Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and entertaining. Easy industrial history
This series will appeal to many people, not just walkers and not just those with an interest in Britain's industrial heritage. The subject matter cleverly encompasses both subject matters and more, including some natural history and sociology from the last hundred years. By following the previously abandonded railway tracks, Julia Bradbury traces a path through the...
Published on 27 Mar 2009 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting
Would like to see more of this. Julia goes into a lot of historical facts, which are good. And the secenery is wonderful.
Published 13 months ago by Faye De Sylva


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and entertaining. Easy industrial history, 27 Mar 2009
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
This series will appeal to many people, not just walkers and not just those with an interest in Britain's industrial heritage. The subject matter cleverly encompasses both subject matters and more, including some natural history and sociology from the last hundred years. By following the previously abandonded railway tracks, Julia Bradbury traces a path through the industrial and post-industrial landscape of the UK, and she meets many knowledgable local folk along the way who illuminate her path.
The photography is top-notch, and JB is an excellent, intelligent presenter. She strides through the landscape, talking to the viewer as if we are on the path alongside her. You feel included in the day's outing, almost a part of the excursion, and your travelling companion frequently spots something interesting -- an odd bird, an old tower, a deserted tunnel -- and points it out to you.
Each programme is set in a different area and following a walking trail which most viewers will be able to tackle themselves, should they feel inspired after watching. You might not want to do all of each walk, however, because some un to a dozen miles which might stretch the 'occasional' rambler. However, JB shows us where to start and finish, and points along the route where refreshments might be found; useful practical stuff!
But the core of each episode is the history of each railway line. Most were constructed during the industrial boom; some were for tourism but the majority were built to carry freight from the rural wilderness to the centre of the country. In themselves, many of these railways were magnificent constructions and we see several landmark tunnels and viaducts (including one of Isambard's which failed after only 70 years or so!).
We also see how the communities were originally built alongside these railways, and how they've faded away since the Beeching Act closed down the trunk and branch lines.
Some times this series cannot help but be wistful and a little sad; the greatness that was the British railway system is all but gone. However, JB puts a positive spin upon the joy of being able to walk along the old tracks, many of them now well-maintained public footpaths, and overall each episode is a treasure.
My only grumble is that I would have enjoyed much more detail on each location and its history. For me, each episode could easily have been an hour long and kept my attention. Hence it's not quite perfect. But close!
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting up steam, 9 Nov 2008
By 
J. Tyrrell (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
The idea I suppose is to get up and active. Sitting at home in comfort I found the series a pleasing experience from a number of points of view. It combines the romance of the steam age with wonderful scenery.(Why, oh, why have these lines been dug up!! The televised series has been put in the context of the Beeching axe) The very delightful presenter, Julia Bradbury, introduces people, including her Dad, who knew the place when these walks were railways. They talk about issues affecting them. An imaginative follow up the the Wainwright walks. Now I want to get my boots on and walk the trail (or rather the bits I can still manage!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning scenery; wonderful, entertaining walks & Julia Bradbury, 11 Nov 2008
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this superb series on BBC Four and I can't wait for the DVD to come out so that I can relive the wonderful walks. A couple of the programmes covered areas of the country that I know very well and yet I was still pleasantly surprised to learn a whole raft of fascinating information and discover new places to explore. Amazing photography, stunning scenery and, as with the excellent Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set, the programmes are presented by the utterly charming Julia Bradbury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social history, geography and exercise all in one, 16 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
Not only does this wonderful DVD invite the viewer to don his or her walking boots and follow in Julia's trail, it also informs the walker as to what is (or not thanks to Dr Beeching) along the route with explanations as to why. Thanks to this series we discovered a beautiful walk in Wales that took us along Afon Mawddach from Penmaenpool to Barmouth, which finished with fantastic views inland as we crossed the famous Barmouth Bridge. Julia's excellent presentational style and charming personality grabs your attention and does not release you until the last frame of the last episode. Television at its best; I cannot commend this DVD strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent DVD for anyone intested in walks and/or railways, 7 Feb 2009
By 
R Eagles (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
I first became aware of Julia's adventures when I came across the second series of the Wainwright Walks: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set on TV. Shortly after I searched Amazon for the Wainwright Walks, during which I came across this DVD on 'Railway Walks'. This immediately grabbed me and I have to say that it doesn't disappoint.

It is made in the same ease to watch way as the Wainwright Walks, and like them is filled with information that is easy to take in. During her travels, she not only guides you through these stunning walks, but also looks at the history of the railway's which used to occupy these routes. If you're worried this could be more of a history program then a walking one, then there's no need to worry, as the two are knitted together so well, there is always something to cover both areas. But it has to be said that seeing the things that she comes across during her travels, you may become a little interested in the building, landmarks, sights, and locations that you see throughout the DVD, and they are covered with good grace. On the other hand, if you are interested in the history of railway's, and not so interested in the walking, I can guarantee that this DVD will not let you down either. And if you're interested in both, then this is frankly a must have. But to be honest, I think anyone who buys this DVD, knows what their getting and I can confirm that it will not let you down.

In short, this is an excellent DVD that gives the viewer a easy to watch look into some of the best Railway walks in the country. As Julia takes you through these walks, she looks at some of the history concerned with them, not just history relating to the lost railways, but also to the local land and areas, which I think anyone who is considering purchasing this DVD will greatly appreciate. It even includes an interesting guest appearance from her father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Railway walks, 23 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
As expected, book and DVD arrived speedily, well packaged and in good order. Husbands quote "What more can a man want, good walks, old railways lines AND Julia Bradbury"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent series - timeless., 29 Oct 2010
By 
Stuart Morris (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series illustrates well the surprisingly benign effect that the construction of the railways had on the landscape. This Blu-ray version shows stunning high definition filming at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something very relaxing, 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
Julia (who seems likeable enough to call her by her first name) gets her boots on and goes walking along disused railway lines. I much preferred this to the Wainwright walks as the programmes shows old photographs of stations and lines and also the walks are shorter. We also have lovely scenery and aerial photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best DVD of railway walks!!, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
This was truly a marvellous find - what an amazing way to present a railway walk!! Lots of history, geography and information about the former railway with archival photos, etc. The people she interviews are fascinating and their knowledge is just incredible. I loved every walk, we originally borrowed the DVD from Dad's friend but now we own it - It's that good!!!
I would recommend this DVD to anyone with an interest in railways, or who wish to know more about some fascinating parts of England that you wouldn't normally hear about!! Truly an amazing set of walks - hopefully there will be lots more where this came from!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the right tracks, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. Lister (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD is very well presented by Julia Bradbury and it brings to life some of the old lines which are still accessible as walks. With some stunning scenery and background information of the areas in question this DVD is certainly on the right lines for railway enthusiasts, and I wouldn't imagine there will be many 'sleepers' as you enjoy the footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD]
Railway Walks with Julia Bradbury [DVD] by Julia Bradbury (DVD - 2009)
6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews