Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crispy Clean Ambience
Like any of the Orb albums, the music is not just about the individual songs, but rather about the experience as a whole. As the titles suggest, these songs take you through a fantasy landscape. By the time you arrive at Oxbow Lakes, you'll be stunned by the amazing beauty you see in your head. This album features an undercurrent of 'sadness' in tone, of a classical...
Published on 9 April 2004 by rob w

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Generic Ambient Music"
"Generic Ambient Music" was how this album was described by the press when it first came out, and I couldn't agree more. I'm an Orb fan, have all of the albums except this one up until now as it wasn't recommended; but the reviews were quite good and seeing as I was a fan I thought "how bad can it be?". I've played it through 5 times but that will be its total ever play...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by L. Constantin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crispy Clean Ambience, 9 April 2004
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
Like any of the Orb albums, the music is not just about the individual songs, but rather about the experience as a whole. As the titles suggest, these songs take you through a fantasy landscape. By the time you arrive at Oxbow Lakes, you'll be stunned by the amazing beauty you see in your head. This album features an undercurrent of 'sadness' in tone, of a classical nature, and the sounds are of greater quality, crispier, so to speak, than the previous ones. It are the piano sounds and high frequency percussion which are more notable in this album than the others, and there is less reggea style dub music this time, except for the track slug dub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Ambient album of all time without a doubt!!!!, 10 May 2004
By 
R. Sutton "rsutton34" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
This is quite simply one of the greatest musical compositions ever created or dreamt up. A stroke of genius, Mssrs Patterson, Western and Fehlmann have come up with an all time GREAT album which to me is even more deserving of the title "Classic" than "U-F-ORB".
A genuine modern day masterpiece of ambient musical heaven which you can never get tired of.
I have to agree with another reviewer, that this album can make you feel better if you are unwell. It simply livens you up and lifts your spirits.
Standout tracks, well they all stand out really, but if I had to pick just one it would be Plateau. 12 minutes of heaven, my only gripe is that they should have released a seven cd edition, with huge extended versions of each track, one per cd. (Maybe thats pushing it a bit)
Buy it, or you'll never know what made me rant on about this Gem, 7 years after I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrain as sound, 10 April 2007
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
One of the most significant ambient albums of the nineties, Orbus Terrarum represents a journey across a landscape in the form of sound, with each track signifying a different terrain feature. The journey begins in the lush, dense ravine of 'Valley', with it's heavy rolling bass, gradually rising up into the airy, open spaces of 'Plateau', before descending again into the aquatic chimes of 'Oxbow Lakes'. The 'landscape as sound' theme is seemingly abandoned toward the end of the album, with an epic dub workout, 'Slug Dub', instead providing the finale, with humourous, if slightly sinister samples of a childrens' story about lettuce being eaten by 'nasty' slugs. Quite different from all the Orb's other albums, but definitely a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An earthy meandering masterpiece, 23 Jun 2003
By 
M. A.J.Anderton (Barton-on-Humber, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
In the Orb's debut they went in space,
and now they're conquering ambient on solid ground...
The result is a fantastically dreamy ambient work, with light percussion. Valley and Plateau are the ambient highlights, which are sub-cool with a soothing rhythm, but enough variation to maintain interest. Oxbow Lakes is, unsurprisingly regarded as the Orb's finest hour and I would be pressed to disagree, as it is simply wonderous.
White River Junction, Montagne D'Or and Occidental are also well produced ambient tracks with the classic Orb touch and are highly listenable.
The finale, Slug Dub is a quite fantastic end to a brilliant album, a 17 minute masterpiece of soundworking with almost every arena of Orb sound encapsulated.
In summary, this is an album no true Orb fan could do without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Orb album, 3 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
I lie on my bed, my nasus crawling with influenza, but the sounds from my stereo above me have an oddly soothing effect. Listening to this album for about the twentieth time I can still unlock new melodies and marvel in the orgasmic soundscapes that encapsulate the ears. This is music so vivid you could smoke it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aural Pleasure, 25 Mar 2014
By 
h78 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
This is a monster of an album form The Orb. Have been listening to this since its release and is still one of my favourite albums to date. This release solidifies how amazing The Orb are and their part in producing what maybe a future masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In a world of its own, 8 Oct 2013
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
This album is still relevant in 2013. Its an album of ambient music. The tunes are definitely more like cerebral-esque journeys by sound than a tune you can put on and hum along to. Don't get me wrong there are bits of tunes on the album you could hum to but the overall experience is one of being drawn into and travelling around in a very strange (rich sounding in alot of parts) soundscape. One which does take you off on a journey.

Thus, because of its odd (when compared to conventional music, even most albums which come under the genre 'electronic music') individual sound, qualities, its not really aging and can be enjoyed now as it was when it was first released.

Over the years i'd hoped The Orb would pump out more albums like this or other people would create music in this vein. Neither of which have done so good enough for me to really get into what they've produced. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Generic Ambient Music", 6 Jan 2011
By 
L. Constantin "Lopster" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orbvs Terrarvm (Audio CD)
"Generic Ambient Music" was how this album was described by the press when it first came out, and I couldn't agree more. I'm an Orb fan, have all of the albums except this one up until now as it wasn't recommended; but the reviews were quite good and seeing as I was a fan I thought "how bad can it be?". I've played it through 5 times but that will be its total ever play count for me. All I can say I've done is complete my collection, nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orbvs Terrarvm
Orbvs Terrarvm by The Orb (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews