Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Target those Hailfire Droids before they knock us out of the sky!"
Lego kick off their 2008 releases from The Clone Wars movie with the excellent Republic Attack Gunship. These were also seen in Attack Of The Clones but this kit has been updated from the original #7163 Republic Gunship from 2002 with better construction, nicer detailing, more features and a more accurate colour scheme. This is a great version of the Gunship and it comes...
Published on 31 July 2008 by TK-1308

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The ship that falls apart
Instructions are good, well packed, though numbered bags would have been helpfull so we did not have to sort the whole contents in one go.

My 8 year old son loved it, but it just kept falling apart. I spent a further two hours changing pieces and strengthening the ship.

Lego must understand these are not just models but toys, my eight year old wants...
Published on 4 Jun. 2009 by Steve Georgiou


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Target those Hailfire Droids before they knock us out of the sky!", 31 July 2008
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
Lego kick off their 2008 releases from The Clone Wars movie with the excellent Republic Attack Gunship. These were also seen in Attack Of The Clones but this kit has been updated from the original #7163 Republic Gunship from 2002 with better construction, nicer detailing, more features and a more accurate colour scheme. This is a great version of the Gunship and it comes loaded with features.
Each cockpit canopy hinges open. The two front cannons rotate a full 360 degrees and across as well. There are doors to each side of the compartment below the cockpit which hinge up and contain a Clone Skimmer vehicle inside. In the compartment next to that, there are two panels which hinge up and there is a medical capsule inside which you hinge open to place the wounded in.
The aft section is covered with 2 hinged doors each side. Unlike the first issue which had the side gun turrets, this one has an extra door and a longer aft compartment. The doors hinge open sideways (2 forward, 2 aft) and there is room for a whole platoon inside. There is a rack in the middle to store weapons and there is also a place for the Aratech 74 Speeder Bike which flies out through the aft door. There are 2 storage lockers on each side above the aft compartment.
The wing cannons have been refined with a seat so you can put Clone Troopers inside which is great. The upper front hull has an opening panel and two small Probe Droids inside. There are two vertical missile racks on the top, each armed with 4 flick missiles and there is another 360 rotating cannon at the rear.
The Aratech 74 Speeder Bike is a vastly improved version of the vehicle and nicely detailed too. The control yokes are very nicely done.
The great thing about Clone Wars kits are the new figures, with great facial detailing these ones are a cut about previous Star Wars characters. You get 5 figures in total and they are all new releases. The two small Probe Droids are rather nice but very basic.
Obi-Wan Kenobi comes decked out in his General's armour and is equipped with his trusty blue lightsabre.
Plo Koon is a great figure with some nice detailing on his face and comes armed with a blue lightsabre.
Asajj Ventress is a wonderful figure and comes with a black cloth skirt and her two angled handle red lightsabres.
The Clone Trooper has new detailing on the body and now has a removable helmet so you can see the clone's face underneath. The helmet has holes in the side into which you can attach rangefinders or visors. When he's not flying the ship there are 2 of the black blaster rifles for him to use.
Finally we have Clone Commander Cody. His helmet has holes in to attach a rangefinder or a visor. He has a grey waistcoat, grey shoulder pouldron and is armed with 2 grey DC-17P pistols.
The kit comprises 971 pieces (not including the figures, droids, missiles, weapons and accessories) and takes about 90 minutes to build. The Gunship measures 48 cm long (from forward gun tip to aft gun tip), has a 44 cm wingspan and stands an impressive 17.5 cm tall.
A fantastic kit and a great update of the Republic Gunship. I can see collectors combining the two to get the full accurate version of the vessel with side turrets and wing turret seats. A must have for kids and adults alike and a very welcome addition to any Republic army.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engineering for kids, 4 Feb. 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
This is a great model! BUT you need to be patient and follow the (good) diagramatic instructions carefully. Spent almost three hours Xmas day assembling it - well worth it though as finished model is great! My son has spent hours delivering troops and supplies to far flung reaches of different galaxies......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attack those Federation starships quickly!, 21 Nov. 2009
By 
Enigma "Enigma-85" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
The LAAT/i Republic Gunship was one of the most unusually designed and iconic vessels in the prequel trilogy. First making its dramatic appearance during the Battle of Geonosis, arriving just in time to save the necks of the surviving Jedi in the Petranaki Arena, these ships then went on to cause mayhem in the ensuing desert fight. Variants of the LAAT/i have since appeared throughout the new 'Clone Wars' animated series, on which this model is based.

LEGO has crafted a convincing replica of the formidable vessel, with startling attention to detail. It took me over five hours to build (I was in no rush, and took breaks), and I wouldn't suggest that children at the lower range of the age bracket be left to build it on their own, for I doubt if they'd have the patience to finish it. There are several tricky parts during the construction which may prove overly challenging for younger children or inexperienced builders, though the majority of the process is reasonably typical of a LEGO set and the use of TECHNIC parts is kept to a minimum (compared to other sets in the range anyway). There are some stickers to apply - including two different nose art designs, allowing for some degree of customisation.

Superbly capturing the minutia of their on-screen muse, LEGO have certainly managed to eke every ounce of skill from their designers with this set. Clever techniques have been used to create an incredibly similar hull configuration to that of the original, with its lines mimicked well. The doors to the troop transport bay make use of TECHNIC parts to open smoothly, with an authentic motion, though the forward half of the doors must be opened manually. There is plenty of playability involved, as every inch of the vessel has been utilised - a removable command centre is located in the forward compartment, with a bacta tank just behind it. A top compartment opens to reveal a pair of small probe droids, while a rear compartment allows a speederbike to disembark. There are four small compartments, two on either side, just above the main troop bay to store weapons and accessories.

Armed to the teeth, the LAAT/i gunship has two ball turrets on its bow, with a third at the rear, just above the speederbike hatch. On the top, set between the wings, are a pair of moveable missile cells replete with a total of eight flick-fire missiles. As a rule I have always taken a disliking to these missiles, but they are there as an option and add to the detail.

The Republic Gunship isn't quite as fragile as some reviews have been indicating, but then, I am an adult and have been gentle with the finished piece. Holding it with two hands from beneath (taking care to avoid placing too much pressure against the middle, just beneath the troop transport bay, which is definitely one of its weakest points) will allow for some degree of lethargic 'swooshing', but it is definitely true that too much vigour will cause problems. Younger children might be disappointed, especially as the set may be a little heavy for them to fly it around. Anyone with spare 6x4 stud (or similar) plates might consider applying them liberally to the underbelly of this beast to provide a little extra stability.

In addition, the front two ball turrets will come off frequently. The cockpits, both on the front and on the wings, are fastened to their hinges via studs rather than clips, and it is advised that you press a finger down on the connection when opening and closing them, or they will come loose.

The Republic Gunship is a masterpiece, there is no other word for it. But in their drive for aesthetic authenticity, LEGO have sacrificed structural integrity. As a display model, or the toy of a careful child (or adult!), it is perfect. In the hands of a young child or careless swoosher, however, things may well come to pieces quickly.

A regular Clone Trooper, Commander Cody (exclusive), Jedi Masters Obi-Wan Kenobi (exclusive) and Plo Koon (exclusive), and Dark Jedi Asajj Ventress accompany the Gunship. This, in my mind, is the biggest downfall here - more Clone Troopers would have been lovely, for there are four cockpits to fill and you still need soldiers to deploy as well! While the Clone Troopers, Plo Koon (his detailed rubber head being the star of the show) and Ventress are all wonderfully detailed, Kenobi could use some work - the expression on his face is daft, and the rear of his torso has no detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome model, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
J. ROBERTS-WRAY (Pilton, Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
I bought this set on behalf of my 11 year old son, who is a bit of a Lego Star Wars fan. It took him about a day to make. He really liked it as it had a lot of detail, and enough characters. (More characters means more play value). He said it would have been better with more Clones. The best of the Lego Star Wars models he has made ( he also has the Imperial Star Destroyer, Jabba's Sail Barge, MTT, Rebel Battle Pack....). All the Lego models like this are expensive, but this is better value than some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The ship that falls apart, 4 Jun. 2009
By 
Steve Georgiou (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
Instructions are good, well packed, though numbered bags would have been helpfull so we did not have to sort the whole contents in one go.

My 8 year old son loved it, but it just kept falling apart. I spent a further two hours changing pieces and strengthening the ship.

Lego must understand these are not just models but toys, my eight year old wants to pick it up and play with it. For a sake a of a few more peices they let lego down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When it breaks, it breaks, 12 Jun. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
It's a really good toy, you get a good few set of minifugures from it and when you combine it with the various £10 battle packs you get a really good combination. The little speeder bike that comes with it was good, however when I bought mine from the LEGO store one of the pieces was broken and I had to resort to using bluetac on the speeder to fix this.

Overall, I'd give the set 5 stars; it's fun and it's durable. My only criticism is, although it's durable, when the win section breaks off (believe me, it will), it's quite hard to repair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good support from LEGO, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
I. Graham (NE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
This kept little fingers busy for two days solid.

Halfway through construction we discovered that some pieces were missing. My grandson has had a lot of LEGO kits and this is the first time there has been a problem. I entered the details on the LEGO website and the parts were sent, no quibble, no charge.

Fortunately, the missing bits were peripheral and he was able to virtually complete the model before they arrived. And I was treated to an enthusiastic demonstration of opening hatches, swivelling turrets and little droidy things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Starwars Republic Attack Gunship, 22 Sept. 2009
A Kid's Review
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
Another great product from Lego. This didn't fail to feed my son's imagination and building skills. He is ten years old and put it together unaided. It took him just over a day to complete. The set had a fair number of action figures which is always a consideration when buying Lego as the figures can be interchanged and used in all sorts of imaginary play. We had a very happy boy!LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic attack gunship, 28 Sept. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
This is a great toy appart from a few things.

CONS.

lego got commander cody all wrong ...
the cockpit glass falls of...
the front turrets fall when you try to aim them forwards...

PROS.

you can fit over 20 minifigs in it.
its very big and is great scale.
you can get a speeder bike in the back.

this set is one of lego's biggest selers along with the turbo tank
and i think it is great. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Silence, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
GS1 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship (Toy)
This was a request from family members who live in Europe. It was a reward for good work, and kept the kids Silent for Hours!!!
It certainly looked impressive when fully built!! Would happily add to the collection if requested.
Delivery was very fast, with no problems at all. So would be happy to order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Star Wars 7676 Republic Attack Gunship
Used & New from: £145.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews