Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars XP OS review
Software was delivered quickly and loaded with no snags. I have two other copies and do not want to upgrade to Windows 7 until I have to because of possible issues with old drivers. It is a stable OS and does what I need.
Published on 13 Mar. 2011 by Andrew Binning

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Works but is NOT an OEM copy but REFURB
This software works, but you are given TWO codes one from a dead computer ( i hope! ) and the other is a Refurb Code
Not happy with this AT ALL , However with the time constraints i have, i had to use this software with is NOT as advertised..

This product is listed as a virgin O.E.M system builders version of XP IT IS NOT!!!!

If i can report...
Published on 5 Feb. 2012 by Adrian Moore


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Works but is NOT an OEM copy but REFURB, 5 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
This software works, but you are given TWO codes one from a dead computer ( i hope! ) and the other is a Refurb Code
Not happy with this AT ALL , However with the time constraints i have, i had to use this software with is NOT as advertised..

This product is listed as a virgin O.E.M system builders version of XP IT IS NOT!!!!

If i can report this sell i will

Did i mention i was unhappy?

EDIT:
After phoning M$ they no longer provide XP Pro Codes, Only upgrade to windows 7 ( not an option here ) So is this really the way forward?!
If anyone out there knows of a supplier of real genuine virgin XP Pro O.E.M's im all ears!

Will not be ordering from this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 132 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Counterfeit software, terrible service from seller and amazon, 20 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
Bought Software in good faith thru amazon from 3rd party seller.
Installed software (taking a day as it was on working machines in the workplace!) Both copies proved to be counterfeit!!

Filed A-Z complaint with amazon. seller 'eventually' told Amazon he would refund upon return of the counterfeit software. Delivery was signed for, 7 Days later still NO refund.
Amazon DENIED my A-Z claim because seller had 'agreed to refund after getting software back', This is a VERY STUPID thing to do especially doing so BEFORE I have even returned the goods, IF seller insists 'someone else' signed and denies knowledge then where the hell will that leave me!!

Matter not resolved yet, a month later..

I RECOMMEND: DO NOT buy any software from any seller that does not have a GOOD and SOLID history of successful supply behind them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unable to authenticate software, 30 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
The software I received stated that it is to be used on refurbished PC's only. This was not made clear at the point of sale. It states that it is for system builders only(OEM).
It arrived with 2 previously installed windows ID numbers that had been peeled of an old machine.
I tried to install the software on a upgraded HP machine in my office.
We have the original OEM software from HP, but this only has service pack 2.
I wanted to save time and load a complete up to date XP operating system with service pack 3.
The supplied software installed up to the point of registration but would not accept any of the keys supplied or our original key.
Had to reinstall the original HP software and go through the laborious task of updating to the latest Service pack 3.
The software has now been returned to Amazon for a full refund as not fit for purpose.
I will add that I have never had a problem with Amazon direct or any of their other suppliers, I suppose there is always a first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars be aware, 14 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
This product is for use ONLY to upgrade and existing windows product.
The advert DOES NOT make this clear and can be mistaken for a new install.

I tried it as a new install and several elements didn't work such as sound and internet to name a couple. Luckily I had the original motherboard disks and got everything back . IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE ORIGINAL MOTHERBOARD DISK DON'T-I REPEAT DON'T USE THIS PRODUCT.

realspeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No good for an OEM system builder, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
Not as described. Advertised as OEM version, was sent version for refurbished PC and included two COA stickers taken from old PC's. Probably would fool Microsoft into activating, but would be against licence agreement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 15 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
I bought this because I needed an installation disc of XP, when it arrived it turned out to be only a backup disk for refurbished computers, you didn't know this until you open the cellophane and it was described more clearly. I returned this to Amazon for a refund which happened very quickly. I will not be dealing with this trader again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars XP OS review, 13 Mar. 2011
By 
Andrew Binning "master cook" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
Software was delivered quickly and loaded with no snags. I have two other copies and do not want to upgrade to Windows 7 until I have to because of possible issues with old drivers. It is a stable OS and does what I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stable, secure, fun!, 31 Mar. 2009
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
By now everyone knows that Vista pretty much sucks on low and middle end hardware, so it goes without saying that Windows Xp is the way to go if you don't want to spend a bomb and want a pc that works! Having SP3 integrated is probably the best option, as you don't have to fluff about with hotfixes to get things such as zonealarm to run, which was a lot annoying when it came to SP2!

All in all, XP=AWESOME! Even to this day. And of course XP pro gives you all the extras you could need in the form of setting up a home network with shared files etc being ridiculously simple to get running, which is where Pro is the obvious winner. Go Pro! It's worth it, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Licence Breach, 2 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
Bought this software from Amazon, it was supplied by ASC Computersysteme_1. Upon Recipt of goods i realised that it is not a new licence it is for a Refurbished Licence. i installed it okay but after researching About Refurbished Licences you cannot install this on new PC's even if you have the original certificate of authenticy.

[..]

read section on "Refurbishing PCs and Licensing Information for Refurbished PCs"

it States:

- have been in distribution, or used by an end user, for at least 6 months, and
- to the best of your the refurbishers' knowledge, must contain the original motherboard, and
- for Windows products, have a pre-existing Windows COA affixed.

& also

- Components of the PC including the random access memory and the hard disk drive may be upgraded.
- The central processing unit (CPU) may not be upgraded.
- If the PC has a faulty motherboard it must be replaced with a motherboard of the same specifications as the original.

therefore unless this software is sold with the original motherboard & CPU you are in breach of Microsoft Licensing and you could be prosecuted for using unlicenced software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3 years out of date!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 8 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English (Software)
TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME not only 3 years out of date. from a dell lap top that has had its id code peeled of the bottom of it dated 2008. the disk was scratched and would only load a third of the information before error messages.
the Biggest warning i can give is that you cannot check the disk before returning as it comes with a NO RETURN ONCE OPENED WARNING>
AS A RESULT OF THIS I WILL NOT BUY ANYMORE SOFTWARE FROM AMAZON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English
Dell Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP3 - Licence and media - 1 PC - OEM - CD - English by Microsoft OEM Licence (Windows XP, Windows XP Professional)
Used & New from: £40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews