Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alive and kicking, 10 May 2008
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
The Dodos are an exciting new band that blend freak folk with latin influences and blues. Their debut `Visiter` sees the duo create often cacophanous and frenetic songs mostly from acoustic (sometimes slide) guitars, banjo, pounding percussion and occasional horns. It is a raw template that recalls, by turns, The White Stripes, Led Zeppelin, Animal Collective (circa `Sung Tongs`) and, more recently, The Ruby Suns. While texturally minimalistic, the songs are structurally expansive, shifting in and out of delicate balladry to rollicking jams.

The sing-song, nursery-rhyme melodies contrast with The Dodos' wild percussive energy which is at the distinctive core of almost all their tracks. 'Visiter` is rendered with an air of live spontaneity, a rawness and volatility emphasised by crazed backing vocals yelped from the back of the mix. The style stretches a little thin over the course of 14 tracks; momentum is notably lost on more throwaway efforts and inconsequential one minute doodles. But the rawness belies a more formalistic approach to songcraft that recalls the song-within-a-song dynamics of Grizzly Bear. A substantial debut then from an exciting new band with much to admire and enjoy; if you like this check out aforementioned artists, especially Grizzly Bear's `Yellow House` and The Ruby Suns' `Sea Lion`.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best..., 24 Mar 2008
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
Blues guitar and wonderfully catchy vocals from one guy, and drums that don't sit at the back and merely carry the music, but take the forefront as vital as any lead instrument from the other guy. Between the two of them, they create exciting, fun, heavy, poppy, experimental, bluesy music that has to be loved. One of the very very best of 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visiter, 26 July 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
Having heard 'Visiter' playing in a record shop I did what I almost never do and asked at the counter what was playing and then promptly bought it! Some tracks stand out immediately, with the great guitar playing and driving drums and others take a few more listens, but once you get a feel for this album you will be very impressed. It's nothing like the usual pap in the charts at the moment (thank heavens) and sounds all the stronger for it. The booklet is very 'spare' to say the least, but that is of minor concern once you've got the album in your stereo and you're enjoying the music they create. If you like bluesy (although not quite the best description), original music then this is the album for you, well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melody+Rhythm+Shouting=Album of The Year!, 29 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
Easily the best album released in '08. Lyrically a bit banal but otherwise highly complex, exciting music. The rhythmic design on this album is where it really shines; it's probably the most exciting music, in terms of rhythm, that i've heard outside of Fusion era Miles davis or talking heads. The interplay between drums and guitar is stunning, the offbeat rhythms impossible not to dance to.

Impressive folk guitar noodlings, endlessly hummable melodies, clattering drums, eccentric production; The dodos are young, excitable and hugely talented. One of the warmest most fun albums in existence. Buy it!

Incidentally theyre also the best live band I've ever seen. Go see them if you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get this album. And get *this* version., 26 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
Some of the best songwriting for a long long time makes this one of my favourite albums of 2008. In fact, the best album of 2008? I'm struggling to think of anything I bought last year that I'm still enjoying as much. The live 75-minute DVD is worth the price all on its own - you'll laugh (It's That Time Again), you'll cry (Winter), you'll get to the end and press play again straight away. In fact, I think many of the songs work better on the DVD than they do in the studio - Meric's voice gains an intimacy that's not quite as evident on the CD's more "produced" renderings. Not that the album is over-produced - far from it - but the underlying genius of the songs smacks you in the face all the more plainly when they're stripped to their essentials on stage. And naturally the energy level live takes an exponential leap upwards. In places it just roars. Oh heck, I'm going to have to go and watch it again now... and I was going to go to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 11 April 2008
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
Well, it's not freak-folk, it's joy-folk du jour, obviously. Anthemic vocal refrains, a twist of psychedelia, fingerpicking folk, massive locomotive percussion and breakneck intelligent pop may remind of the less abstract Animal Collective or Andy Partridge's XTC (10 years after) or Iron & Wine. Dodos plays great, infectious lo-fi/lo-key new-primitivist stuff, which is even better on their "Beware of the Maniacs" release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Original, So Good, 20 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
Such an amazing duo, absolutely brilliant, foot tapping music. don't forget their first album, Beware of the Maniacs, listened to that on loop for weeks. These guys are fantastic, great drums, great guitar and the lyrics are spot on, somewhat tongue in cheek in many cases. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes a surprise with a ridiculously ridiculous name, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Pawel Zietek - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visiter (Audio CD)
I would never buy a CD from a band call Dodos. I mean it: how stupid is that. So again: I'd never get myself Dodos. Then again - never say never.
I found them out on besteveralbums page on some folks charts: These folks had really cool charts with a Radiohead, Iron & Wine and some other bands I dig. And Dodos. What the heck - I may as well listen to their myspace songs - and God, ridiculous are they. Ridiculously good sounding are they.
Fantastic album. Fantastic band. Much better than band called Dodos can get. Because they can get REALLY good. I guess they have some other secret name.

VERY recommended. You can't get wrong with that. And don't say you won't be buying any Dodos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visiter [VINYL]
Visiter [VINYL] by The Dodos (Vinyl - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews