Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good performances, a lot of suspense.
I really liked this picture because the actors are really good ( see the changes in their personality when Hugh Jackman turns to bad ( he also is a good actor because he can be nice and smiling and also cold and ruthless) and Ewan gets his revenge.
What I like best is Ewan: he is really a chameleonic actor, what I mean is you see him in a picture and then in another...
Published on 9 Nov. 2010 by Agneska

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best
In many areas, Deception is a bit of a disappointment. The script is poor, enough so that the top quality actors struggle a little with some of the cheese, the plot twists are a little too obvious and occasionally slapdash, and I left watching the film feeling that the full potential for the film itself hadn't been reached. Half of the problems seem to be caused by a lack...
Published on 27 Aug. 2008 by Innocent Jaguar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Rent don't buy this disappointing thriller, 17 April 2009
By 
Purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
The film's set up is desperately slow but there is some promise in Jackman's performance...then unfortunately it just goes downhill. Every plot 'twist' is predictable and signposted in flashing neon and could only be a surprise to a 10 year old watching their first thriller. These are good actors with very little to work with. Jackman gives a frisson of evil, Ewan McGregor's accountant is less than one dimensional, Michelle Williams looks pretty but unconvincing as a femme fatale. Very little concentration needed - I was driven to catching up on my filing at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Feels longer than 90mins, 1 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Deception is the kind of film that meanders along without really getting anywhere. Hugh Jackman gives a good performance and if you love Ewan then you'll forgive the poor accent and uninspiring performance. The film felt a lot longer than 90mins and I did find myself looking at the clock a few times which is never a good sign. It's an okay film but doesn't really grab you and so I'd say rent the DVD rather than buy a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping plot masterfully played., 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
GRipping.
Great acting.
I'm saving a second viewing for when my daughter & son-in-law come. so we can all 3 of us have a favourite actor to sigh over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you think!, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant, good concept well executed, with a suitable twist at the end. Hugh Jackman is spell-binding and Ewan McGregor matches him well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great thriller, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great drama and suspense. Some nice performances from Hugh Jackman, Ewan McGregor and Michelle Williams. A must see if you are a fan of any of these actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd with the lovely hugh jackman, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd illoved this dvd it was thrilling and intriging a sad ending though HOWEVER anything with the lovely hugh jackman in will do for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Very tense film and unexpected. Great entertainment.. All the actors are excellent . Loved Hugh Jackman very sexy so will watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
I love the film was really good
I bought as it had hugh jackman in i love watching his films
recommend to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love the film, 26 May 2014
By 
Ms. M. El-awa "Mariam" (Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Very exciting movie, thrilling to watch. you will not regret buying it, and of Course Hugh Jackman is as brilliant as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present for a Hugh Jackman fan. She said it was 'OK'. I haven't seen it so couldn't add any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception [DVD]
Deception [DVD] by Marcel Langenegger (DVD - 2008)
£4.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews