Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb drama.
The three ingredients for great drama: script, acting, and direction.

This has them all. Shown on five successive nights on BBC1, some people may have missed out on what may turn out to be the drama of the year; here's your chance to catch up.

It's not at all pleasant viewing. It's in the best tradition of true 'reality' TV (not the crap that passes...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by Steve

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much blubbering but an important subject
Procedural shortcomings and other detrimental aspects for the accused in the culture of the UK's criminal justice system are very important to explore. This culture is cogently exemplified in this series. For comparison I recently watched episodes of Silk (UK), Father and Son (UK), Luther (UK), the outstanding Cannes winner The Prophet (France) and the first series of the...
Published 21 months ago by Avid reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Criminal Justice series 1 and 2 - very, very good!, 23 Sep 2010
By 
V. Janssen (Haren (Ems), Niedersachsen, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
I just finished watching Criminal Justice series 2, which I orderd immediately after watching series 1 over a three evening period. This is excellent stuff and will keep you glued to your TV-screen for a couple of nights. I ordered them seperately because I did not know there was a 2nd series. Order the box with both series, you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a powerful serie, 29 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
An all time british classic, with brilliant actors. One of the best series ive seen in years. Highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stange kind of justice, 10 May 2010
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Found myslef as gripped as when I watched it on TV, superb acting and scary storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great television!, 29 April 2010
By 
Ms. K. Parry (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series and highly recommended. A good insight into the prison system and the daily trials of the anti-hero as he awaits his trial for murder. Harrowing and detailed. A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant throughout, 29 April 2010
By 
Mr. Robin Patrick (Dunlop UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Read the the reviews prior to purchase and was not dissapointed in any way. Brutal at points, but this only added to the tension. Keeps you guessing all the way until the end and you have no idea who to believe as they all lose their credibility at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting, gripping story, realistic characters, 28 Mar 2010
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
A tale of how easily an individual can get caught up in the criminal justice system and how the results can be altered by flaws in the system, people playing the system's rules rather than looking past the superficial details of a case, the different "classes" of members of the legal profession, as well as police and prison warders having their actions controlled by others.

The casting and acting are excellent. Both Pete Postlethwaite and Ben Whishaw are excellent, but so too are many others in this drama.

It's a bleak tale, but immensely gripping. Nearly five hours of viewing in total, I watched it all in one evening. Note, however, that the 15 rating is well deserved though, so not family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criminal Justice, 27 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
This is British tv at its best.
An engrossing tale that will have you puzzling over who did it?
Very well acted by all the main players, bet you can't watch it one episode at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
J. M. Pfennig "Britlitlover" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this over the last 2 weeks on ABC in Australia - thought it was brilliant - but I've heard that the version we saw was significantly cut down (it was at most 4 hours long) Can anyone who has purchased the DVD confirm the total viewing time ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BE PREPARED TO WATCH ALL 5 EPISODES IN ONE NIGHT!, 14 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD from Amazon after watching the subsequent series with Matthew McFaddden on the BBC. We were told if we thought that was one good then get this one - we weren't disapointed. We settled down on the sofa with the idea of watching 1 episode a night over the week. 5 hours later we went to bed feeling somewhat stunned! The plot has got several twists which work really well to keep you gripped but without being over complicated. The acting by all the cast is superb. You instantly empathasis with the main character, Ben, and feel his confusion at finding himself as the prime suspect in a murder. Equally, even the small parts such as Ben's parents are wonderfully acted and as a parent give you that panicky moment of, 'this could be my son'. Of course Pete Pothelswaite is his usual excellent self. Without spoiling the ending, I thought the way it was resolved without being unrealistically sweet or over dramatic was the perfect ending to a great series. Fingers crossed they'll make more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bargin buy not to be missed, 8 Mar 2010
By 
K. E. Keschner (Dunoon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Justice [DVD] (DVD)
I did not see this when it was broadcast by the BBC and new nothing about it, came up a couple of months ago with Amazon recommends for you, going by my buying history and again they got it right, well worth the very low purchase price, I won't go over the drama etc as its all been reviewed before but it was an interesting gripping two nights watching it and so disappointed when it finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Criminal Justice [DVD]
Criminal Justice [DVD] by Ben Whishaw (DVD - 2008)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews