Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiat Uno Fun
I don't see why people are giving this a bad review as I have to say this is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. The dames is in fact hilarious and fabulous. Obviously that was written by Kate because she doesn't have an oscar...
Published 7 months ago by DameJ

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts out good and then...
"Headcases" premiered in 2008 to substantial fanfare as the spiritual successor to "Spitting Image", but where the latter show used rubber puppets to satirise public figures of the time, "Headcases" would use CGI caricatures.

After watching the first two episodes, I quite liked the show, but like "Spitting Image", some of the caricatures worked and others...
Published on 19 May 2012 by Andrew Norris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts out good and then..., 19 May 2012
By 
Andrew Norris (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
"Headcases" premiered in 2008 to substantial fanfare as the spiritual successor to "Spitting Image", but where the latter show used rubber puppets to satirise public figures of the time, "Headcases" would use CGI caricatures.

After watching the first two episodes, I quite liked the show, but like "Spitting Image", some of the caricatures worked and others didn't. Those that worked included Prince Philip (portrayed as Dick Dastardly), David Miliband (portrayed as a gremlin), and Sir Trevor McDonald (the only one on the show who seemed to know what the heck was going on). The caricatures that didn't work include, among others, Tom Cruise, Piers Morgan, Bono, Dame Helen Mirren, and Dame Judi Dench, whilst other caricatures work, but they're stuck with the same jokes and lines for five episodes in a row (Nick Clegg, Victoria Beckham, Prince William and Prince Harry, among almost the whole cast).

The trouble with "Headcases" was that, for all of the effort put into it, it simply looks lacklustre when compared to "Spitting Image". It is certainly impressive that eight episodes of this series were made in so short a deadline, but the problem is that many of the sketches were re-used almost word for word, sometimes for a total of five episodes, which makes the show appear not funny but grating. Another problem was the lack of a main target for the show to parody. The name "Spitting Image" is almost synonymous with the Margaret Thatcher puppet that was undoubtedly the star of the show. With "Headcases", the closest thing we have to a star is a caricature of Piers Morgan, who does nothing except insult viewers and get crushed under a variety of heavy objects.

I applaud the creators for trying to give us a laugh, and I would recommend this series for anyone wanting to fill a quiet evening with a decent laugh, but as a whole, "Headcases" is incapable of matching its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiat Uno Fun, 3 May 2014
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
I don't see why people are giving this a bad review as I have to say this is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. The dames is in fact hilarious and fabulous. Obviously that was written by Kate because she doesn't have an oscar...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical, 3 May 2014
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant satirical comedy that really does take the mick out of celebs and politicians alike. The dames have to be the funniest thing about this along with Mohammad Al Fayed and the white fiat uno. The only sketch that me and my flat aren't a massive fan of is Robert Mugabe. The animation is amazing and the impressions are spot on most of the time especially Same Judi Dench. The only impression that isn't spot on is Morgan Free mans voice. Granted some of the characters are over used like Heather Mills but its still funny. I would love a second season where they do some other people and then a few years later another series. Who wouldn't love to see there version of Lady Gaga. Its a bit of light hearted fun that shouldn't be taken too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars And now on ITV One it is Headcases. Warning - contains some strong language which some viewers might find upsetting., 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
The pros -
Well I think that the product of Headcases series one is an OK purchase to own because this programme has a good variety of well known actors who play these incredible 3D CGI celebrities and politicians. There are a variety of actors that can deliver and perform these characters such as the delightful Rory Bremner, the talent from Lancashire impressionist Jon Culshaw, the crazy London comedian from Omid Djalili, the happy Croydon comedian of Lucy Porter, and the comedy impressionist of Jess Robinson. Also joining Headcases in the first series are comedians Phil Cornwell from Essex and Mark Perry who both play good parts because I think that they both work well with Jon Culshaw. But there is more! Another three talented actors to this programme are CBBC's Horrible Histories star Ben Willbond the writer Justin Edwards and the Hammersmith comedian Dan Skinner. Firstly, I think that Ben is a good actor because his voice is great and he has a good sense of humour for delivering his parts in his characters that he is performing. Secondly, I think that the comedian Justin Edwards has a good ability to do a regular voice because he had a guest appearance in a BBC comedy show called Harry and Paul, and thirdly Dan Skinner is a great choice for being a comical actor because he has worked with the bumbling duo of Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer in the BBC's comedy panel game show of Shooting Stars. Finally, the Bristol actor of Tom Hollander for whom you may know him from the role of Lord Cutler Beckett in the Pirates of the Caribbean films of Dead Man's Chest and At World's End is a good cast member for the programme because he has the control of bringing out a performance to life. Anyway, I think that the writers and the actors are a good team because they get on well with each other. Having said that, I also think that they have delivered a huge anticipation of creating the script work for each of them because let us not forget that they have also produced the quality standard of acting for these eight brilliant episodes on DVD. Anyway, the value of £2.87 is brilliant for the DVD because it arrived quickly in the post today. I thank you Amazon.co.uk for being a prompt and courteous service. Four stars all round!
The cons -
However, I would advise to you to be careful of listening the tone of the swearing for the actors in this programme, because why should you listen to it? Do you think it is a good idea to watch it or not? Finally, it depends on which sort of mood you feel in. Those are just my opinions. Three stars all round! Rating - seven out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Occasionally inspiring, mostly just dull., 18 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
For years now I've been waiting for a new satire show to rival the much-missed Spitting Image which, in its day, made mincemeat of the political and media world. Whilst Headcases is worth seeing if you're a satire fan, I can't say it's what I've been waiting for.

This show certainly looks good, with well-detailed backgrounds and CGI comic versions of varied MPs, film stars and other public figures. Though there's certainly inspiration and moments of genuine humour, this show has real problems. It's painfully obvious there aren't that many CGI characters. This shouldn't be that much of an obstacle, but it isn't long before you realise this is just catchphrase comedy with famous people. Soon you're irritated by characters appearing in the same old sketches telling the same old jokes, and some of them are just so repugnant it's impossible to feel amused. The smug, self-satisfied tone of the show is also irritating.

Maybe this show will improve on its second series (if it gets one), but this is more than anything else a curio for fans of satire and a waste of some talented vocalists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent topical show!, 14 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
It's worth it for Madonna's questionable crotch alone, but this series was truly the hero of mainstream comedy this year. Faves included President Armadinijad (Don't be racist... give us nuclear) Jeremy Clarkson and poor old Gordon Brown. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
A Good Series there should have been more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Headcases, 29 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. Headcases has filled a gap left by the demise of Spitting Image and made an excellent job of it. The satire is spot on and the cariacatures hilarious. One for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEADCASES: THE 21ST CENTURY SPITTING IMAGE!, 22 July 2008
By 
J. Solomon "blah blah blah blehhhh" (Durham, Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
Headcases was premierd on ITV and eveyone thought it would be rubbish. Some people agree that it's rubbish, but I don't!!!!!!!
Headcases takes the mick out of the following people..
Madonna
Piers Morgan
Prince Harry and William
Vladimir Putin
Gordon Brown
Alistar Darling
Kate Middleton and Prince Philip
Jordan and Peter Andre
David Cameron
Jack Osbourne
Jeremy Clarkson
George Double Ya Bush
Congelina Rice
Brangelina
Sarkozy
Helen Mirren, Judi Dench and Kate Winslut
Harrison Ford
Sylvester Stallone
Bruce Willis
Bono
Heather Mills
and Finally...
Trevor MacDonald!!
So, if you hate any of these stars and want to see them getting the mick took out of them, Buy Headcases DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite literally the least funny thing ever created., 25 July 2008
By 
G. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Headcases [DVD] (DVD)
Truly awful. The impersonations are shocking and some of them could not sound less like the person intended if they tried. Even ignoring this, 90% of the sketches are not remotely funny, and a fair few are actually hugely irritating in their attempts to be funny. The only good point is that SOME of the animation is quite nice, but not much, and there will inevitably be the odd brief, quiet chuckle. Few and far between though. Headcases is an approprite title, because that is what you would need to be one of to pay money for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Headcases [DVD]
Headcases [DVD] by Henry Naylor (DVD - 2008)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews