Customer Reviews


15 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only want one Patti Smith album-, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
-then I'd recommend the brilliant 2CD compilation Land which has more than its fair share of overlap with this 5CD set. I was playing Land quite recently when I happened to come across this repackaging of her first five albums (though there's a ten year gap between the fourth and fifth, with the first four being records 1975-79).

And I bought it because there's more than enough good stuff to make it worth acquiring the set, plus there's a total of 7 unreleased or hard to get tracks spread among them. That these five albums come at an extremely reasonable price, like most of the excellent Original Album Classics series do, make it an irresistible purchase. Patti Smith is a crazy quirky pretentious intellectual genius weirdo and lots more adjectives to denote her eclecticism. She isn't the world's greatest singer, though she can sing, with a voice that's once heard is never forgotten.

Like all the others in the OAC series, the five CDs are packaged in card replicas of their original sleeves and fitted within a slim cardboard box. No additional notes or overview but you can easily get that on All-Music Guide. If you're into rock/punk/new wave/avante-garde music of the 70's, this is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brillant collection, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
A. Russ (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
No need to introduce Patti Smith as one of the most influential musicians in rock history. I've got two vinyl albums from back in the day, but never had the whole works. When I wanted to finally close this gap in my collection I found this compilation, and could not believe my luck that they sell all the original albums on CD for this price. If you like the music and don't mind not getting the full cover this is offer is unbeatable.
I'm usually worried that these offers include pathetic re-recordings, but these are the real ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
OK, the first most obvious point "you get what you pay for", it is bare-bones packaging, there are no additional photographs or cover notes or biographical notes just the most important element of Patti Smith the first five albums, which sound absolutely brilliant. So if you are replacing that badly scratched vinyl or just wanting to hear more from this remarkable artist go no further than this box set. Absolutely brilliant. You could purchase the collection Land but when this box-set is such good value and covers arguably the best albums why bother?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect collection!, 23 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
For all lovers of gutsy female rockers, in my view no other singer songwriter comes close to emulating Patti Smith's unique, gutteral style.
Her brilliant lyrics to Bruce Springsteens classic instrumentation of 'Because The Night' have come together to produce one of the most powerful and stimulating love songs ever written.
Patti Smith is one of the most underated technitions of our times.....BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure passion!!, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Reid (Notts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I've not played my Patti Smith LP's for years. No excuses, there's over 2,000 albums in the collection and sadly over the years I just haven't got around to playing them.

However, when I saw this 5 LP box set for just [...] it was a "must buy". I was NOT disappointed! I've had them on my iPod and itunes for a week and I've played nothing else. I'd forgotten how great this band was. Do yourself a favour and buy this collection. It's a bargain and it is essential. Original Album Classics: Horses/Radio Ethiopia/Easter/Wave/Dream of Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - all you need, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently had the privilege to see Patti Smith live and she and the band were great. She is perhaps not that well known in the UK, so this collection is a great introduction to her music. She was one of the pioneers of punk and this contains some great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars her better albums, 12 Mar. 2009
By 
Miguel A. Quintana Parron "quinty" (asturias, spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
this box conteins the most beautiful and important work from miss smith, the best rocker, punk and poetry woman in the history of the music and the art in general... From "Horses", one of the most important albums in the history of Pop Music, Miss Smith begins one of the most complet and perfect works in the musical world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE AMERICAN FEMALE SINGER/SONGWRITER, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This includes all her early albums and proove just how good she was. She is still the greatest American singer/songwriter and still going strong, bet you all recognise a few of the songs which have been covered by all sorts. Buy this NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godmother of Punk, 2 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
A must have for all alternative music lovers. These albums show how Patti infuenced the great female artist of our time from Siouxie Sioux to PJ Harvey. Too many classics to mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super value. super music, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Love all these cds. Great value package. Just wish a booklet was included . Giving wtiting credits. Also where and when guests appeared. Still shouldn'nt complain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Patti Smith (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews