Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money
I've just bought this TV in a package with a Blu-ray player (Sony 350) and I have to say I am very pleased.

I got a couple of free disks. First of all I gave XxX a whirl. Not the greatest film in the world but looked great, nice and crisp. Same with Pans Labarynth.

As for the TV itself...Screen gives nice big picture. Blacks of pretty good, not...
Published on 9 Sep 2008 by A. Sneddon

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Lifetime
The TV worked very well with PS3 and SkyHD. Especially for the price and brand name, no complaints. However, the warranty is 12 months. And in my case, after 13 months, the TV "died". The screed became darker, and during channel change, 'ghost' image of previous channel remained on the screen for a short period of time. In other words, required to be repaired as soon as...
Published on 9 Jan 2009 by Temp TV Review 40V4000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 9 Sep 2008
By 
A. Sneddon (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I've just bought this TV in a package with a Blu-ray player (Sony 350) and I have to say I am very pleased.

I got a couple of free disks. First of all I gave XxX a whirl. Not the greatest film in the world but looked great, nice and crisp. Same with Pans Labarynth.

As for the TV itself...Screen gives nice big picture. Blacks of pretty good, not perfect but for the money you are doing well. Digital TV gives nice picture, Im going to get Freesat at some point as my freeview reception is hit and miss.

Downside is watching older programmes. I watched Dads Army and as another reviewer mentioned you get to see the warts and all of the poorer quality of the old recording. Going to watch a digitally remastered old Dr Who tonight to see how that fares. Watched Revenge of the Sith last night on normal DVD and the picture was fantastic so glad I wont have to rebuy all my DVDs again.

So in concluding, well worth considering as you seem to get a nice bit of telly for the money. My only other advice is haggle! I went to Sony Centre and quoted Amazon prices and I got the Blu-ray player and 5 year gaurantee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 20 July 2008
By 
Mr. P. A. Hyde "Peter Hyde" (Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I was rather reluctant to replace a 32 inch Toshiba that had served me well for about 5 years. Why get rid of something still working well? I'm not fussed about paying for high definition. I just got fed up with the sheer size of my Toshiba compared with these new HD sets.
This TV is truly excellent. I have it set up with Sky+ and an Apple TV box and an HDMI link to a Blu Ray DVD player. Pictures from all sources are far better than I expected. The quality is so good that I don't think I will be rushing to pay more for an HD Sky box yet awhile. It is also so much lighter than a 4 year old plasma I have in another room and therefore more easy to manoeuvre. So for picture quality, sound and general appearance, I'm delighted with it. I was a bit reluctant to go back to black but it looks good on a black glass stand. Even my old black Rogers floorstanders look good with it. I play the TV with all sources through an integrated hi fi amp. Can't be doing with too many speakers in the lounge. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome HD ready TV that looks great with DVD too, 21 Aug 2008
By 
David Terrar (St. Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I've just bought the KDL40V4000 as part of a (slow) move to HD across my ageing home cinema system, and I'm absolutely delighted with it. I'm glad I finally decided to buy just after the V4000 replaced the Sony V3000 and V3500 models I've been looking at all year. I tend to be a Sony fan for TVs, having had a long history of reliable models over the years, although I've also bought Panasonic, JVC Toshiba and even Samsung in the past. I looked at all of the available models, and although it was close the Sony picture kept looking the best in the various showrooms. Then a favourable, 5 star What Hifi review pushed me over the edge. For me, this 40 inch LCD TV replaces a JVC 32inch widescreen TV, which looks and feels like a monster alongside the latest LCD technology (not looking forward to carrying that up to the bedroom where it's going next!). The new slim TV, when fitted on an Alphason ST600 90 stand takes up pretty much the same footprint as the JVC, sitting between the two stacks of my hifi/av system. The simple and elegant piano black styling is a definite improvement over the earlier models, and it looks very stylish (except for that big mess of cables to my particular hifi configuration that are now in view - have to think of a solution for that). I couldn't stretch my budget to the W or higher models which have some extra bells, whistles and processing, but this TV has all of the things I wanted - 1920x1080 resolution / 1080p, 24p for true cinema, enough HDMI inputs (3), PC connectivity (just in case), and Freeview.

Eventually I'll upgrade to BluRay and Sky HD, but for the moment my main sources are a Sky Plus box, a veteran Sony DVP-S725D DVD player, a Sony VCR/DVD recorder, and a Canon HD camcorder. I haven't bothered to listen to the sound, as I use my surround system (which for the record has a Yamaha DSP-E800 processor, Roksan and Rotel power amps and Monitor Audio and Boston Acoustics speakers). The TV only has 2 SCART sockets, so I switched the DVD player to component input with a QED Qunex cable. Setup was easy, and the remote and menus are good. The performance of the TV is everything I hoped for, and a bit more. The colours are natural, there is a real sense of depth, with great contrast and blacks that are really black. Of course with standard satellite material, you can see more of the imperfections of the medium, or more detail on a newscaster's face than you'd really like to see, but putting that aside my favourite shows, or the current coverage of the Olympics look great. With DVD I was blown away. Tested with LOTR The Return of the King special edition DVD, the detail, depth and sharp edges are just excellent, the landscapes awesome - I started to watch the movie and forget what I was doing, a sure sign that a test is going well. Whereas I was expecting to be pushed in to buying a BluRay player very quickly, I'll be more than happy to use this with my current DVD player and material for a long time. Overall I think this is an excellent LCD TV, and at this price is fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb TV, 9 Sep 2008
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I have been researching LCD TVs for a long time and finally settled on this model which does everything I want, and being 1080P should be relatively future proof! Very easy to set up and intuitive in use. I also bought a Sony DAV DZ260 cinema system which is FAB and amazing value from Amazon. What a great TV it is!!!!great contrast ratio - colours and brightness are fantastic - good synch with the cinema system too....
One down-side though...old movies can look really poor as the TV exposes every blemish - especially old American stuff in old VT quality - both pixellated and fuzzy - not a fault of the set. My cinema system has 1080 upscaling and DVDs look brilliant so will be ok without a blu ray just yet! I would recommend getting HDTV though as I think it will be difficult to live with "less than" picture quality on a big screen. If you want a lovely high quality TV with all the Sony build quality at a good price - this doesn't get much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money and brilliant picture, 23 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I have just bought the KDL40V4000 just over a week ago and am really please with it. I wonted a TV to replace my 3 year old 32" LCD as have had a PS3 for a few months I wanted - 1920x1080 resolution / 1080p, 24p as have a few Blu-ray films now. Am really happy with the picture and don't bother spending loads on HDMI leads the cheap ones give just as good a picture as the silly price leads. Blu-ray looks fantastic on it in 1080p and the BBC HD on Sky looks great. Blacks don't seem to have a problem as don't have that slight grey like on a lot of seats and haven't notes any ghosting on fast moving scenes . Have my PC on HDMI input 2 and unlike some other makes of TV you can run in 1080p without the over sizing problem. Only problem I found is the piano black surround seems to attract the dust but this seems to be a problem on other makes to as friends who have Samsung seem to suffer the same there 40" 1080p cost more though but not as good a picture as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning viewing experience, 30 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
This arrived today and took less than 2 minutes to set up from switch-on and the results are amazing. I would suggest not choosing the Shop setting as this over-enhances the picture for normal viewing. As an ex-TV engineer I am VERY fussy about the quality of picture on any TV I own and this was flawless stright from the box. I cannot rate it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic quality for the money, 2 Jan 2009
By 
Louise (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I spent many hours trawling reviews and websites looking for a high spec tv to replace my 32" basic model. I am not very technically minded and just knew that the important things to look for were Full HD 1080p and a decent contrast ratio, which at 33,000:1 is way beyond what is offered elsewhere. With the Sony reputation for quality it didn't take long for me to place my order.

Arriving within 3 days I was bowled over by the ease at which I was able to set everything up. The various connections are really conviniently located towards the one end and not in hard to reach spots, with one HDMI located on the side - very handy for quick access. There's also a nifty little cabe tidy built in to the stand which is welcome little bonus.

The picture quality is fantastic and really is worth upgrading for. The sound is top notch too and the remote is well thought out so minor personal adjustments are very easy to carry out. If you anything like me and rarely read the instruction manuals the simplicity of the controls for this are perfect for you.

I love it so much, I almost want to buy another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding ..., 3 Dec 2008
By 
Rk Nair "rajkn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
This is a brilliant piece of kit. I have been searching around for a good Sony 40inch model ..and this was the best choice as it had great reviews and now after having it for a few weeks, I know why.

Its got the best of Sony features ..was extremely easy to setup, very stylish and you'll be blown away by the picture quality ..I watched the Casino Royale blu ray movie and the picture quality is awesome..Even the regular movies on TV look great ...Has changed the way I watch TV now !!!

A must buy if you are looking for a 40 inch TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality LCD, 26 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. Andy D. Cuyler (Wolverhampton, U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
I bought this TV to upgrade from a Samsung 32 inch LCD. This tv is amazing from sound to picture. blu-ray flims are so much better with the 1080/24p so crisp and clear and colours are spectacular.I recently purchased Band of Brothers on Blu-Ray from Amazon and this TV brought out the best in this mini series. Picture quality on SD is great too! The one thing that really stands out over my old Samsung is the sound the BBE feature is top quality! Would definetly recomend this TV and as a bonus i also got a free 3 Year extended warrenty via the Amazon mail in offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 24 Oct 2008
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony KDL-40V4000 - 40" Widescreen 1080P Full HD Bravia LCD TV - With Freeview (Electronics)
We had lived for nearly 20 years without a TV before deciding to jump in at the deep end. So apart from having had a good look at TV's in various shops, I am not able to compare this one with others, or to comment on its technical intricacies. We chose it for its looks and the SONY reputation and after having compared the specifications of many similarly priced TV's. We have had it a couple of weeks now, and have not been disappointed. It was very easy to set up, even for TV novices like us, and the zapper is very intuitive; we hardly ever need to refer to the instruction booklet, which is a bit flimsy anyway. Here are some other things I like about it. The sound quality is good, and I like the different sound options. The design is very plain and minimal; in spite of the size of the screen, it does not dominate the room when turned off. The picture is of course very good. What more can I say? I suppose the one downside is that I may be writing fewer book reviews on Amazon from now on. Oh, and the price has come down in the two weeks since I bought it. Zut alors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews