Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's not Steve Perry........... he's Arnel Pineda
I had heard Arnel sing on you tube with his band The zoo and was pleasantly surprised at his vocal strength. He can handle the old songs very well and adds something extra to the new material.

Revelation is just that, The first disk is new material except track 5
Faith in the Heartland which was also on the Generations album sung by Steve Augeri. I like...
Published on 12 Jun 2008 by C. E. Shaw

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best Journey album without Steve Perry
This is the first album with Arnel on lead vocals and you get plenty for your money....a new studio album of original material plus a live cd with Arenl providing lead vocals on some of the bands classic tracks from the Steve Perry era.
Its the best album they have done without Steve on lead vocals and is more rockier than the last SP album Trial by Fire and is...
Published on 21 Jun 2009 by S. K. FLORA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding, 13 Jun 2008
By 
Adam.GM (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Now as we all know the band isn't exactly best known for it's smooth transition between singers, it comes after Neal Schon discovered the philippine singer Arnel Pineda on the internet, his band called The Zoo mostly perform cover songs by other rock groups in particular Journey. After contacting him and with much persuasion that it really was Neal Schon on the phone they hired him as permanent lead singer.

There is no doubt about it Arnel Pineda can sing, I mean really sing! he has raw power, soaring range and sings with pure passion, vocally he is more talented and accomplished than all of Journey's previous singers except Mr Perry (although this may be debatable).

Disc 1 - Contains all new material and has all the key ingredients of the classic Journey, this sees them at their peak, a superb collection of solid songs and their best for many years. It is simply outstanding.

Disc 2 - Contains Journey's classic hits re-recorded with Arnel Pineda - I know this was a controversial decision but the idea came a couple years ago to a re-recorded a hits package anyway. Arnel soars on these numbers hitting all the right notes, plus the bands incredible performance is magical. It gives a fresh feel to these classics without altering too much kepping the classic heavenly Journey sound we all love.

I absolutely love the album and give the band full credit for their effort, the whole album is just short of a masterpiece. 99/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A CONTINUING JOURNEY., 9 Jun 2008
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Journey have not made things easy for themselves over the last decade as the bands habit of ditching singers is probably only matched by Toto.However the creative core of Schon, Cain and Valory have ensured that the band have survived to have something of a late flowering[ particularly in Europe ].
Whether these changes are what the fans want is debatable [ with a full European tour with classic vocalist Steve Perry being a kind of rock holy grail ], but the bands new found willingness to hit the road,AND produce new material is admirable, and at least with a class act like Journey you get a pretty good idea that any new album will be of a high standard.

Revelations fits this criteria perfectly with a solid mix of melodic rock tracks [ Never Walk Away, Where Did I lose Your love, and a not for note re recording of the tremendous Faith In The Heartland],and obligatory ballads [Like A Sunshower, What I Needed].
New vocalist Arnel Pineda does a fine job of working the songs with a voice not disimilar to the previously mentioned Perry.This is really evident on the second disc of re recorded Journey classics such as Only The Young, Stone In Love, Don't Stop Believing,and a blinding version of Be Good To yourself which even eclipses the Steve Perry original!.It is on this disc that Journey show that they have a future even if the songs are note for note renditions of their originals, they at least do not sound jaded, and the injection of enthusiasm Pineda brings to the proceedings will hopefully ensure the band still have a long future ahead of them.

The fact that Journey are still recording new material, and filling decent size venues around the globe says a lot about their positive attitude,and with a bright new vocalist in tow this late blooming is set to continue for some time yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positive Touch, 11 Jun 2008
By 
D. Perkins "Robo_1" (Belgium - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Whilst so many bands nowadays choose to wallow in the darker side of life, it's refreshing to hear that Journey continue to produce a rich mix of melodic, uplifting and polished albums, that continue to inspire their global fan base.

Featuring new singer - Arnel Pineda, Revelation is a top tier Journey release, kicking off with the thumping, Never Walk Away, it recalls the best of Journey's opening tracks, such as Seperate Ways and Message of Love. The album continues at pace, interspersing more mellow tracks with some of the bands heavier side, including a re-recording of Generation's Faith In The Heartland.

For me though, the album highlight comes with the fabulous Where Did I Lose Your Love. Sounding like a super charged Ask The Lonely, it's a track which you really have to fight to unclick the repeat button from. The album continues strongly though, and later tracks such as What It Takes To Win, keep up the pace.

Not even counting the fact that this album comes with a bonus disc of re-recorded classics, Revelation is a truly essential album for fans of Journey, or any fan of good solid rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelation? yes it is........, 8 April 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation [2cd+Dvd] (Audio CD)
Like KISS' ltd edition 3 disc release of 'Sonic Boom',this contains a new album,re-recordings of classics and a live dvd,real value for money,especially if you shop around,i held off for quite some time,finally picked it up for around a tenner!!

Disc 1: a superb new album,from the opening moments of 'Never Walk Away' and Neil Schon's guitar flurry,this is instantly recognisable,no-one else sounds like Schon,truly underated when guitar hero lists are compiled,that sound,that tone,then the voice comes in,uncannily sounding like Steve Perry at times,quite simply a stunning opening to the disc particulary when followed by another excellent track 'Like a Sunshower',there you have it from the start both sides of Journey,rockers and ballads,a pattern thats continued throughout the disc.Highlights a plenty particularly the glorious 'Turn Down The World...' and the fantastic(instrumental) title track.

Disc 2: A collection of re-recorded tracks from the Perry era,none will beat the originals,although some earlier tracks such as 'Any Way You Want It' & 'Wheel In The Sky' benefit from the modern production.Still a thoroughly enjoyable retread through past glorious

Disc 3: The live dvd: certainly this is where it gets a bit surreal watching someone who sounds like perry but clearly aint,takes a bit of getting used to,certainly given thats he 'Younger' than the rest of the band Arnel bounces around the stage ,like a man that cant believe his luck and the fantastic gig that he's managed to get,all in all,he does a great job,the three tracks from the new disc all sound great live.Best bit the opening instrumental 'Sky Light'- i could keep that on repeat all day,quite simply mesmeric playing from Schon.The live dvd is pretty good,although 'Live In Manila ' is better.

So there you are a fantastic package,well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Revelation, 8 Aug 2008
By 
Kieran Collins "kc" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Classic Journey is the only way to describe this....Start to finish superb hooks/melodies/riffs/keyboards..soaring solos from Neal..Not going to compare these songs to past recordings as they have their own place in Journey history....Ive seen it with other bands (Kiss for example) where they can continue without important original members and Arnel is an excellent substitute for Steve...Mr Perry is always going to be the original crooner but Arnel has his own qualities...Classic AOR that Schon admits himself in the sleevenotes " we have something special here"(as in the band)..Welcome back guys and well done...If they dont crack the States again with this material I will buy the next album !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the non-Journey fans, 16 July 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Let's face it all these other reviews are from long-standing Journey fans who can name drop with the best of them and regurgitate stuff they have read in music mags about how they found their new vocalist. And don't forget the track by track reviews, in depth or what?

So what is going to attract the new fan? How about the fact that this is the best AOR (and that's what it is folks!) album in the past 20 years. melodic, heavy where need be, and brilliantly realised, every song on here (and this isn't including the re-recorded tracks, which are brilliant by the way!)is instantly memorable which is a rare beast indeed. These guys haven't tried to be anything they aren't, other than the best melodic rock band in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That'll Do Nicely., 3 July 2008
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
Lots of good things here : another Steve Perry clone on vocals, but thats no bad thing (he's excellent), more great songs from the Schon/Cain writing team with inputs from others, great production, and a really good bonus disc of old classics revamped for 2008. Its a couple of hours of really good listening, and even if you are a part-time Journey admirer, you will not be disappointed with your investment. Buy and smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word - AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!, 21 Jun 2008
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
There`s a lot of very positive reviews for this - Journey`s latest release, "Revelation" - and I`m not at all surprised - it`s COMPLETELY BRILLIANT! It`s at least 10 times better than their last one, "Generations" - far too many other band members having a go in the vocal department!

I know there`ll be old-school Journey fans out there who can`t see past Steve Perry - and that`s a very "blinkered" view - wake up! It`s time to move on! Perry`s voice was always a bit on the nasal side for me - if I`m going to be hyper critical. If that`s sacrilege to say - then so be it!

So, what about new guy Arnel Pineda? He is an INCREDIBLE vocalist and he`s the missing piece of that "Journey" jigsaw - no more need be said about the man.

I`ll upset some fans here and say that, in my view, this is THE best album Journey have EVER produced! Even "Escape" dips in quality in the middle. The material is consistently superb. Rockers? Try "Never Walk Away", "Change For The Better", "Faith In The Heartland" and "Where Did I Lose Your Love" for size. Ballads? "After All These Years" and "Turn Down The World Tonight" are two absolute gems (and penned by the incomparable Jonathan Cain). All the band are in fine form here, particularly Neal Schon who SMOKES - so, stop fannying about and BUY IT!!!! The US import Dbl. CD/DVD package edition is THE one to buy. Hanoijim.

P.S. Read the review of "Revelation" in the latest issue of Classic Rock magazine if you don`t believe me!
P.P.S. Not sure why they re-recorded "Faith In The Heartland" from GENERATIONS though - I think the original just edges it for me but that`s just nit-picking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to their classic sound, 13 July 2008
By 
N. UNWIN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
I was curious as to what we were going to get after the somewhat experimental Generations album in terms of new Journey. It sounds like they've rediscovered their old selves on this one which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Though I think the last album showed some great potential for the future, they've taken the safe route with this album and new singer Arnel Pineda, who can also cut it live, no mistake. You guys in North America are in for a treat on this tour.

Right from the word go Never Walk Away sounds like classic Journey. Period. This is enhanced by the production which is slightly less in your face as on the previous couple of albums, so hats off to Kevin Shirley for working his magic. I can't give this a 5 stars though, due to a couple of gripes:

* Faith in the Heartland is the same song from Generations, yet the bonus CD includes remakes of their old tracks, so what is this one doing here?
* The instrumental track "The Journey" sounds like it fell off one of Schon's solo albums with its semi-world music style tones spoil the flow of the rest of the album and it doesn't belong here. Also if you're going to give the track a name like that, maybe it would have been better to throw in a few classic Journey licks and make it a musical journey in that sense.
* I still can't quite forgive them for kicking JSS out. However listening to Pineda's dead-ringer-for-Perry vocals makes it clear that the band were obviously looking to recapture the Perry years and not try something new.

I have to agree with Monsieur le B that Arrival was more of a forward moving album with their then new singer Steve Augeri. That said this is a decent album that captures their old classic sound and will appeal to Journey and non-Journey fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return Journey!, 5 July 2008
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revelation (Audio CD)
As a long-time fan of Journey, I was a bit worried about this release. But like other fans, I was bowled over by the new material, by the superb new vocalist Arnel Pineda, and by the re-recording of some Journey classics with their new singer. Pineda's voice is very like Steve Perry's - Perry has a purer vocal and a slightly greater range, but both are great voices, so comparing is not really an issue. Pineda makes the new material his own and the band plays superbly. He also handles the older material with some style - Journey have their classic sound back and it's an exciting prospect for the future. This is a smart and confident release from Journey - they clearly have faith in their new singer. This is a really good album which confirms that faith - I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revelation
Revelation by Journey (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews