Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


323 of 327 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traveling Wilburys vol. 3
The Wilbury's second album (though called the third) is really a tribute to the late Roy Orbison, who sadly does not feature on any songs on the album due to his death in late 1987. His absence in this album is sorely missed and fans of volume 1 with soon realise that volume 3 is not only quite poorly balanced, but fails to live up to the first in many respects. This...
Published on 25 Feb. 2003 by grb_geoff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fitting final song
Whilst not as good as the previous album,this is still worth a listen to,even though without Roy Orbison after his untimely death. The final bonus track runaway,was I think a tribute to the late Del Shannon. It was Del"s biggest hit and the Wilburys were about to approach Shannon to join them. Sadly it was not to be.
Published 21 months ago by tonyeeee54


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

323 of 327 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traveling Wilburys vol. 3, 25 Feb. 2003
The Wilbury's second album (though called the third) is really a tribute to the late Roy Orbison, who sadly does not feature on any songs on the album due to his death in late 1987. His absence in this album is sorely missed and fans of volume 1 with soon realise that volume 3 is not only quite poorly balanced, but fails to live up to the first in many respects. This though is not altogether surprising, for who else could have given to the Wilburys what Roy Orbison did.
But to be fair volume 3 does have some memorable tracks, ranging from the catchy 'Inside Out', to the crazy lirics of 'Wilbury Twist', to the best song on the album 'Poor House'. Although it fails to live up to the first and would prove to be the Wilburys second and final album, volume 3 is nevertheless an essential purchase for fans of the first and is well worth a purchase if only for the sake of completeness. This album will probably offer most to the Bob Dylan fans out there, for it is his writing style and indeed singing that features the most on this album. Just don't be expecting this album to be quite as good as the first.
(Fans of the Wilburys who are searching for volume 2 will be disappointed because it simply doesn't exist. Though Tom Petty's 'Full Moon Fever' album is regarded by many to be the unofficial volume 2 of the Wilburys.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wilburys minus Orbison complete the set, 12 July 2014
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
The second Wilbury album (called `Volume 3') is considered by most fans to be a step down from the epic debut Volume 1. V3 is nevertheless a great album full of fine songs, with that wry humour typical of this oddball supergroup (stoked particularly by Bob Dylan and Tom Petty). Missing here is Roy Orbison, who passed away in December 1988 of a heart attack aged only 52, and the album cover-photo features only the surviving four Wilburys.

Star tracks are `Seven Deadly Sins', `Where Were You Last Night?' and especially Petty's superb `Poor House', a humorous take on the consequences of divorce which rocks along with an impassioned vocal line full of self-parody. There are no weak tracks or fillers.

Make sure you get a copy containing the bonus track `Nobody's Child'. Originally written in the 1940s by Coben & Foree and recorded over the years by various singers, the Wilbury version was the opening track on the Romanian Angel Appeal album from 1990 and is the best-ever rendition of this classic number.

Keeping in with the good-time mood of fun and parody, sleeve notes on the V3 album cover were written by Python Eric Idle under a pseudonym (Michael Palin had done the same job on V1).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Moments, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
R. E. Tadd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
If you're old like me and want to sit in a quiet place and have a nostalgic moment, then treat yourself to this CD. Even if you only liked one of these artists in their hey day it's well worth buying and listening to their combined talents which when fused together enhances the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album by an excellent group!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Having liked what I heard of the Traveling Wilbury's, I decided to buy both of their albums. Every last track on this album is excellent, not just musically, but it is also remastered to perfection, giving a very clear sound.
'Poor House', 'New Blue Moon', 'Where Were You Last Night?' and 'Wilbury Twist' are some of my favourites, yet there are no tracks that I dislike.
The two bonus tracks added onto this album, were also of fine quality. The unforgettable Harmonica intro into 'Nobody's Child' and perhaps the highlight, Del Shannon's 'Runaway' on top of this already good album, make this a must buy, especially for any current fans of Bob Dylan, The Beatles, Tom Petty or ELO.

Traveling Wilburys - The best super-group of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wilburys magic, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
P. harrison "peter" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
pure magic from a group of people doing it purly for fun and there own enjoyment sadly never to be repeated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills me with joy, 4 April 2014
By 
Amanda Martin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Dont know what planet some of the reviewers are on! These guys are rock n roll personifide. Enjoyed every blissful moment of this album, i have played it over and over it never fails to lift my spirit. So sad George and Roy are no longer with us , am sure they are entertaining the angels now, RIP dudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finest 'Supergroup' ever!, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Great album with some very fine individual tracks. I had the double cd but lost the second disc and wanted to replace it. I'm glad I did too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travelling Wilburys, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Fabulous, so much talent in one group. I'd heard of them but never taken much notice of the music until I saw a tv programme, love the cd, play it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... journeys when you can turn up the volume and enjoy every minute of this great album, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is one for the car on those long journeys when you can turn up the volume and enjoy every minute of this great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars VOL 3, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Collectively with Roy Orbison, this was without doubt one of the greatest super groups ever assembled - the depth of talent was breath taking.

This album is a very different kettle of fish compared with the debut album. The standard is consistently good, but it doesn't quite have the same magical feel as the first album - perhaps they are missing Roy.

Nevertheless, it's a good album by any standard and well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3
Traveling Wilburys Vol. 3 by Traveling Wilburys (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews