ... this is no cheap cash in

I was very happy with the tracklist too:

1. Talk Talk
2. Dum Dum Girl
3. Call in the Night Boy
4. Tomorrow Started
5. My Foolish Friend
6. Life's What You Make It
7. Mirror Man*/Does Caroline Know
8. It's You
9. Chameleleon Day*/Living in Another World
10. Give It Up
11. It's My Life
12. I Don't Believe in You
13. Such A Shame
14. Renee

*Short versions of these tracks which blend into the next song, as an intro

Running Time: Around 87 mins

I was a little apprehensive having seen the first song on ut*be ... my least favorite TT song, but I needn't have worried, there isnt a single week spot on the entire rest of the performance.

Its difficult to pick out favorite songs or moments as there are so many, but if I had to chose I would say my favorites would be Tomorrow Started, Such a Shame (had to hold back tears of happiness :o)) and those hauntingly beautifully sung two simple words ... Chameleon Day

It's not just a straight reproduction of album tracks ... the keyboard parts are regularly beautifully embelished upon... theres various points where the musicians get to showcase their talents ... and some songs are reworked from their studio versions ... for example Such a Shame goes straight into a chorus ... and to great effect...

I cannot fault the quality of this DVD ... occasionally a 'buzzing' can be heard (very much in the background) ... which may even be feedback from the amps and not even a recording issue .... but the sound is so rich and full that I cant say this was ever a problem for me ... and you might not even notice it if I'm honest

My only minor niggle about the performance is that occasionally it is apparent the guitarist should have left his 'Rock School' roots at home, and used a style more suiting to the music at hand .... I dunno .... it just doesnt sit well with me .... I certainly thought the guitar on My Foolish Friend detracted from the song rather than added ... but he more than makes up for it elsewhere ... and its a pretty stupid niggle really ... and a personal feeling rather than an experts observaion ... but its the only one I could come up with

Of course this all happened before the beautiful Spirit Of Eden and Laughing Stock albums ... as far as I know they were never performed live ... so the timing of this recording is perfect as it catches a great summary of their work up to then ... and I would assume comes from their final tour

To sum up, I really could not recommend this DVD more highly ... to finally get up close and personal to a band whose songs I have cherished most of my life ... and see it put down so beautiflly on film was simply a joy

Later Talk Talk fans and music fans in general should also check it out ... see the seeds to the later works of genius ... and not forgetting an amazing live performance any band would be proud to look back on

Thankyou Eagle and Montreaux Sounds ... and respect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning 86 minute live performance from 1986, 15 Oct 2008
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This DVD captures Talk Talk live at a hot and sweaty Montreux Jazz Festival on 11th July 1986. The band were on a major world tour to promote their album "The Colour Of Spring" and the core trio of Mark Hollis (vocals), Paul Webb (bass) and Lee Harris (drums) are augmented by John Turnbull (guitar), Ian Curnow (keyboards), Rupert Black (keyboards), Phil Reis (percussion) and Leroy Williams (percussion).

The concert begins with a slow and funky `Talk Talk' and a version of `Dum Dum Girl' that stays true to the studio recording.

`Call In The Night Boy' comprises a powerful and aggressive Mark Hollis vocal and searing lead guitar from John Turnbull (who is sporting a very 80's mullet haircut!), underpinned by a real groove from the Webb-Harris axis. The track breaks down into a jazzy piano / percussion rhythm before building back up into a relentless and powerful climax. The mood then changes immediately with a solo piano passage that leads into the slow tempo of `Tomorrow Started'.

The band immediately finds its groove on the stunning `My Foolish Friend' and there's virtuoso guitar playing from Turnbull throughout. `Life's What You Make It' has absolutely everything - rhythmic (almost tribal) drums and percussion, killer guitar and THAT piano riff.

Hollis delivers a flawless vocal and is ultra-focused and passionate throughout this show. He wears dark glasses and stoops over his microphone and grips it tightly for most of the set (as per the image on the front cover of this DVD).

A few lines of `Mirror Man' precede a fine rendition of `Does Caroline Know' where Paul Webb's melodic bass playing locks in with some light drumming and percussion - all topped off with more virtuoso guitar, a stunning vocal and a range of different keyboard / piano sounds which are high in the mix.

The rhythm section once again supply the power behind `It's You', before a brief snatch of `Chameleon Day' is followed by an awesome six minute version of `Living In Another World'. This song demonstrates the sheer power and intensity of Mark Hollis's vocals, combined with a fiery groove from the rhythm section and incorporating an instrumental passage that is notable for John Turnbull's guitar solo. A similar vibe continues with another song from "The Colour Of Spring", `Give It Up'.

The impressive `It's My Life' features some lively piano, distinctive Webb bass, solid drumming and more tribal percussive beats, a range of keyboard effects and another fine vocal. The band members then leave the stage to rapturous applause before returning for the encore, where the dark and brooding melancholia of `I Don't Believe In You' is followed by a storming nine-minute take of `Such A Shame'. The show climaxes with a sombre and beautiful performance of `Renee'.

The screen format of this DVD is 16:9 and the sound options are PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS Surround Sound. The footage is multi-camera, professionally shot - picture quality is sharp and the sound quality is superb throughout.

The packaging is also impressive, with a brief history of the Montreux Jazz Festival on the back inlay and a foldout booklet which features brief sleeve notes, a reproduction of the original 1986 Montreux Jazz Festival poster and several black and white stills from the show.

The concert itself features Talk Talk at the very peak of their powers and with a fantastic line-up of musicians, on what would sadly prove to be their last ever tour - an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masters at work, 3 Dec 2008
By 
D. A. England (west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Of all the concerts I have been to, seeing Talk Talk live at the Duxford Aerodrome was the one I remember best. Talk Talk toured all over Europe, playing some of the largest stadia in the major cities, but when it came to the UK they played small, obscure venues (except the Hammersmith Odeon in London) and were supported by local bands wherever they went. At Duxford we had The Fall and President Reagan is Clever - whose 5-track vinyl EP, From This to That, I had to go and buy the next day. Great days for music.

For those who unfortunately never got to see Talk Talk live, this is a fantastic way to observe the passion with which they played their music. Lee Harris' utterly focussed drumming, Paul Webb's effortless bass playing and Mark Hollis' head-nodding singing style. His vocals appear to be torn from him, every nuance of the lyrics forced upon the microphone.

From the pretty-boy pop of The Party's Over (an image forced on them by their record company, and the start of a long, bitter association with Chrysalis) to the haunting, often disjointed refrains of Laughing Stock (and subsequently Missing Pieces), I can think of no other band who have shown such graceful transition in their career. The beautiful James Marsh artwork, the attrition with Chrysalis, the disbanding and solo projects (Rustin' Man, O'rang, Dave Allinson and Mark Hollis' self-titled album) all led to a rock 'n roll soap opera that leaves people like me wanting to soak up every moment of their seemingly all-too-brief and yet magnificent career.

Press the buy now button. Sit alone and watch. Revel in real musicians doing what they do best. For me, it's like being there again......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly magnificent, 28 April 2010
By 
Peter Van Hecke (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this expecting an ok gig with ok sound and ok images.
It turned to be an incredibly powerful gig with amazing sound and crisp, sweaty images.
Almost like being there yourself.

Mark Hollis is one of the best singers around (or he was): what power, what emotion and above all, what consistent clarity.
The drums are simple but spot on and they drive the music as it should be driven.
Webb's bass playing is inventive and seems so fluid and easy. Moreover, it is incredibly well mixed and forms a true basis, as it should.
Electric guitar is weird at times, but functional and interesting. Acoustic guitar is simply marvellous, again well mixed and the playing and soloing at the end has to be seen.
Keyboards are so, so, so well balanced and provide the rest of the music with just the right amount of atmosphere. Impressive playing skills of both players as well and the overdrive guitar soloing on keys is very, very realistic.
Percussion is it too well mixed: not too loud, very varied and it adds a lot.

I own a lot of DVD's and am very sensitive to sound quality (as one ought to be with a 5.1 surround system: what's the use if the sound sucks?) Most recent DVD's perform well in that respect, but I really didn't expect a similar sound experience from a 1986 DVD. Stunning and it only serves to heighten the impact a marvellous band as Talk Talk is able to provide.

A must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 9 May 2010
By 
T. Baker "Nude Man" (Stoke UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This DVD shows the sheer brilliance and class of probably the most under-rated band of all time - see through the dodgy haircuts and appreciate a "world class" gig -great filming and great sound make this an unmissable experience for any serious muso
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten masters, 6 Nov 2009
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
One evening back in, what was probably about 1987 I remember glimpsing a TV guide and seeing the words "Talk Talk live". Exctitedly I stuck in a VHS cassette and set the timer. That VHS wore out after hundreds of plays. The performance of "Tomorrow Started" stunned me. Mark Hollis' intensity and passion was tangible and I don't know how many times that song was rewound and played again. To finally get this concert on DVD is a delight. I once saw them live just as the first album came out but it was a very short gig at a local TV studio. "Today" and Talk Talk" had me hooked and anybody coming across this gem for the first time can't fail but get hooked too.

Despite the 80's mullets the concert footage is fantastic and the sound is impressive considering the year of the concert. Hearing "my foolish friend" and the sublime "chameleon day" were enough to give me goosebumps. Hollis' vocals alwys steal the show but his bandmates are all up to the task of competing with him. Their energy and talents are a wonder to behold and this is likely to get worn out like my old VHS cassette. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends, 12 Nov 2009
By 
GM CAMPBELL "Gary MC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Although some 23yrs old now, this live show remains as fresh a new dawn, and quite simply stunning!
Talk Talk created a musical niche all of their own, and i cant think of any band that has since risen to fill the gap created by their demise.
Forget U2 and other pretenders of that ilk - If you want to witness a concert that genuinely does reach out and touch the soul...This is it.

Light the candles - Turn up the volume - And enjoy.
This is a dvd experience not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Talk Talk?-YOU MUST GET THIS!, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This arrived very quickly as ever with Amazon, and went straight into the new Samsung surround system Home Cinema, to be viewed on the new Toshiba LCD TV (I've boosted Amazon's profits singlehanded recently!).
This is in a word..............FANTASTIC!
Great 5.1 Surround Sound, good picture & what a concert.
If you have the London 1986 CD it's a very similar set list and the highlight to me is 'Does Caroline Know' which live was a far superior track than on the 'It's My Life' Album. There isn't a bad track, they're all incredible & very atmospheric.
It took me back to when I saw them in the same year at the Manchester Apollo-possibly the best concert I ever saw (if it had been at the Liverpool Empire it would have been improved further!)-absolutely outstanding performances from all.
Short of having 'Laughing Stock' or 'Spirit of Edeb' material to view on 5.1 sound DVD it will not get better than this.
If you're a huge Talk Talk fan like me you will have to have this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talk Talk, pure genius, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Michael J. Reid "Michael" (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
If you like the music of Talk Talk then you will love this DVD. It's essentially a film of a concert they did in Montreux to promote the Colour of Spring album (Life's what you make it album). The album itself is a work of art and transformed them from avant garde pioneers of an early electro pop sound on towards their more abstract and beautiful pieces as heard on the album Spirit of Eden. As is the case with anything in the eighties some of the haircuts and fashions have not stood the test of time, whereas the music of Talk Talk has.

The reason for only four stars is the sound in the first twenty minutes, it seems slightly unsynched, which can cause you to feel a little removed from it, however that problem sorts itself out just in time for Mark Hollis to really get going on some of the finest and most haunting songs ever made (in my opinion at least)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive if not too sensitive, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Margus Lattik (Estonia, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Talk Talk turned from being yet another representative of a synth pop era into a highly sensitive, unique and thoughtful piece of music. A live release is thus a most welcome contribution to anyone willing to appreciate the legacy of Mark Hollis & Co. I would say though that the picture ads little to the music and the release would have been just as good as a CD. The only thing the picture confirms is that by 1986, Talk Talk was already so unlike pop stars.

There are many great renditions of their songs here, like Tomorrow Started and Living in Another World, but the closers Such a Shame and Renee are probably the best. Interestingly enough their perhaps best-known track Life is What You Make It is one of the poorest sounding bits of this concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk Talk - Live At Montreux 1986 [DVD] [2008]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews