Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whooping Great!
Each and every track here will blow your socks off. The irrepressible Little Richard absolutely blasts these songs out and yet with exquisite lyricism. He shows an immaculate sense of timing and how he manages to get the words out so quickly is beyond me. His raw, screaming voice just grabs you and won't let go. From the top speed of tracks like Tutti Frutti and Ready...
Published on 16 Sep 2009 by P. J. Salisbury

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars screams and shouts
One or two tracks at a time are enough - this time nostalgia did not work . The music is very repetitive with virtually the same beat through out.
Published 4 months ago by A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whooping Great!, 16 Sep 2009
By 
P. J. Salisbury (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
Each and every track here will blow your socks off. The irrepressible Little Richard absolutely blasts these songs out and yet with exquisite lyricism. He shows an immaculate sense of timing and how he manages to get the words out so quickly is beyond me. His raw, screaming voice just grabs you and won't let go. From the top speed of tracks like Tutti Frutti and Ready Teddy, through to the slow ones like Send Me Some Lovin' and Can't Believe You Want to Leave, all you'll want to do is turn up the volume and play them again.
The sound is beautifully balanced and as raucous, tearing it up, as it should be. Some might not like digital remastering but it sounds good to me. Great piano and sax. I saw Little Richard on film years ago doin' all these tracks. He'd been filmed live in a theatre where he was climbing all over the walls and singing from the tops of the columns. What a guy - relive it all right here - a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B.B.Q., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
i bought this for our bbq group at the sheltered housing i live, for over 55s...we have been jiveing to it with our zimmer frames, old rockers thats us,lol. very good service, promt and reliable, ill buy from this company again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
great cd, super value,will recommend this cd to all fans and none fans, seen little richard live sounds the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll, bitches, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
Little Richard is bad ass and I dont regret paying decent money for an incredible compilation of songs by Little Richard. He never fails to lift your mood and keep you singing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rawest rock n' roll album, 23 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
The ferocity, the wildness, the voice, the piano pounding make this my favorite compilation rock n' roll record, ever.
I think he is highly underated compared to his contemporaries. Pennyman is the real deal. I will highly recommend this compilation, because of the choice of songs, plus it's the original recordings. Which to me, are the only ones that really captures his uniqueness. Unbelivable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wop-bop-a-loo-bop, 14 April 2011
By 
James Tobiasen "anfieldjet" (Cheshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
I could write a long paean to this wonderful album but Dr.Delvis is a hard act to follow and has managed to say it all. The music featured here is the Genesis, the Big Bang, the year dot of Rock and Roll. Explosive, wild, glorious and hilarious. Some of the most thrilling music ever made from someone who, sadly, will never get the plaudits and popularity he deserves again this side of his (hopefully a long way off) demise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
I know the songs so I know its good so it came above my expectations. Recommend this cd for a bit of vintage music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Richard, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
Anything by Little Richard is OK by me and to get such a good recording is great. Playing it all the time much to the families angst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Richard, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
This CD gives me the whole history of this great pioneering Rock and Roll singer and song writer from my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Little Richard (Audio CD)
bought it for my husband who loves little Richard. it is hard now to get discs like this and at this price in the shops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Little Richard
The Very Best Of Little Richard by Little Richard (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews