Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too cool
This is a review for the Bluray. Somehow I have managed to go through life without ever seeing Cool Hand Luke. Despite hearing my wife go on and on about eggs, I had still missed it. I bought the Bluray on an Amazon special offer a couple of months ago, and we have just got around to watching it. I'm now sitting here wondering why on earth I waited so long...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Mr. James West

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newman is super-cool... but not much else
Version I watched: UK Bluray release
Actors: 7/10
Plot/script: 6/10
Photography/visual style: 6/10
Music/score: 6/10
Overall: 6/10

Paul Newman is a screen icon, and this is one of his early roles, before he grew his trademark moustache. It's a pretty seminal film, being referenced and drawn from by generations afterward.
The...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. R. A. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too cool, 31 July 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cool Hand Luke [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a review for the Bluray. Somehow I have managed to go through life without ever seeing Cool Hand Luke. Despite hearing my wife go on and on about eggs, I had still missed it. I bought the Bluray on an Amazon special offer a couple of months ago, and we have just got around to watching it. I'm now sitting here wondering why on earth I waited so long.

Despite some good supporting roles this film belongs to Paul Newman. Although the acting and dialogue is variable, Paul Newman's cheerful, non-conformist character is absolutely iconic. I thought he was good in The Hustler, but I would say this is right up there, and possibly even shades it. You keep willing him to escape, to win, whilst knowing that he isn't going to. I started off thinking - rarely can anyone have paid such a heavy price for destroying municipal property- then realised, actually that wasn't what he was punished for, it was for refusing to play by the rules. Although the film was over two hours long it didn't try to do everything. It left gaps for you to fill in yourself, and was all the stronger for that. An example was, after he was caught destroying parking meters, we didn't see him again until he arrived at the prison.

It has a great tagline as well:- "What we've got here is failure to communicate."

Picture Quality was very good. I often find scenery works best in HD, but here close-ups of faces were detailed and memorable. Watch out particularly for scenes reflected in the mirrored sunglasses of a warden. Colours were strong and natural looking with skin tones working well. It is presented in 2.4:1 so you are looking at it being letter-boxed on a widescreen TV, but that is how it was intended to be seen, and suits the film very well.

Audio Quality is much weaker. Dolby Digital is the best offering, and I had to fiddle with the sound control several times. Even when the dialogue isn't being overwhelmed it is sometimes slightly muffled and flat. I had particular difficulty picking out the words of some songs.

Largely as a result of the audio I found rating difficult. I think it deserves four and a half stars, but it's such a good film, and the picture is so good, that I finally plumped for five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Hand Luke, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To call `Cool Hand Luke' a classic is a vast understatement. I saw this a few days ago on TV and was hooked within the first fifteen minutes and as I was unable to finish watching it I bought it straight away and I know already that this will be one film I will watch again and again. This has an amazing performance from Paul Newman as Luke, a loner who refuses to bow to the might of authority, whether it be in society or in the prison he is sent to. He manages to inspire his fellow inmates with his humour and quiet dignity in the face of the warders cruelty and you can't help but connect with his character. This has many memorable scenes and the egg eating scene is wonderfully funny and yet others scenes are especially poignant and emotional. The direction is pretty good, if a little dated and stylised, but this only adds to the character and classic nature of the film on offer. The supporting cast are very good in this film and the entire ensemble elevate this film from being merely good to being great. This also has an excellent 'making of' documentary included on the extras. Having heard a lot about this film over the years and never having seen it I am delighted I finally have and I can honestly see what all the fuss is about. This has style, a great story, many famous lines and scenes and a wonderful anti establishment feel that makes you feel mildly rebellious just by watching it. Highly recommended indeed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand', 14 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Buckley "peter15115" (Dyfed, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Paul Newman stars as the loner who will not conform to the arbitrary, oppressive rules of his prison captivity. As the film opens, Luke is using a pipe cutter to cut the tops off of parking meters. He is drinking, but not violent. When the police arrive, he is arrested. He is tried, and sentenced to two years in prison.
There is no dream of victory or success, any moral mission or revenge, but detached indifference, and a life lived on his terms. Co-author Donn Pearce spent two years on a chain gang, and the result is a grim, unflinching portrayal of `man's inhumanity to man'.
On the chain gang, Luke encourages the other prisoners, by his own attitude and energy, to excel at their menial tasks. This builds camaraderie among the prisoners. They are forced to shovel sand over a freshly tarred road, and perform the job with zeal and a sense of competition, and complete the job early, to the amazement of the guards. This is a high point in the story.
George Kennedy (as Dragline) heads the cast of fellow prisoners who express the full range of human emotion at Luke and his actions; pity, contempt, fear, disgust, but also as the story unfolds, outright admiration, hero worship, genuine comradeship and sympathy.
In my view, the success of the story lies in the effect Luke has on his fellow prisoners. Champion is just the role he does not want, he yells at them `you're all feeding off me!'
In a confined world where normal human values were conspicuously absent, Luke stands as a contrast, but in a mirror of the world today, does not stand for anything in a sense. At his third escape attempt, when he and we, his audience, knew he would die, he repeats the captains earlier words. `What we've got here is.. a failure to communicate!'
The nihilistic message of this film is compelling. In its conclusion we see and hear Luke, sheltering in a church, shouting at God for the seeming indifference to his, and by extension, mankinds, woes. Because, for me at least, this vital question raised is the often asked `why do bad things happen to good people?' I was reminded of how a number of individuals directly involved in the events of the Nazi holocaust have written with a spirit of the same tenacity as Luke, (such as Max Liebster in `Crucible of Terror') but with a clear understanding of what they were challenging and why. This is the reason hope is so important to us, although seemingly absent for Luke. A quote from the `Shawshank Redemption', another prison film that deals with these issues, `You have got to have hope, without it, life is pointless'.
A film to make you think, it deserves true classic status, a tribute to the late Paul Newman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent filmmaking, 4 Sep 2006
By 
H. Feddern "demideniro" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cool Hand Luke [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Cool Hand Luke is yet again proof of Paul Newman's iconic status as a actor. Given the fact Newman was 42 when this film was made, one has to acknowledge that he was something special and cinema rarely has produced such actors with such a raw charisma, such a warmth and presence in front of the camera.

This film is up there with 'The Sting' and 'Butch Cassidy' in terms of classic Newman. The script and characterisation is just as entertaining and quirky as anything else Newman has appeared in.

Cool Hand Luke is more an analysis in the pride of the male ego and the systematic attempt to break it. It takes many twists and turns, but Luke always seems to have to edge over the system, his inmates and its tyrannical guards and wardens. Although its ending may seem not the one the audience could have wished for, Newman plays his role with such vigour and energy that really it doesnt matter what ending this film has - its just fun watching someone as good as Newman in a film as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The highlight of a glittering career, 13 Aug 2009
By 
The film that, personally, is the pinnacle of Paul Newman's career. Funny, poignant, inspiring, rebellious and a true cinematic classic, Cool Hand Luke is the story of Luke, a war veteran in prison for vandalism. He acts as a rebel within the camp and becomes a hero to his fellow inmates for his "guts", despite his laid back and unsociable nature. By standing up to the authorities and escaping three times from the prison, Luke is one of the great anti-heroes, a character symbolic of the culutral struggles between the generations that occupied contemporary thought.

Cool Hand Luke is a must see for all who appreciate cinema; full of great lines, fabulous acting, a inspired script and is a film that deserves to be in the echelons of the all-time hollywood classics, comparable to greats such as The Godfather, Casablanca, One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest and Raging Bull. See it now or truly miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia for my youth, 5 Sep 2010
Cool Hand Luke (Deluxe Edition) [DVD] [1967]

I saw this film in my twenties. I wanted to replace my VHS version with a DVD. I have always been a great fan of Paul Newman and this is probably my favourite film of his. It's the story of a young rebel in the US, who goes out on a drunken spree one night and vandalizes some parking meters, just for a lark. He ends up being sentenced to work on a chain-gang. A very harsh and inappropriate sentence. There is a very moving scene where he says goodbye to his elderly, sick mother, brilliantly played by the wonderful Jo Van Fleet. Luke sets to work on the chain-gang amongst bullying prison warders and co-prisoners, carrying out soul destroying hard-labour tasks. He isn't as physically strong as most of the other prisoners, but his plucky spirit eventually endears him to one of the bullying prisoners, played by George Kennedy and there is a reversal of feeling. Luke becomes a mascot to the other prisoners and tries to meake a getaway. I won't spoil the ending. Be prepared to get a hanky out from time to time. A moving classic from the Sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirationally cool, 4 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cool Hand Luke [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"What we've got here is failure to communicate!". The prision warden says this as he tries to humiliate and break Paul Newman's character Luke.
Luke is the hero of the prison population for his non-conformative style. This is an awe inspiring film with some truely great pieces of character acting. Paul Newman and George Kennedy are the two main stars, with Strother Martin strong as the warden. Kennedy is the prision hard man, who just can't get the better of Luke in a bare knuckle prison yard scrap. Luke just won't stay down. The scenes as the two work on the chain gangs are some of the best in the film.
Pual Newman is immense as the con who just won't reform. He has never ever done as he was told, and won't now, even in when beaten and tested to the physical limits in jail. When his mother dies, Luke begins a spiral towards self destruction, questioning everything from the system to God.
Luke is the anti-establishment hero that so many of our modern actors try to portray but are left not even fit to polish Newan's dusty prison boots.
Sharp filming and clever use of music make this a film that rises above most. It is so good it is well worth watching again and again.
"He had that ole Luke smile". Cool as you like Luke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever made, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: Cool Hand Luke [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Definitely one of the best films of all time, great acting, very funny and sad, what more could anybody want from a film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What we got here is... failure to communicate., 9 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
What we got here is... failure to communicate.

It starts with Luke cutting the heads of parking meters whilst he is drunk. He gets two years in a work farm penitentiary which I thought was a bit harsh.

He decides not to conform and plays it cool whilst going against the authorities.

He takes on the leader, Dragline and doesn't give up even though he is outclassed in a boxing match.

This makes him a hero of the cons. He doesn't want it but it puts him under a lot of pressure to become their role model.

He plays a game of cards and wins although he has nothing in his hand . Luke comments that "sometimes nothing can be a real cool hand," and Dragline gives him the nickname "Cool Hand Luke."

When he is pushed for one of his escapes he is put in the cooler and and the guards apologises and say , it is just my job.

Nah - calling it your job don't make it right, Boss.

When he has feet of clay they turn against him. He pretends to give in to the authorities then sets up another escape.The system doesn't beat him and he remains a hero of the other cons they can talk about after he has been and gone , a legend

It is an excellent performance by Paul Newman as he is coolness personified and the performance of when he goes into the cooler is very reminiscent of Steve Mc Queen's performance in The Great Escape.

The only criticism I would have it was that it is a bit of a slow film but it is beautifully filmed but the action is slow to build.

It is worth the effort and I can see why it is a classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Communication Breakdown, 16 Oct 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sadly Paul Newman has now died. This is one of his very best films. Despite his good looks and charm, he frequently played loners or outsiders - this is a classic example. Here he stars as Luke along with a marvellous cast in a prison gang film set in the deep south. Luke is a former war hero who when very drunk one night starts damaging parking meters (the very beginning of the film) and ends up serving time. Although apparently a very laid back character, the death of his mother changes Luke's attitude and the film hinges on this critical moment.

I've always enjoyed the film in the past on TV, but was too young to have seen it at the cinema first time round. So to see it now on DVD, in widescreen, on a large TV only emphasised just how good it really is. There are many classic scenes, the most famous of which is the car wash (for the men anyway), and the attempt to eat 50 boiled eggs. Quite a few others will leave an impression on you as well.

Its Newmans film all the way but George Kennedy (still alive at the time of writing) pushes him close as 'dragline' in the acting honours. Also listen out for Lalo Schifrin's (Jazz Pianist and Film/TV Score writer - most famously Mission Impossible) superbly atmospheric music as well.

The film is currently rank 118 in the IMDB list of the top 250 films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cool Hand Luke [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free]
Cool Hand Luke [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] by Stuart Rosenberg (Blu-ray - 2008)
£6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews