Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice set of lights
Good set of lights. Easy to fit. Slightly fiddly release on front light, but overall good entry level set of lights.
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Morecambians

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cateye El130 Bike lights
Nice lights, bit small, fit well, brightness of he lights is average. Not for off road use...to dim.
Nice solid lights!
Published 21 months ago by thatboyjohn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cateye El130 Bike lights, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
Nice lights, bit small, fit well, brightness of he lights is average. Not for off road use...to dim.
Nice solid lights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice set of lights, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
Good set of lights. Easy to fit. Slightly fiddly release on front light, but overall good entry level set of lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is a light that will never go out..?, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
reasonably but not prohibitively expensive, these are a mid-range set of bike lights from a manufacturer with a reputation for quality. Both lights have two settings - flashing and still beam - the front is bright enough to show motorists that you are there but nowhere near bright enough to see the road by. After about six months my front light started switching itself off randomly and I was advised that water may have got inside the casing. On inspection I discovered this not to be the case, which is somewhat annoying as it means the light must be faulty.
The rear light has been fine but I suspect that it isn't all that powerful.
Overall a good starter set but I would recommend the Cateye EL-320 for the front instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quaity at this price point, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
Been a bit of a cheapskate in the past with bike lights - so have a drawer full of broken bits and pieces that prove that you get what you pay for. These are much more robust; the fittings are neat and cleverly designed and the lights small but perfectly formed. The supplied batteries have lasted three months intermittent use. I especially like the rear LED with the all-round design. Good quality lights suitable for urban cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
I say value for money, but actually you can see that the components won't have cost much at all. I suppose you're paying for the design and aesthetics. Having said that, they're compact, very portable and very bright. In Cambridge, where 50% of cyclists don't use any lights at all, this is an essential piece of safety kit for my teenage daughter. She also tells me that despite what others say, the front light is bright enough to light the road ahead in dark sections. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good all round lights, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. K. S. Kindleysides (W. Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
Compact units that stow in the back pack and can be fitted in seconds. Whilst they are sure to make you visible at night the front light is not intended to light up the road far ahead. You need something like the LED Lenser if you want that. Can't argue with the quality for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not sure what to put but won't let me enter review without this!!, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
On time and look ok and as expected. tested and work. havent used on my bike yet but ecpect them to be fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cateye EL130/TL130: good mid-range bike lights, with flashing option particularly useful, 15 Mar 2014
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
These Cateye cycling lights are a good mid-priced product for the recreational cyclist or commuter who wants to be seen. The front light is not bright enough to light up the road like a motorcycle headlamp; it's designed just so other road users can see you. The lights each have three settings: continuously lit, flashing, and off: the best way to ensure you're visible at night through to dawn/dusk, or on dark cloudy winter days, is to use the flashing lights.

The lights are small, lightweight and easy to fit round the bars/seat post with a torsion-strap operated by a screw-mechanism, or they may be mounted on your clothing if you prefer. No fitting tools are needed, not even a spanner. They're quite small and lightweight at 499g and don't take up much space.

A minority of reviewers claim to have experienced water leaking into the front light. I have used these lights for 10 months now and cycled in some torrential downpours, but have experienced no water ingress so I suspect in these reported cases a faulty production batch may be to blame. My lights still have the original batteries after 10 months and the lights are still bright, but my night-riding mileage is limited so maybe this is to be expected (the manufacturer claims 400 hours and 150 hours respectively for the battery life).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid value for money, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
This Cateye set is a good basic headlight/taillight combo that is easy to install and remove. Overall good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cateye El130/Tl130 Set (Sports)
Bought for my son as a gift. He was very pleased as he is able to ride to and from work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

Cateye El130/Tl130 Set
23.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews