Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The actual CDS and Tracks, 20 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Thought this listing of the actual CDs would be of use because there in fact two Jeff Beck Collections of 5 CDs each. This is a link to the other box set.
Original Album Classics

Note due to a Glitch in Amazon's System this review has been tagged on to both different sets.
I see this has happened to other reviewers too.
I have been una ble to post a review for the other set.
(Hope this makes sense?)

I've included the track listingson this set too.
If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will change it.

"Rough And Ready"
1. Got the Feeling
2. Situation
3. Short Business
4. Max's Tune
5. Ive Been Used
6. New Ways Train Train
7. Jody

The Jeff Beck Group
1. Ice Cream Cake
2. Glad All Over
3. Tonight Ill Be Staying Here With You
4. Sugar Cane
5. I Cant Give Back the Love I Feel for You
6. Going Down
7. I Got to Have a Song
8. Highways
9. Definitely Maybe

Blow By Blow
1. You Know What I Mean
2. Shes a Woman
3. Constipated Duck
4. Air Blower
5. Scatterbrain
6. Cause Weve Ended as Lovers
7. Thelonius
8. Freeway Jam
9. Diamond Dust

Wired,
1. Led Boots
2. Come Dancing
3. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
4. Head for Backstage Pass
5. Blue Wind
6. Sophie
7. Play With Me
8. Love Is Green

Live With The Jan Hammer Group
1. Freeway Jam
2. Earth (Still Our Only Home)
3. Shes a Woman
4. Full Moon Boogie
5. Darkness/Earth in Search of a Sun
6. Scatterbrain
7. Blue Wind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't wait a moment longer.., 21 Jun 2009
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Each of the FIVE (!!!!) albums featured herein comes in its own card sleeve. Okay, the format is so small that purchasers will need to use a magnifying glass to read some of the album credits, but this should not detract from the excellent value-for-money.

Included in this package are the wonderful "Blow By Blow", worthwhile "Wired", reasonable "Live With The Jan Hammer Group" and a couple of not particularly easy-to-find titles. If "Rough And Ready" is probably not one of Jeff's key releases, and hardly a classic album, "The Jeff Beck Group" alone justifies the extremely reasonable purchase price.

Hit that order button NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIVE GREAT PERFORMANCES BY A GUITAR LEGEND, 26 Nov 2009
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
JEFF BECK, who in the recent couple of years and certainly since the Live At Ronnie Scott's shows,CD and DVD is thankfully getting the credit he should have received years ago. Got that now get this incredible 5 CD pack of Beck at his very best indeed.Every one of these is a classic album, 'Wired' and 'Blow By Blow' will make any list of great all time guitar albums, but on top of that two with Jan Hammer Band one of them the live one and The Jeff Beck Band with the fabulous Bobby Tench on vocal duties.These are albums every guitar head should have because they set the benchmark for every other guitar rock album since.Just go onto Jeff Beck on Amazon's CD page and check the track listings because these albums each one of them stand the test of time incredibly.The price for this treasure trove alone should have you ordering right now. Reissue of the year these are albums for every year,and they don't sound dated just absolutely fantastic.Each band on each album is full of great musicians backing surely the greatest guitarist ever to come out of Britain, and among the best three electric guitarists of all time. Buy these albums play the set through and your sure to agree !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with this one!, 25 May 2013
By 
J. MILLER "JohnM" (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
The 1st of 2 5CD sets reissuing Jeff Beck's output for Epic records. "Rough And Ready" is well-titled, a dark, uneasy marriage of funk with Beck's power guitar and Cozy Powell's thunderous drumming. Still high-quality; listen to his solo on the 1st track. This one sounds vintage and improves with age IMO. Beautiful keyboard parts by Max Middleton. Classic rock, alright.

Next was the 'orange' album ('Beck-Ola' had a Magritte apple on the cover, so....geddit? Wow, Epic's art department were um, really creative huh?) titled 'Jeff Beck Group'. Logical. Same personnel, it got better reviews and features "Goin' Down", 2 forward-looking guitar showcases and a Dylan number which was a bit of a misfire. He plays great but it's not as satisfying to listen to as the previous recording.

Or the next. "Blow By Blow", produced by George Martin, was and is a triumph, the glittering centrepiece of this collection. Much has been written about this record and its importance in the 1970s. Suffice to say that it re-established Jeff Beck as the most original lead guitar voice in the contemporary music of that era and a very hot property. Production values, sound, composition and playing are all just stunning and it deserves every accolade it ever got. No-one who was involved in this recording has ever forgotten it. Drummer Richard Bailey made his rep on this and I can only repeat 'beautiful keyboard parts by Max Middleton'. The guitar talks and much, much more. The whole thing is wonderfully mixed, programmed and paced and climaxes with the superb "Freeway Jam" and "Diamond Dust". Up there with "Are You Experienced" as one of the top guitar albums of all time. There is or was a SACD of this.

And the winning streak continued with "Wired". George Martin once again, the players now included Jan Hammer and Michael Walden - Beck had toured America with the 2nd Mahavishnu orchestra and got a better reception! "Wired" is if anything more intense than "Blow By Blow"; no messing. "Led Boots" (written by Middleton) joshingly references a certain other guitarist and his band who followed the template of Beck's 1st LP "Truth" for their own eponymous debut record, "Come Dancing" features the monstrous two-drum attack of both Walden and Ed Green, Hammer features on "Blue Wind" and Beck is at the very top of his game on "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat". Tremendous rock-fusion and once again still absolutely riveting to this day. Even George Martin has noted that his work with Beck was a highlight of his career.

The set completes with the highly enjoyable "Live with Jan Hammer Group" album. Play the first 30 seconds and you will want to buy this record. Beck is such a good guitar player, and he really sparks off other musicians in a live situation. This is really a Jan Hammer album, and Beck's convenient-for-both inclusion in the group wasn't entirely without friction but the music is tremendous. The album was produced by Hammer and has over the years achieved the status of a classic.
You cannot go wrong with this one. Rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of rock's essential cultural memory., 9 Jun 2010
By 
A. J. Reid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This is essential listening for any student of rock music, and the tutor could not have been better. The collection may be a historical journey, and some of the early more funky tracks do not stand the test of time as well as others, but Beck's style is consistently original. His recent 'Now playing at..' live recording is a more than worthy follow-up to this boxed set, and comparisons of such as 'Since we've ended as lovers' is testament to the reverence with which he treats other people's original material. Although I do not like every track, this set is worthy of 5 stars in the context of a major chunk of rock's history, throughout which Beck has consistently set a very high standard. Bedrock ? - certainly more than a foundation stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rayne's Park Blues is missing!, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Roger Murray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This looks to be great value as the two Jeff Beck Group (second line up with Max Middleton, Cozy Powell etc) have scandalously long been unavailable on CD.

BUT looking through the track list for "Rough and Ready"- the first and best of the two Jeff Beck Group albums included on this, it is apparant that one of the stellar tracks- the moody 8 minute instrumental "Rayne's Park Blues" is ommitted!

On my vinyl album is is at the end of the first side. It must be something to with using a US rather than a UK release.

But its a great shame as without RPB Rough and Ready is a lesser album. I can never go through Raynes Park on the train without this track coming into mind- very evocative of an otherwise undistinguished London suburb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master..., 4 Oct 2008
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
A lot has been written about Mr Beck over the years and with respect it has all been good.. no one seems to have a bad word to say about this guy.. His history is obviously rich and varied but it starts with a band called the Tridents he joined in 63,he once said `our music was a wide open sea of emptiness where I could do as I wanted` so mastering guitar techniques of his idol Les Paul, Jeff had room to expand his sound. then we get Eric Clapton leaving the Yardbirds and Jimmy Page being approached about the vacancy, Page declines and suggests Beck. only with the band for 20 months guitar fuelled rock was becoming their trademark.1966, Beck leaves. joining Moon,Page,and J.P.Jones the (band) cut Becks bolero a B side of Jeff`s solo hit single `hi ho silver lining`one of his few ventures as a vocalist, 67 Jeff bumps into Rod Stewart and the Jeff Beck group was born, it was too good to last the group split on the eve of their biggest ever gig Woodstock.. next we have a car crash which holds back Jeff and stops the formation of Beck Bogert & Appice for a few years the other two guys from Vanilla Fudge form Cactus instead.. However Beck jumps back and the power trio is formed a good studio album is cut ,the best part of this group was the LIVE gigs, totally amazing and a live album did surface from a Japanese tour.a blinder.. Beck then passes the offer to join the Rolling stones and instead puts out an instrumental album Blow by Blow` followed by Wired,then Live with Jan Hammer,we get more albums where you can find Jeff, never wanting to be pigeon holed into any real style and always changing and on the move, Jeff Beck recently played a gig in the UK , and a big amount of the audience were fellow guitarists and musicians.. He is the guitarists ,guitarist..this five album original classics is a fantastic place to start ones collection and the low price is something to be taken advantage of..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Beck, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I have these albums on vinyl, but got this good value set for the convenience of digital. I am not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous stuff..., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I'd like to just start by saying that my copy doesn't contain the 2 bonus tracks listed on the reverse of the cd under 'blow by blow'. I'd then like to say that this doesn't matter because its absolutely fantastic.

Blow By Blow and Wired are arguably his most compete works, but his step into fusion is made even clearer with their predecessors availability on cd at a price to good to be true!

Blues rocker he is not, nor is he an exclusive stratocaster meistro as he has been for the last couple of decades (although multiple guitars were used during recording) he is however, a top, top drawer player and one of only a very very small few that continues to improve to this day.

Do yourselves a favour and buy both the classic album sets and own 10 albums of unique, interesting, raucous and frequently beautiful playing and composition. True, he didnt write the vast majority of the songs he puts his name too, but what he brings to the compositions is breath taking. Throw in a live album and you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raynes Park Blues "in disguise" in the re-issued album, 21 Aug 2012
By 
"Dr Johnson" "panic" (Hackney, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I agree with Roger Murray's enthusiasm for the Jeff Beck Group. And certainly I share his appreciation of Raynes Park Blues (who would have guessed that such an undistinguished south London suburb could inspire such sensational music). But if you listen to the re-issued album, I think you'll find it's still there, masquerading under the title 'Max's Tune'. So freak not, my man, kick back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews