Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Best-Of to please both fans and those interested!
Quite a few Toyah Best-Of CDs have been released, but whilst all previous compilations concentrated on her hugely successful "Safari Records days", this is the first career-spanning CD from 1979 to 2003, including all the hit singles as well as key album tracks and some rarities.
CD 1 features the obvious top ten singles "It's A Mystery", "I Want To Be Free" and...
Published on 6 July 2008 by Ghost Light

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying!
Firstly,this is great value and essential if you want an overview of Toyah's career.

As always seems to be the case,the older tracks are best,e.g.,the brilliantly inventive and exhausting "Bird in flight",the spooky but ace "Blue Meanings"and the outstanding "Victims of the riddle"all more than impress as do some of the hits such as "Brave new world",and so...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by John Cassidy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Best-Of to please both fans and those interested!, 6 July 2008
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
Quite a few Toyah Best-Of CDs have been released, but whilst all previous compilations concentrated on her hugely successful "Safari Records days", this is the first career-spanning CD from 1979 to 2003, including all the hit singles as well as key album tracks and some rarities.
CD 1 features the obvious top ten singles "It's A Mystery", "I Want To Be Free" and "Thunder In The Mountains" alongside essential album tracks like "Blue Meanings", "Jungles Of Jupiter" and "Angel & Me".
CD 2 moves on from 1985 to 2003 with a few more hit singles like "Don't Fall In Love (I Said)" and "Echo Beach", but mainly album tracks, simply because Toyah did not release any singles from the albums that followed. You find tracks from her progressive "Prostitute", the collaboration with husband Robert Fripp and another member of King Crimson on tracks from "Ophelia's Shadow", the excellent demo of the unreleased and brilliant "Angel" and two tracks from her latest offering, the mini-album "Velvet Lined Shell". Musical styles vary from pop to experimental/ industrial, from progressive to rock. Quite a lot to discover for those unfamiliar with Toyah's album history.
And although this is a budget CD, it sounds and looks like a high quality product with quite a lot of pictures in the booklet, displaying old record sleeves and featuring more recent photos of Toyah.
A well compiled Best-Of for fans to enjoy and for everyone interested to discover Toyah's rich back catalogue and stunning history of creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME COLLECTION!!!, 12 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. D McGrath (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
Roll on the 30th June 2008....what a FANTASTIC collection and artwork to match! I wouldn't be at all surprised if Toyah herself had a hand in this. I think this is the FIRST Toyah collection to incorporate recordings from ALL record labels she was associated with. What is also nice is that the tracks are chronological.

All we need now is a decent DVD collection to go with it - promo videos, television appearances, interviews etc.

This is pure CLASS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toyah. . . Still Has It!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
Brilliant value collection of Toyah Wilcox's Greatest Hits, A must for all 80's Music Buffs.
I'd recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Morningh Universe, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
I loved these CD's and is a great treat for those Toyah affectionardios like myself.
A very very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good choice, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
I only owned one of Toyah's albums (the brillaint Anthem) and thought this would be a good taster of her other stuff. It certainly is and had quite a few familiar tracks too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good retro album, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
good album. there is a lot i have not heard before. can be a bit samey. think you gotta be a true fan of toyah to buy this. it is good though :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fan again, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Steve (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
Went to see Toyah recently, brilliant night - so I thought I'd get an album to remember that night. Excellent choice - all the favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Toyah Compilation You'll Ever Own!, 9 Mar 2011
By 
L. D. Campbell (Burnley,Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
This is exactly as my heading says! It is brilliant because not only does it include all the Toyah tracks people are familliar with such as I Want To Be Free & Thunder In The Mountains,but it includes album tracks from her more obscure albums such as Prostitute and Ophelias Shadow ( I only possessed them in this form for quite a while, untill I discovered internet shopping!).

If you want to buy one Toyah Cd & one Toyah Cd only this is it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catching up on old times, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Ian Davis "orangeredman" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
So many great tracks of my years on here. Better than the usual best ofs it includes some of the better album tracks too which I used to have on vinyl. Filled a hole in my record collection and just as good as I remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of Toyah, 1 Sep 2010
By 
I. Davidson "Iain" (Downtown Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Morning Universe - The Very Best Of Toyah (Audio CD)
great mixture of her hits, went to school with original keyboard player pete bush, followed toyah since sheep farming, great songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac639e58)

This product

Only search this product's reviews