Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice low price, good place to start for Mr Vai
I have always been a fan of the original album classics box sets, as they offer a simple set of five cd's in cardboard sleeves for a competitive price. If you are new to Steve Vai and want a cheap set to start off with, then this is your best starting point. My only complaint with this set, is that while flex-able, passion and warfare, and fire garden are all absolute...
Published on 8 May 2012 by O. J. Mcdonnell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much recorded?
I sampled Steve Vai on a collection album and found his style exciting, thrilling and very skilled. The five orginal albums in this collection highlight that he simply recorded too much stuff and should have concentrated on quality not quantity. Repetitive tunes, bland songs and frankly five albums could have made one moderately good collection. Some weird "concept...
Published on 11 Dec 2012 by Jonathan Greenyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much recorded?, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Jonathan Greenyer "JonathanGreenyer" (Windsor, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I sampled Steve Vai on a collection album and found his style exciting, thrilling and very skilled. The five orginal albums in this collection highlight that he simply recorded too much stuff and should have concentrated on quality not quantity. Repetitive tunes, bland songs and frankly five albums could have made one moderately good collection. Some weird "concept album" stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice low price, good place to start for Mr Vai, 8 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of the original album classics box sets, as they offer a simple set of five cd's in cardboard sleeves for a competitive price. If you are new to Steve Vai and want a cheap set to start off with, then this is your best starting point. My only complaint with this set, is that while flex-able, passion and warfare, and fire garden are all absolute classics in the shred genre, the other two albums seemed like slightly odd choices. I think albums like the ultra zone and real illusions: reflections would have seemed more appropriate, however this is still a great value pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant introduction, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This set is a brilliant introduction to the development of someone who has often been acclaimed as the best guitarist in the world. You may or may not agree but Steve Vai is definately a talent to be appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Album Classics?, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Two of the five albums are simply awful. The worst being the 'Flexible' album with its collection of hippy songs and simply irritating noises which seem to go on and on. Then there is the 'Sex & Religion' album with a screaming vocalist and thrash metal sound which gets right on my nerves. The other three albums aren't too bad with one or two bad tracks. However three out of five albums isn't good enough. I thought that classic albums by an accomplished guitarist such as Steve Vai would be great but there not, they are disappointing. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 albums from one of the best guitar players, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
stevie vai my 2nd best guitarist the 1st place goes to joe
anyway i 1st heard sv music back in 92 and the 1st album that i heard was his 2nd relesae i loved the track with the teacher and the talking guitar still my fav, on this collection and if any up and coming fan plays them in order the following will be experinced, the progress of sv style and how it became what we all love and buy his cds for this is a cool box full of best of the best cds in a budge saver pack, buy it its for the guitar loving fans and anyone with a taste for killer guitar riffs and solos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
It is a must for any guitar player to have this collection.

Great tones, nice technics, and wonderful music.

Steve has a nice touch of humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Steve Vai (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews