Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southport's Finest
The Time Box were formed in 1966, straight out of art school in Southport, Lancashire. Primarily a London based outfit, despite a couple of line up changes and internal issues, the band were constantly making quality music in the late sixties whilst touring all the major establishments in the city, most noticeably The Marquee. Indeed they even toured nationally with The...
Published on 26 May 2009 by The Mancunian Candidate

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gone is the sad man
Great, forgotten band but tbis album lacks some of their best stuff, in particular the magnificent 'Gone is the Sad Man' - still wroth a listen though
Published on 19 May 2009 by Happy the Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southport's Finest, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
The Time Box were formed in 1966, straight out of art school in Southport, Lancashire. Primarily a London based outfit, despite a couple of line up changes and internal issues, the band were constantly making quality music in the late sixties whilst touring all the major establishments in the city, most noticeably The Marquee. Indeed they even toured nationally with The Small Faces at their height, yet this quality band sadly never made an album, and never earned the success that they ultimately deserved.

A big Mod favourite, with this compilation from RPM we finally get the chance to hear what all the fuss was actually about, with a quality array of recordings on offer here from The Time Box.

Signed to the Deram wing of Decca between 67 and 69, they made several releases; however they struggled to gain exposure outside of the club and University circuits. But for a band that seamlessly managed to fuse jazz with Pop with such astounding results, it's difficult to understand how they were so wilfully ignored and overlooked.

With this release I count at least eleven tracks, which will not disappoint in the slightest, and a further sixteen, which would pass as good strong stuff. Why this band never made an album as The Time Box, I will never know.

The stand out tracks include the title track; Beggin' is a cover of a Four Season's song, and they not only do it justice but make the song their own. This song in particular should have at least launched the band into stardom.

If that is not enough, Gone is The Sad Man, the brilliant Girl Don't Make Me Wait and Eddie McHenry will certainly have you in a mini rage about people's misguided ignorance towards this band. That's just four songs by the way; seriously it's no exaggeration to say this is a whole can of gems, which deserves attention from one and all.

The Time Box though came to a form of end in 1969. However they went on to form Patto (named after Time Box's lead singer Mike Patto), that band would go on to release three albums in the 1970's.

But thanks to this Time Box compilation from RPM, their output from the Sixties will never be over shadowed by their apparent glory years of the 1970's, and will indeed highlight actually how good this band really were in their prime, the 1960's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begging to be heard, 17 Aug 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
I came across Timebox via the British Psychedelic Trip compilations nearly twenty years ago. The two tracks I heard were 'Walking Through The Streets Of My Mind', the sort of pop song that you can't get out of your head, and the starkly contrasting 'Baked Jam Roll In Your Eye'. It's a ludicrous, but humorous tale of Martian invasion which you either love or hate. These two tracks sound as if they're by completely different bands, though they're not, and hint at why the band failed to sell. Timebox's singles material features a bewildering range of styles and the sleevenotes reveal that contemporary reviewers were confounded by this. The one thing the aforementioned tracks have in common, however, is Ollie Halsall's vibraphone playing, a feature that sets them apart from other bands.

Essentially a soul outfit to start with, they seem to have been too talented for their own good. 'Soul Sauce', 'Come On Up' and 'Beggin'' all display their brilliance as a soul band, but these tracks are interspersed with straight, melodic pop items such as 'Waiting For The End', 'Walking...' and 'A Woman That's Waiting'. Meanwhile, the first track owes more to jazz. Whatever Timebox did, however, they did with finesse. The quality of the production is first rate throughout.

Most of the second half of the disc is taken up with material for an unreleased album of self-penned material. This is more consistent in style and some of the tracks betray a Beatles influence for the first time. After 'Eleanor Rigby' all pop bands seemed to create their own flamboyantly-named characters: meet 'Eddie McHenry' and 'Barnabus Swain'.

Incidentally, contrary to what one reviewer says, 'Gone Is The Sad Man' is included and, yes, it is superb. 'Beggin'' is a great value CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius music...how did this slip through the net?!?!, 30 Jun 2008
By 
M. K. T. Willis (Stockton-on-Tees, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
I can't express how much of a shock it is listening to this compilation. I got to them through Patto and my current fixation on Prog Rock.

This stuff isn't Prog Rock but it's fantastic stuff all the same- fresh, inventive and full of x-factor. It has a superb level of musicianship, great songs and more than my review can express.

Why this didn't catch on I'll never know, but in a selfish way I'm proud I stumbled on them. Make sure you do too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CRIKEY THIS IS GOOD !!, 17 May 2009
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
i'm unsure how i chanced upon this one - i think it might have been 'customers who bought this also purchased ' ...

these tunes are bloody great - well most of them. sleeve-notes great with plenty of relevant info.

unsure of description, somewhere along the lines of: early pink floyd, zombies, slade, amen corner & ELP !

v happy i've chanced upon these guys !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 1 April 2014
By 
J. M. Tuck (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
I bought the Timebox CD mainly for the singles I remembered but as the CD plays a bigger picture of the talent in the band unfolds. I wouldn't go as far as to say every ones a gem, but as a very good over view of a very talented band who obviously enjoyed making good soul music you cannot go wrong. I've grown very fond of several of the un-released tracks which to me make this collection real value for money..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great retro music, 16 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. Paton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
Wonderful late 1960's retro sound from this talented group of Southport boys. Recommended for those were teenagers at the time! [Slightly biassed review as my cousin was the keyboard player in the group!]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as promised in the reviews......, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen H. Lyall (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
Always loved Patto ever since buying the vinyl LP at an independent record shop back in the mists of time. I remember it was in the sale box and I'm sure it was the cover which attracted me to it. Having replaced all my vinyl with cassettes and latterly CD's I jumped at the opportunity to buy 'sense of the absurd' - reissue of their first two recordings - when it was released. To cut a long story short, as this is supposed to be a review of this album, a bit of browsing relating to Patto related products revealed this album. I had looked at it on a few occasions but never took the plunge but was swayed by the reviews on this website which have proved to be bang on the button! Having played the album not expecting anything particularly outstanding I have been bowled over by the quality, variety and overall vocal prowess and musicianship. I haven't really got anything extra to add to the insightful reviews already posted but in view of my total satisfaction with the purchase I wanted to further champion its merits. It should really be no surprise I suppose that the talents on show latterly with Patto were alive and well but in an altogether different form. Recommended wholeheartedly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timebox, Beggin 1967-1969, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
Ive listened to tracks from this album n needed it in my collection. I purchased it and was very happy to hear some upbeat, British mod/pop psycadelic music : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pop, Mod, Northern Soul and Freakbeat killer stuff, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Al Most (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
This is killer stuff from the late sixties, at a par with the best pop hits of the Beatles, Kinks and Small Faces. Timebox did not encounter much success in its time, probably because a the time they were recording, the general mood had already turned to a harder sound. But its legacy on contemporary British Pop looks now even more obvious than the one of the aforementioned bands.
Each of the covers (Beggin, Don't Make Promises, Your Real Good Thing...) make the original irrelevant, while most of the originals have over time become classics of pop music.
An absolute must-have.

PS the reviewer saying that "Gone is the sad man" is not on the record is wrong (I don't believe there is anything missing here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gone is the sad man, 19 May 2009
This review is from: Beggin' - The Sound Of London's Mod / Club Scene (Audio CD)
Great, forgotten band but tbis album lacks some of their best stuff, in particular the magnificent 'Gone is the Sad Man' - still wroth a listen though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews