Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Gorry
Yes you've guest by the title it's about people being cut up in a kind of weird place, high on drugs and there's a lot of gory blood about. Not bad though, i enjoyed watching it.
Published 9 months ago by san

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quincy on crack
Not very good. A bunch of forensic pathologist students are competitively murdering random individuals to compete with each other as to who can do it in the most imaginative way and in an attempt to show how clever they are in bamboozling their fellow pathologists in the autopsy that follows to determine the means of death.
A new pathologist starts and is drawn into...
Published on 30 Jun. 2010 by All of them Witches


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quincy on crack, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
Not very good. A bunch of forensic pathologist students are competitively murdering random individuals to compete with each other as to who can do it in the most imaginative way and in an attempt to show how clever they are in bamboozling their fellow pathologists in the autopsy that follows to determine the means of death.
A new pathologist starts and is drawn into this world with predictable consequences. Far too much of the film was taken up with focusing upon the characters in the film who were invariably immensely arrogant and highly dislikeable rather than what they were doing, who they were doing it to etc. Some aspects of the film were quite interesting; the penchant for copulating around the cadaver post-autopsy, copious use of crack pipes but otherwise this film was surprisingly dull.
The lead know it all male was awful. It was easy for him to be absorbed into the scene because he was as emotionally detached and arrogant as the rest of them and only eventually tried to back out due to cold feet after one of the more unhinged members of the group got carried away on an 'offing' spree. They were all a bit poor man's Patrick Bateman a la American Psycho but devoid of charisma and humour. There was no emotional connection to this film. The protagonists were all obnoxious irritants and the victims were, almost without exception, cadavers on a slab.
Along with an unsatisfactory conclusion and little more than lip service paid to plausibility (the nightly crack taking, copulating, murder and dissection didn't impact upon their capabilities for turning up and functioning at work the next morning) it gets a couple of stars for the idea, the one victim they did show and the occasional flash of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 29 Nov. 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not crazy over Milo Ventimiglia's work and only know him from the show Heroes in his role as Peter Petrelli. He's good in that role but I still find him annoying with his raspy "look how mysterious I am" voice and his floppy bottom lip. I just can't take him seriously and although he does seem to be trying to branch into more prominant acting roles, he's still that annoying Peter Petrelli. Michael Watson who's the general catalyst of the whole movie I only know him for his short part in season 5 of House M.D. as the private investigator. I like him in that and generally like him all round, he would have suited the lead role much more than Milo, but there you have it.

Pathology tells the story of Medical student Ted Grey (Ventimiglia) who's just graduated top of his class and has been accepted onto the most prestigious pathology program in the country. One of his fellow Pathologists Jake Gallo (Weston) indulges Grey in their extra-curricular activities which is to commit the perfect murder. This is the point where the movie gets interesting as it's not just a competition were creepy pathologists go killing, it turns into an orgy of sorts as part of the game. It involved death, disection, drugs and just wild and filthy sex. It gets into a bit of a creepy storyline that can hold your attention throughout so I guess that's a big plus. Throughout the murder games, Grey becomes acquainted with the fiancé of Gallo and this turns the movie into a whole different ball game.

It starts off as one of those movies we see a lot of recently which generally seems to be of the "gorno" genre, but it turns into a genuine thriller/horror that becomes in some senses quite disturbing. It's a dark film with a relatively dark setting, with most of the craziness of the movie taking place in the dark autopsy room. On further reflection I guess Milo isn't as bad in the role as I originally thought, but there could have been a better choice. I would recommend this to those fans of the horror/thriller/"gorno" genre but this may not be for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A DARK AND GRAPHIC TALE', 30 Jan. 2015
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
'Ted' (Milo Ventimiglia) after a spell in Africa returns home and is offered a position as a pathologist joining a large team.
however within that team there is a group who have a secret, they partake in a game of deadly intent, the game ? guess
'How this person Died' ? 'Ted' is invited to join in.
But where is the line drawn ? can there be a winner ? if so what will it take to do so ?
The film has a bucket full of 'gore' sequences, not to mention scenes of moderate 'sex' and nudity, if you enjoy violent and
graphic movies, this could be for you ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great!, 26 Oct. 2008
By 
Nikki - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this film on Sky box office last night. Yes it was a bit different to the usual horror film offerings but somehow it just didn't really work and was rather cringe worthy in my opinion!

Ted Gray is a med student and joins a pathology unit, where he becomes involved with a group of weirdo doctors and joins their games of each commiting the perfect murder and then the rest of them trying to figure out how the person died. As a sideline, they all seem to get their rocks off around dead bodies and there are plenty of sex scenes!

Ted later decides he wants out but I don't know why really as it didn't take much for him to join in in the first place - why did he get involved if he didn't want to, nobody forced him! The film gets more exciting towards the end and the last 20-30 minutes are probably the best part of the film!

For gore fans there are lots of gory scenes and plenty of body parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gorry, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
Yes you've guest by the title it's about people being cut up in a kind of weird place, high on drugs and there's a lot of gory blood about. Not bad though, i enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie on a great blu-ray!, 2 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pathology [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had this movie before on various DVDs but was never happy with the picture quality. I decided to give this one a try and must say I am very very happy, the video quality is so much better than it was on the DVDs, you can really see details which weren't there before! Great buy at this price: don't miss it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good plot, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
I felt the story of the film was good. The acting was suprisingly good. The effects and gory bits looks quite realistic too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crass, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
Oh, dear. We've been her before. Shallow characterisation, dialogue that is frankly laughable and a storyline that you can see panning out across a flat barren desert from a million miles away; the words 'dead meat' tattooed across the usual characters forheads. Crass Hollywood at its worst. They are trying to make us believe they have something to say about a 'broken moral compass', when all we really need to know is that this film is empty of ideas, human feeling and any kind of cinematic aesthetic. A car crash of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i wasn't even gripped to the screen, 21 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
I'd heard this would be a corker of a film but when I started to watch it I suddenly realised it was a pretty dull and undemanding movie. The characters had very little substance to them and I spent a lot of the movie engrossed in other things such as reading, my i-pod and eating in the kitchen (the film was in the front room), so as you can probably tell I'm not keen to give this a good vote!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully twisted!!, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
Floyd O'Doyle (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pathology [DVD] (DVD)
Fast-paced and energetic, this is a good film that is not for the squeamish, with lots of scenes of opened up bodies... and of course murders. Lots of them. This is a film that escaped the headlines possibly because of casting (who, by the way, carried the movie well) but its well worth a watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pathology [DVD]
Pathology [DVD] by Marc Schoelermann (DVD - 2008)
£2.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews