Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dip your toe into the world of Finzi
2008 may be officially the year of Vaughan Williams - 50th anniversary of his death and all, but it also looks like being the year that Finzi takes his rightful place among the great 20th century composers of England. This is due in no small part to the excellent performances being released by Naxos, which are shaping up as the strongest set of recordings of his works yet...
Published on 28 May 2008 by Bernard Davis

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
I was disappointed with this choice of Finzi's music.
Published 4 months ago by Flutterby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dip your toe into the world of Finzi, 28 May 2008
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
2008 may be officially the year of Vaughan Williams - 50th anniversary of his death and all, but it also looks like being the year that Finzi takes his rightful place among the great 20th century composers of England. This is due in no small part to the excellent performances being released by Naxos, which are shaping up as the strongest set of recordings of his works yet released.

Finzi's music is just right for a compilation disc like this. His great strength was song writing, whether he was writing individual songs, cycles of songs, or the songs without words that most of his instrumental works in fact are. While his style flows in a classic Vaughan Williams meets Elgar kind of way the real interest is in the detail. Finzi is a master, the British master, of small scale articulation - of words and even of syllables within words. Naxos' recordings bring this out vividly.

Yes - the larger song cycles are best heard in full - as they tell developing stories over their lengths - but the individual songs from them here stand on their own. The one work that really suffers from being heard in part is the Cello Concerto - Finzi's strongest completed long orchestral work - and one in which he breaks out of his concentration on detail into the successful handling of larger musical structures. The disc ends wonderfully with the brilliantly poised end of the day music of the Eclogue for piano and strings which is excellently recorded.

I'm not the greatest fan of `Best ofs', but this one works. As Finzi's star is still rising this disc may serve a useful purpose as a stepping stone to buying his whole larger works. Mind you - if you like the classic English pastoral sound of Elgar and Vaughan Williams you can confidently buy the discs Naxos compiled this CD from. There is nothing difficult about Finzi - but nothing shallow either - his music is like a pool - you can relax by gazing at it's surface - or you can dip your toes in deeper and start to appreciate the treasures within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relax with Finzi, 7 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
I first heard Eclogue, a Finzi piece on the radio. It really moved me and I couldnt wait to hear more of his music. This CD has a lovely variety of his work and is great for listening to in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little known gem, 2 July 2010
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
Interesting music, only came accross accidentally via a radio program. This collection is probably the most essential and gives a really good impression. Well worth a go, especially as it is so well priced on Amazon...you can't lose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars late english romanticism, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
This cd contains some lovely music. Finzi is perhaps a far lesser known English composer than Britten or Vaughan Williams. So much the pity as the quality of his compositions are good and very likeable. Contains part of his famous clarinet concerto amongst others. Well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Finzi, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
I bought this because I like 'Eclogue', and wanted to know more about Finzi's work. I don't like all the tracks, but I certainly like enough of them to make it worthwhile, and I want to learn more about his work. I would recommend it as an introduction to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finzi (The Best Of) (MP3 Download)
I loved it but then I like this type of classical music. Especially the Eclogue which is what I bought it for. A good recording nicely played and conducted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous music, slightly imperfect recording., 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of Finzi's music, I love this collection.
Only disappointment was that the main track I bought this (Eclogue) for has a slight distortion occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
A lovely collection of his work. The final piano piece is one of the most gorgeous ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Finzi (Audio CD)
I was disappointed with this choice of Finzi's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Finzi
The Best of Finzi by Gerald Finzi (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews