Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£10.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2015
A great "Live" album, just a bit of microphone feedback on Ocean Gypsy! Otherwise post production is very good. The performance of Annie Haslam's voice, the band and orchestrations is excellent. It is one of those albums that the more you play it the more you appreciate their performance and musicianship. The skillful song writing makes this an album to sit down and listen to on your own and let your imagination drift, especially when listening to "Scheherazade" other's Iike "Mother Russia", "Running Hard" and "Ashes are Burning" are just Renaissance classics that to my ears is just timeless music. So pleased I bought this CD's.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
It was over thirty years ago that I saw Renaissance perform live at Hammermsith Odeon! They were becoming increasingly unfashionable as punk /new wave challenged the old guard prog rockers. However, for me then, and now, both types of music offer both good and bad. This album offers a mixture of classically influenced rock and pop at its very best. The music, lyrics, and performances are all worthy of a five star rating ( and this particular reviewer doesn't give this rating very often!). The band are augmented by an orchestra and managed to pull off that feat to great effect, which again is quite rare. Find a place in your ear, heart, and music collection for this amazing set and imagine yourself in New York's Carnegie Hall witnessing one sublime collection of musicians and beautiful songs!
0Comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Renaissance were at their peak when I was at university and they were always my favourite band. It's interesting listening to this album again because you realise how outstanding they really were. Technology has moved on since the 1970s, but you won't be disappointed with this album; it's a terrific recording. Annie Haslam has such a beautiful voice, which brings tears to my eyes when she sings Mother Russia. There are very singers who can do that. I have read that they got thrown out of Russia when they performed that song in Moscow! I am very pleased to hear that they are touring again and have released a new album.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I won't waste much time adding to what other have already said. This is just a beautiful album and possibly the best compliment I can pay it is that is the it's one of those few live recordings where the songs are even better than the studio recordings. One of my most played albums ever, both on Vinyl and also CD. If you only buy one Renaissance album, make it this one!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Been looking for this album in shops for years and at last got it! Renaissance at their best playing live.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Wonderful live album from a great group. If you like your rock thoughtful, symphonic, Russian-tinged with just the right dose of pomp, this is for you. Add the wonderful vocals of Annie Haslam and how can you go wrong.If you don't get a tingle down your spine when she sings "Ashes are burning awaaaaayyyy" check your pulse.
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I like albums that are live because you occasionaly get the unexpected "Crowded House" are simply great at impromptu renditions of whatever comes to mind, Rennaisance how ever are a bit more staid but the feel is an important element the live album affords the listener "Sherharazade" is always a great joy to listen to.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
This is the remaster 2008 by repertoire, vinyl replica, this is a great album, valorized by a perfect remasters.
The best songs of the group in a great version with orchestra.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Recording engineer Eroc does the best post production bringing out the sound the way was meant to be heard.
Forget all other versions of Renaissance this is the real deal.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
One of the best albums of all time - and interestingly far better than the original studio albums which feel rather flat and "manufactured" in comparison.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.