Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way except price
I had to buy a new printer as my old Canon i865 was not Vista compatible. My shortlist was the Canon Pixma iP4500 and this Canon Pixma iP100. Both featured excellent photo quality printing, and were comparable in print speeds. The only major differences were size (the iP100 being considerably smaller), and purchase/running cost (the iP100 being considerably more...
Published on 30 Aug 2008 by Small Scale

versus
91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware - ink cartridges very hard to come by in the UK!!
I bought this printer about 6 months ago and have no gripes about quality or speed, this printer is excellent. My one problem with this printer, and it is a huge problem for me as I need to be able to use my printer at all times, is that you simply cannot find the cartridges for this printer in any high street stores in the UK. They do not stock them. You have to either...
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by H. Lyons


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way except price, 30 Aug 2008
By 
Small Scale "small_scale" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
I had to buy a new printer as my old Canon i865 was not Vista compatible. My shortlist was the Canon Pixma iP4500 and this Canon Pixma iP100. Both featured excellent photo quality printing, and were comparable in print speeds. The only major differences were size (the iP100 being considerably smaller), and purchase/running cost (the iP100 being considerably more expensive on both).

I bought the iP100 because of its tiny desktop footprint, and have not been disappointed. The photo printing quality is just superb. Canon claims it is "photo lab" quality given its 1 picolitre droplet size, and I can only endorse this claim. It's no slow-coach either on photo printing. Trustedreviews.com recently reviewed the iP100 (and the iP4500) and found the print speeds pretty much identical on 4x6, 5x7, and A4 print sizes. So, "bigger" doesn't necessarily equate to "faster".

The only other thing to note is that the iP100 is actually what Canon describe as a portable printer. It weighs around 2kg and is easily carried around with just one-hand.

My one gripe ?? Canon still DON'T enclose a USB A-B cable in the box, so if you haven't got one already, you can't print from your PC/laptop straight away. When I spend 165 quid on a printer, I expect them to include a 2 quid cable as well, especially when this is essential to use the product - sort it out, Canon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing I have purched this year, plus top tips., 8 Nov 2009
By 
C. R. Scott (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
This is a really excellent printer, forget it doesn't come with a usb cable, buy a cheap usb dongle for less than a tenner from Amazon and bingo, wireles printing (if your laptop has bluetooth).The bluetooth dongle canon sell is over £50 I'm sure it works fine, but why spend more money than you need. I tried micro bluetooth dongles and while they can be left in full time, they are a tad slow, just get a normal size one and you're away. I got my printer with the optional battery so it is truly wireless, the battery lasts a long time too. Ok the cartridges aren't that easy to find on the high street, but when you can get genuine replacements from amazon for less than a fiver why worry, buy three at a time and it's still cheaper than one from Smiths. I can even print photos wirelessly from my phone and because it's super small it fits in my laptop bag easily.
If you need portable printing then this is the one for you, if you don't need portable printing get something cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware - ink cartridges very hard to come by in the UK!!, 14 Aug 2009
By 
H. Lyons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
I bought this printer about 6 months ago and have no gripes about quality or speed, this printer is excellent. My one problem with this printer, and it is a huge problem for me as I need to be able to use my printer at all times, is that you simply cannot find the cartridges for this printer in any high street stores in the UK. They do not stock them. You have to either order the cartridges (this is sometimes impossible as Canon often run out and cannot supply retailers) from the store, or order them online and pay for delivery. It's very annoying and Canon claim they have no control over which inks retailers stock. So, be warned; fantastic printer, but you may be unable to find the cartridges for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool, but I expected better, 5 May 2010
By 
Sarakani (Harrow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
I guided myself using the reviews here and convinced myself that this was a good printer. The price of this printer has dropped significantly since its release that makes it a better buy. If you want a good looking, compact printer that has wireless and battery capability this is certainly a contender. As for ink cartridges, yes, you can't buy them in shops but it is pretty straightforward to get them online.

The biggest problem with this printer was that the paper jammed frequently and paper was nicked at the top. When the paper failed to get pulled in, the printer carried on printing and dumping ink regardless. If I asked it to print pages 1-10, it sometimes did 7 of these pages while pretending to have done 10 given the paper never got dragged in, and it printed into itself, the ink getting into the overflow sponge. This printer could not handle large jobs at all without missing paper and messing up.

Considering the reviews, I decided to complain under warranty terms and had an onsite repair guy. He replaced the printer engine unit and now it seems to work OK. Subsequently the battery stopped working. Canon said this was not under warranty so I had to buy a replacement. Perhaps a foolish indulgence. Please note that the battery may not be covered under warranty so you will have to replace it if it breaks down at your own expense of £70 or up to $130.

I obtained a Bluetooth adapter model HK-760 (Bluetooth V. 2, USB 2) with a green housing and black casing. I took out the housing and the casing leaving just the circuit board with the USB plug and have fitted in within the housing of the printer under "panel A" the side panel that incorporates the power socket. Though slower than wired, I am now rewarded with wifi printing and this adapter was cheaper than the BU30 supplied by Canon for the purpose of wifi printing. Don't buy any Bluetooth adapter unless you test it first. My mentioning the model does not constitute a recommendation. I am using this printer withe a Macbook Pro.

Overall a neat printer though the expense may be considerable to replace the battery and get cartridges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE THE HIDDEN SERVICING COSTS, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
Never saw it mentioned in any of the literature for this printer but in due course it will stop working with an error message of alternating amber and green lights indicating that the "Waste Ink Tank" is full. This requires return to a canon service centre at a cost of around £75 to fix. I've NEVER had to have this done on any other printer.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compact simple A4 photo printer, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Chris Rust (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
I've been struggling to find a printer that could reliably handle a variety of media, eg thick card, and do good quality images. Most printers are way too complicated and increasingly they just fail completely when asked to print on anything slightly unusual (like double-sided leaflet paper or postcard/business card blanks). So I sent back my latest sub £100 all-singing printer in disgust and bought this rather expensive portable printer, partly because I previously had an ancient ip80 which I bought second hand and lasted very well untill I left it too long without use and the print head clogged.

It's very simple, you put paper in the top and print comes out the front, so it's a direct paper path with no fancy options but I've used it for printing on thick card and (manual) double sided print with no problems. The print quality is superb, even on the standard setting it's better than the slow high quality setting on the Brother printer I've been trying, it's quite fast enough and the only glitch has been that it won't feed a thick card if it's the last sheet in the tray, so as long as there's a few sheets behind to lift it slightly it seems fine.

So a simple printer, so small it takes up no space in my small home office, works beautifully and we'll be taking it touring in our little caravan to print photos and keep up with other stuff while on a long trip. Some have complained about the cost of battery etc but unless you want to print off invoices in the middle of a field it's not an issue. If you shop around you can buy a 12V multi-adaptor that will power this or a laptop in your car and isn't expensive.

Great that Canon are continuing the tradition of portable printers going back to the BJ10. There was a time when all bubble jet printers were as simple and compact as this. Something has gone badly wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Canon's best,very expensive inks, 9 Dec 2010
By 
Meirion Williams (Neath:South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
I already own an Epson R 2400 printer for my main work but needed a small portable printer that i could carry around with my laptop.Having owned Canon printers in the past and there being very few truly portable printers around i chose this model.A bit of a mistake.Its paper feed is a constant problem.For every 20 sheets (80 gms) printed 4 to 6 would be scrap.I have tried 70gsm & 100gsm paper with the same results.Not so many problems with photo papers.It uses ink at a prodigious rate.The cartridges are VERY expensive & do not hold a lot of ink.They are also difficult to get hold of.On the plus side it does print to a high standard but at a cost.If you are prepared to use 3rd party ink try [...] their inks cost two thirds less than the Canon cartridges for this model.Overall the price is far to high for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly portable and great quality, 29 Jan 2011
By 
Graham Fairclough (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
The other reviewers have made all the points that I'd also make, so I won't repeat them.
The main reason I bought this printer was that I travel internationally for work a lot and it's occasionally helpful to have a portable printer to set up in the hotel room. This printer is light and extremely fast. The print catridges don't last a hugely long time and are unlikely to be available in your local Currys Digital, but they're easy to get hold of online. As a second printer for travel use, it's exceptionally suited to purpose. One of my favourite bits of kit, in fact. I've had mine for a year and it's still working wonderfully despite being slung around a lot in checked luggage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blooming Brilliant, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Mr Phillip Wayne Evans (Ammanford, Carmarthenshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
This little printer is amazing. It is light to carry and produces excellent pictures in seconds. Very pleased with it and the ink cartridges are cheap and last well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This version does not come with a battery included, 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer (Office Product)
This version does not come with a battery included

Amazon need to make this clear on the listing information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon Pixma iP100 Portable Inkjet Printer
£206.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews