Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic
I have owned this album in Vinyl since 1973, and IMHO is the best of the original 7 Moodies Albums recorded with Justin Hayward and John Lodge. The segue from "Procession" to "Story in Your Eyes" sends a tingle up my spine every time I hear it and the fade out to "My Song" is just superb; little wonder some odd folks thought of the Moodies as of another world. But the...
Published on 19 July 2010 by C. G. Stidder

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great album, but SACD mix could've been better
The music is great, the SACD multichannel had an overloaded mix of the bass. I was hoping for a better mix, closer to the excellent original vinyl sound.
Published 12 months ago by Karl L.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
I have owned this album in Vinyl since 1973, and IMHO is the best of the original 7 Moodies Albums recorded with Justin Hayward and John Lodge. The segue from "Procession" to "Story in Your Eyes" sends a tingle up my spine every time I hear it and the fade out to "My Song" is just superb; little wonder some odd folks thought of the Moodies as of another world. But the best track has to be "You Can Never Go Home", just brilliant; I can't understand why this track has never appeared on a Moodies compilation.
This remaster is excellent, increasing clarity but losing none of the warmth of Tony Clarke's original production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High on the scale, 7 Aug 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
Desoite their sometime 'prog' reputation, The Moody Blues were mainly about three minute songs. On 'EGBDF' they began to stretch the tracks out a bit further than before, but remained a song-based band. Their tendency to play tricks at the start of their albums resurfaces here. 'Procession', which appears to be a short history of evolution, is as much a work of modern art as a piece of music. Although elements of it are reprised on John Lodge's superb 'One More Time To Live', the rest of the album is straightforward Moody Blues, albeit in the usual diversity of musical styles.

Justin Hayward, their most consistent writer, delivers once again, particularly with the fast 'The Story In Your Eyes'. Ray Thomas also excels with the dignified 'Our Guessing Game'. His 'Nice To Be Here' is a little lightweight for me, as is Lodge's 'Emily's Song', though the latter appears to be popular with most fans. Graeme Edge, for once not limited to his poetry, offers one of his best efforts in 'After You Came'. Mike Pinder's six-minute 'My Song' provides a very satisfying conclusion. As ever, a beautifully-crafted album, though I can't quite give it full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite Moody Blues album..........i think., 25 Jan 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
From the release of their debut album "Days Of Future Passed" in 1967 till 1972,s "Seventh Sojourn " The Moody Blues produced seven excellent albums. Arguably the best of the lot (Some days i myself would plump for "Our Childrens Childrens Children") is "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour" their sixth. It was the first Moody Blues album i became intimately familiar with after filching it my fathers collection and every time i hear the incremental intro to "Procession" i want to hear the complete album with no interruptions thank you very much.
As with most Moodies albums the song writing , playing and production (Courtesy of the ever present Tony Clarke) are top notch. The largely instrumental "Procession" is piece of music designed to describe the history of music from the beginning of time till the present day and is also the first song written by the entire band. It segues brilliantly with the lightning bolt electricity of "The Story In Your Eyes" , one of the bands greatest songs and for a Justin Hayward penned track a surprisingly up-tempo experience. Ray Thomas also provides one if his strongest songs with "Our Guessing Game", a track that highlights the bands outstanding intricate vocal and harmony work.
Again we see a change of perception with John Lodge who usually wrote the bands more rock orientated songs contributing "Emily,s Song"- written for his newly born daughter and its a lovely tippling ballad hat crucially avoids mawkishness. "After You Came" written by Graham Edge returns to the albums central dramatic precept.Built around a stop/start arrangement that feels slightly rushed and once again is shot through with scorching blasts of Hayward's guitar. "One More Time To Live" is the sort of monumental ballad that Justin Hayward would ordinarily write but Lodge again out of character writes. It,s an audacious song and under appreciated for it,s use of an extended middle eight and multi layered vocal work. Without doubt the most ambitious song on the album it,s lyrics culminating in "Salvation, communication, compassion" resonates through the years.What follows rather bizarrely in the context of the music is Ray Thomas,s "Nice To Be Here" which is a lilting hugely melodic ditty about animals playing instruments and consequently comes across as a more sophisticated "Frogs Chorus". Now its , normally the sort of thing i would rather bash my head with breeze blocks than listen to this sort of tweeness but this is oddly charming and beguiling song and is lyrically quite clever.....and you will be whistling it for days
The tone turns more portentous and darker with Hayward's brooding ballad "You Can Never Go Home", a song which again showcases again his , in my opinion, hugely under rated vocal prowess. Mike Pinder writes the not surprisingly mellotron heavy "My Song"( Incidentally "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour" was the last Moodies album to feature the mellotron- they used the Chamberlin- a similar instrument on the next album) a swirling eddying exhortation for universal love and acceptance .
A great band -How many bands can you think of where every member writes the songs and sings as well as The Moody Blues do?......The Beatles?....Oasis ?(joke). That were never better than they were with "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour" and they were pretty damm good up till then. I,its a mature album exploring metaphysical themes that still retains a glistening commercial sheen but without becoming compromised by it. It,s diverse thematically and musically too and is just a joy to listen to from beginning to end. If you have,nt already do yourself a favour and give it a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Moodies album, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
I regard this album, which I discovered in the early 70s, as an absolute masterpiece. It was a definite milestone, in fact turning point, on my own musical journey from late 60s soul/Motown to all that lay beyond. Although all of the Moodies' famous, late 60s/early 70s, "pre-Moraz", first seven albums (featuring Mike Pinder at his mellotronic best) show the band combining together, assisted by Tony Clarke's prodigious production skills, to create a unique sound and amazing music,(and I would recommend anyone to include them all in their music collection), this is for me the album that represents their coming of age and very best work. It is creative, progressive, mature and seriously good. Not a single weak track, lots of variety, and all segueing from one to the next, naturally and seamlessly. Because it is more profound and less instantly commercial than some of their other work, it is one of those that seeps into your brain after a few listens, and eventually, you may find, like me, that it holds a special place in your affections. A real "grower". I can say without hesitation that it would be the one album from the Moodies' entire catalogue that I would have to include in my Desert Island top 10 - and probably ahead of such must-haves as Sgt Pepper, Abbey Road, Dark Side of the Moon, Rumours, OK Computer and Beethoven's 9th. If you like crashing guitars, soaring, symphonic mellotron and unforgettable melodies, this is the one for you. It is the Moodies' album that is most similar to the classic Barclay James Harvest and King Crimson albums of the same era. Listen to it when you have the time to soak up its atmosphere, preferably late at night in a darkened room.
Seventh Sojourn was most certainly a worthy successor, though very different in character. It is good in recent years to see the Moodies now aiming to recapture some of that old mellotronic sound and atmospheric, "tingle-factor" quality in their music (particularly after some of the mistakes of the 1980s). I was particularly amazed, gratified and impressed to hear them on their last tour successfully performing "One More Time to Live" (track 1, second side of EGBDF), which I had always thought to be too difficult to perform well live. Whether their work will ever ascend to the elevated height of EGBDF remains to be seen - it may depend on whether Justin, John and Graeme still have the artistic and creative drive, and the desire to really SERIOUSLY reward their many fans, by teaming up again with Mike Pinder (sadly not Tony Clarke - R.I.P.). Like so many bands of the past, that have been composed of several individual, contrasting but complimentary artistic talents (e.g. Beatles, Floyd, BJH, Mac, Who, Zeppelin) theirs was a very special and magical combination while they were together, each contributing something indefinable. They struck gold and could again - Justin and John's songwriting still cuts the mustard, and I assume that Mike's spirituality (sorely missed in the post "Octave" albums) is still intact. Anyway, I'm waffling - play it six times and you'll be hooked for life (like I was)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best from the Best?, 8 July 2007
By 
M. Jones (Hereford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the best offering from the best band in the world. Each and every track is a classic, with the Story In Your Eyes the best single that never was. I have aspired to a hi fi that would do justice to this track and deliver the guitar work as it was meant to be heard. I think I'm there now. Why on earth didn't they release this as a single in the UK? This album is the band at their peak with other tracks of merit including After You Came and the wonderful One More Time To Live. Wall to wall quality with no duff offerings here. Perhaps the best introduction to the band for those taking the plunge for the first time. Highly recommended to all considering a Moodies album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a high point of their career, 8 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
For me, this is where it all clicks, the Moody Blues hit the right mix of tunes, lyrics and inventiveness.
Every song oozes confidence in their own ability, while still retaining the risk-taking and imagination that has long since gone from their work.
Great album from the first to the last track, the bonus stuff is even a welcome addition instead of the usual "filler".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A technical note about this release, 22 May 2007
By 
Ludix (Upton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
The Amazon UK specifications for this disc claim that it requires SACD hardware for playback.

Luckily, this is a HYBRID disc. It contains a conventional stereo CD audio track, playable on any CD player in the world, TOGETHER with high-resolution SACD tracks in stereo and 5.1 surround.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story in Your Eyes reprise makes it twice as nice, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
The seamless progression from Procession to The Story in Your Eyes affords an ideal segue for this all too brief but resounding collection of tracks. Like the EGBDF music scale, the songs build and resonate one upon the other, sometimes epically, then somberly, always provocatively complex. The additional 37 seconds worth of The Story in Your Eyes is welcome ... more guitar work to savor. Instrumentation consistently shares a level playing field with lyrics and harmonies. Also interesting is the inclusion of The Dreamer, a first appearance for the Hayward/Thomas collaboration. Still the sort of lofty stuff that pleases and leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And it is Deserved, 19 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
The swirling melodies return as the band seem to ramp things up again after the relative sparseness of the previous album. There are some corkers here with the band proving vocally very strong indeed.

There is a pastoral feel to Emily's Song - a lovely piece. Elsewhere it s whimsical trip of swirling mellotron and guitars - almost the quintessential Moody Blues sound and in many ways this was probably more representative of the whole raft of band styles than practically any other album. Plenty of classical overtones as well with a fine ending in the form of "My Song" - this was certainly one of their strongest albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Moodly Blues album all newcomers and old fans should get !, 22 Dec 2014
This review is from: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Moody Blues album and on of best rock s music albums ever made. With this album, the Moodly Blues produced a mature sound and fine music, different than other bands in 1971 and even today. Sadly, they never recorded as fine as this one. The album begins with "Procession" a instrumental (if one can call it that way), with the wind sounding and flutes and a chorus singin some words. Surely the idea came from The Who s' Overture (from Tommy). The second song, is the hit single "The Story In Your Eyes", one of the Moodies best songs, a rock song they never achieve again. This one is followed by the lovely "Our Guessin Game", a song that should have been a inmense hit single, but was not (never releases as single).
Song number 4. "Emily's Song" is also lovely and then comes "After You Came", a fast paced song rare for the Moody Blues.
"One More Time To Live" is beautiful as are the remainder of the album " Nice To Be Here", the grandiose "You Can Never Go Home" and the original albums clores "My Song". The cd includes the 45 single version of "The Story In Your Eyes" that rock s harder than the album version and a Mike Pinder unreleased gem "The Dreamer". Why a song as good as this one remainde unreleased ? maybe because LP time restrictions. It is a good welcome adition to this masterpiece. This is the Moodly Blues album all newcomers and old fans should get !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Good Boy Deserves Favour
Every Good Boy Deserves Favour by The Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews