Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whooping Great!
Each and every track here will blow your socks off. The irrepressible Little Richard absolutely blasts these songs out and yet with exquisite lyricism. He shows an immaculate sense of timing and how he manages to get the words out so quickly is beyond me. His raw, screaming voice just grabs you and won't let go. From the top speed of tracks like Tutti Frutti and Ready...
Published on 16 Sept. 2009 by Peter Piper

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars screams and shouts
One or two tracks at a time are enough - this time nostalgia did not work . The music is very repetitive with virtually the same beat through out.
Published 14 months ago by A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whooping Great!, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
Peter Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
Each and every track here will blow your socks off. The irrepressible Little Richard absolutely blasts these songs out and yet with exquisite lyricism. He shows an immaculate sense of timing and how he manages to get the words out so quickly is beyond me. His raw, screaming voice just grabs you and won't let go. From the top speed of tracks like Tutti Frutti and Ready Teddy, through to the slow ones like Send Me Some Lovin' and Can't Believe You Want to Leave, all you'll want to do is turn up the volume and play them again.
The sound is beautifully balanced and as raucous, tearing it up, as it should be. Some might not like digital remastering but it sounds good to me. Great piano and sax. I saw Little Richard on film years ago doin' all these tracks. He'd been filmed live in a theatre where he was climbing all over the walls and singing from the tops of the columns. What a guy - relive it all right here - a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 21 April 2012
Bought this on a whim and was so suprised, recordings are quite dated but considering the age of the recordings they are better than I expected.so many great songs that I had never heard before as I was born in the 80's.this sound needs to come back.
Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B.B.Q., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
i bought this for our bbq group at the sheltered housing i live, for over 55s...we have been jiveing to it with our zimmer frames, old rockers thats us,lol. very good service, promt and reliable, ill buy from this company again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIP IT UP- CLASSIC, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
AT LAST A LITTLE RICHARD RECORDING THAT IS SO GOOD THAT NONE OF THE TRACKS GRATE LIKE THEY DID AT TIMES IN INFERIOR AUDIO. RIP IT UP, TUTTI FRUTTI, LONG TALL SALLY, READY TEDDY AND GOOD GOLLY MISS MOLLY ARE MATCHLESS ROCK 'N ROLL TRACKS THAT WILL NEVER BE REPEATED OR BETTERED IN ANY FUTURE GENRE. RICHARDS'S R&B OFFERINGS LIKE "SEND ME SOME LOVIN" AND "TRUE FINE MAMA" REFLECT A MULTI-TALENTED ARTIST WHO COULD HAVE GONE DOWN THE JACKIE WILSON, SAM COOKE ROUTE IF HE WISHED. IN FACT WHICH OTHER ARTIST COULD HAVE TAKEN THE CORNY BABY FACE INTO THE REALMS OF R&B? THE FIRST 21 TRACKS FLOW THROUGH A LEGENDARY CAREER IN SENSIBLE CHRONILOGICAL ORDER- THE END TRACKS 22-25 ARE INTERESTING CURIOS WHICH ARE OF MAINLY HISTORICAL INTEREST- PARTICULARY HIS FIRST DEMO SONG BABY (TRACK 25). THIS CD IS A MUST FOR ANY SERIOUS ROCK N' ROLL COLLECTOR OF THE MAIN-MEN. IF YOU'VE GOT PRESLEY, COCHRAN, VINCENT, BERRY, LEE LEWIS, DOMINO, DIDDLEY AND PERKINS YOU'VE GOT TO COMPLETE THE STORY WITH THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Throbbing Machine, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
The early period when Richard sped all night with finesse, the coachwork of a gleaming high powered sleak tornado. He casts his groin shadow magic across the mid point of the twentieth century with Rip it Up. As with all fairy tale finesse the legend is based on collective unconscious suppression made into reality. He was the Pied Piper of Pan balling for his Lucille The archetypal King Midas turned everything he touched into a long sleek throb as it ached to be liberated from the zipper and its mind shackles. In his wake he ushered in teenagerdom, rebellion, black and white misceganation and all other forms of non political rebellion imagined or yet to arrive. He was vitality in flesh, the neo Reichian liberator of all things sexual. Little Richard was also possessed of a ferocious imagination incarnate. In Delvisland he sits with along with the King as the Emperor of carnal delight. Ebony and ivory in perfect harmony in heaven and hell but of course skin colour matters as little as shoe size. The elect separate themselves from the damned on the basis of their contribution to the bachanal of life, not on pigmentation and melonin. The cross dressing bisexual demonic fury of intense adrenaline unfurled in two minute blasts did more to undermine religion and isms than the entire corpus of the Rand Corporation, CIA, DEA and Pentagon combined. Little Richard was the epitomy of the collective unconscious of freedom. He rekindled the folk memories of a time when middle eastern religion no longer shackled europeans and africans in an erstatz morality. He provided the key and then the rationale to throw away the chains. It was ironic he later recanted.

Squares were blasted into the lower divisions of human life forms as the secret weapon of the down trodden became emblazoned, lived and validated across the USA. Eventually it was injected as a virus into the English speaking world. When he last came to the UK in the 21stC, Little Richard should have been feted as a god, a fetishistic relic of a time when humans built bridges to the land of the ubermensch and were given a hearing. Instead he crept in, blazed the lights of south london at the South Bank with his fury, loins and midrift, all gyrating to the peach of georgia. The man who single handedly saved the western planet from joyless tedium had no wreaths or palms strewn across his path. This is the canon.

The antidote to all the white knuckle shuffle meanderings of the late 60's/70's and the musical palette of the emotionally dispossesed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rockin' good cd for a rockin' good price, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I defy anyone not to smile on hearing the digitally remastered opening piano and sax on "Good Golly Miss Molly" or the pounding opening rifts of "Lucille" or even the ferocious drumming and blistering sax solo on "Keep A Knockin". 50 remastered tracks from the rockin' maistro at a bargain basement price!

But this cd is so much more than just a compilation of the classics. We have gospel the Little Richard way with "Aint That Good News" and "Shake A Hand". There are tracks like "All Night Long" and "Cant Believe You Wanna Leave" which owe a huge debt to the New Orleans sounds of Fats Domino, Dave Bartholomew and Cookie and the Cupcakes. There are blues tracks with "Every Hour" and "Early One Morning". And Jump tracks such as "Fool At The Wheel", Rice Beans And Turnip Greens" and "Get Rich Quick" could have come straight from The Cadillacs or The Orioles. And finally what can I say about "Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On". No sax on this track but Little Richard makes it his own with pounding piano and guitar solos for once.

So why only 4 stars. Quite simply the lack of any real historical information. There is so much variety on this cd I would dearly love to have some idea of the musicians playing and the dates of the recordings to put the songs into some sort of historical perspective and progression. Some of the vocals are so unlike Little Richard I even wonder whether his backing musicians take on some of the lead singing. And I am sure there is a female vocalist on one track. But this is a frustratingly minor quibble for an anorak. This cd is a superb reminder of just how powerful Little Richard was in his prime and should be in every music lovers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rawest rock n' roll album, 23 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
The ferocity, the wildness, the voice, the piano pounding make this my favorite compilation rock n' roll record, ever.
I think he is highly underated compared to his contemporaries. Pennyman is the real deal. I will highly recommend this compilation, because of the choice of songs, plus it's the original recordings. Which to me, are the only ones that really captures his uniqueness. Unbelivable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll, bitches, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
Little Richard is bad ass and I dont regret paying decent money for an incredible compilation of songs by Little Richard. He never fails to lift your mood and keep you singing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
great cd, super value,will recommend this cd to all fans and none fans, seen little richard live sounds the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like the old tunes , and these originals are great . i would rate this product to any one who likes the 60s .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Little Richard
The Very Best Of Little Richard by Little Richard (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews