Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2008
Fans everywhere will be pleased to see Mötley Crüe release a brand new full-length album of original material and the results are certainly pleasing! The first two singles released off the album, Saints Of Los Angeles (Gang Vocal) and MF Of The Year, are both true Crüe songs full of attitude! They won't disappoint old Crüe fans and they'll definitely shake the nerves of new fans in true Crüe loud-mouth in-your-face style! Face Down In The Dirt is another great tempo, peddle-down song that certainly satisfies the Mötley Crüe-loving ear. However, whilst the rest of the album produces a good musical package as a whole, the notable singles are more limited. Rather than an album full of standout classics, it's more of a nice package altogether, but limited in notoriety individually. Mötley Crüe fans will want to grab this album for sure. It is an explosive Mötley offering. But it fails to draw the acclaim of past Crüe albums, and if you're a newcomer to Mötley Crüe, then perhaps you'd be better purchasing their older works or Red White & Crue for a taste of their most loved work. A good album though, just not a masterpiece of the past. But that's just this fan's opinion... make yours for yourself!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2008
Ive been a fan of the Crue for just over 4 years now and in my opinion the albums they made in the 80s are some of the best rock albums ever recorded. During the 90s their albums got a bit more experimental and the songs they were writing just werent up to the stantard of their earlier work. So after I had heard 2 new songs, 'if I die tomorrow' and 'sick love song' a couple of years ago I was praying that they would release a new album. That album turned out to be S.O.L.A, with James Michael and DJ Ashba handling production I knew that the album would sound amazing. Each song is 100% crue at its best; Mick Mars blasts out some of the best rock riffs ive heard in a long time, and Vince Neils voice hasnt sounded this good since Dr. Feelgood. All together the album is what you would expect from the crue right down to the smallest detail.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I've taken a long time before writting this review to give this album a chance to grow on me, but to be honest I keep coming back to the same feeling. This albums okay. It's a strong rock album, but definately not a 5 stars Motley Crue album.

Don't get me wrong, the band are ripping, and sounding very tight and fresh, and the songs themselves are on the whole a good bunch of songs. However, they generally weren't written by the Crue (Nikki and his AM friends)and subsequently they are a bunch of songs that could have been recorded by a number of bands and still sounded good (Sixx Am included). The point is, the Crue were always better than good. In the Crue version of rock there was always a little blues, a little rock n roll, a little pop and and a little punk, and as a result they always stood above their peers. Whilst Nikki has always been the principle songwriter, the others always chipped in with the songwriting and the songs sounded a little more honest and true, even on Generation Swine. Unfortunately that "gang" attitude they have tried to re-create on this album is actually the one natural ingredient missing.

Hopefully 2011 will bring a new album...and hopefully a true Crue album at that
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
So this is ninth and final studio album from Motley Crue and the first in 8 years since the release of the half-hearted mixed bag 'New Tattoo'. Motley dominated the 80's and a tough fall from grace in the 90's but in between trends and line-up changes managed to solider on until they were finally called it quits last year.

Saints Of Los Angeles is the strongest album since the 1994 self-titled release 'Motley Crue' which despite by a change in style and singer John Corabi. Generation Swine was a total mess and New Tattoo was mediocre but had it's moments. Saints Of Los Angeles is based of the concept of the bands memoir 'The Dirt' and has the feeling of the final chapter coming to a close. These are songs with strong musical ideas including melodies, textures and structures. It has consistency and quality and the band seem to be creatively hungry and focused. Song being memorable and I often find myself coming back to this and it is often in rotation.

The main problem I find with this album is the identity crisis it has in places. It feels as if this is Motley Crue featuring Sixx A.M. I mean James Michael and DJ Ashba are credited as co-producers are credited on most if not all the songs and including outside songwriter Marti Frederiksen. It has a very polished production and it suffers as a result. If it had more of a stripped back approach possibly achieve something better. The lyrics are not particularly strong and the lack of guitar riffs that are memorable and have signature sound of Motley's glory days are hard to come by. Very close but no cigar. I think it is a good solid final album which will go down in favorably in Motley Crue's history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
.Motley Crue had experienced some turmoil following the release of their biggest album, Dr. Feelgood, in 1989. Their lead singer, Vince Neil, either quit or was fired from the group in 1992, and the band subsequently brought in replacement John Corabi, and released a self-titled album in 1994. However, the album wasn't such a hit with fans, and nor was the singer, who was out of the band by 1996. Vince Neil was back in the picture, but the next album, Generation Swine, was a relative commercial flop also. Some of the material had been written by Corabi before he left, and there was tension in the group which would eventually prompt drummer Tommy Lee to quit. They hired Randy Castillo, released another flop of an album, New Tattoo, and after that, Castillo passed away and the band lay dormant for some time, until 2004, when Lee rejoined, which brings us to this point. Their "comeback" album, Saints of Los Angeles, was released in 2008.

Is it a comeback that proves that the band can still write fresh material and tackle new things, or is it the sound of a band trying to recapture those glory days by writing songs that are re-hashes of the attitude and ideas of the band back in the day? I'm afraid it's more the latter than the former. Pretty much every song is about the typical sex, drugs and rock and roll clichéd crap. Downing the whiskey, having sex with women, being an animal. There's nothing really new or worthwhile to be found here.

The music itself sounds like Motley Crue trying to write music exactly like their 80s output, but this vision suffers in part due to the modern production and the songwriting process itself, which just makes it bland and pale in comparison to their classic material, especially seeing as the production makes the band sound less unique. Every song is written by bassist Nikki Sixx and his chums James Michael, DJ Ashba (both of whom are Sixx's Sixx:AM bandmates) and Marti Frederiksen. Sixx is only interested in giving us what he THINKS we want to hear, not what we actually want to hear. For a start: Nikki, what band are you writing for? This isn't Sixx:AM. This is MOTLEY CRUE! Maybe if you let your bandmates have more songwriting input like you used to, this could have been better. It seems like James Michael and Marti Frederiksen (along with Desmond Child) do a lot of songwriting for 70s/80s bands who feel that they need outside writers to "enhance" their material. Well, guess what? It doesn't enhance it. It just makes your stuff sound more clichéd and bland, and your band sounds less unique. This is why I think, for example, Scorpions' Humanity: Hour I, could have been better than it was. But anyway, let's get back on topic.

The band members seem good at playing their instruments (assuming it was the actual band members and not, say, Sixx:AM and/or Josh Freese) so it's a shame it's put to little use here. When I first heard the album around 2 years ago, I did get into the title track and "The Animal in Me", but do I listen to these songs anymore? No, no I don't.

If you're a Motley Crue fan who has yet to hear this album, by all means check it out if you must, but don't be surprised if you don't get as much excitement out of it as the band's first five albums. Saints of Los Angeles is the sound of aged rockers who probably don't get along that well and are mainly in it for the cash, collaborating with overrated outside writers to write songs with immature lyrics about drugs and sex (it doesn't sound cool coming from a group of 45-55 year olds) whilst sounding like most mediocre metal bands of the modern day. And actually, I much prefer both the self titled album and Generation Swine to this. I'm glad that the "boys" are retiring at the end of the year. Nikki, it's all well and good saying you wanted the band to retire at a high point, but this proves you are already way past your "high point", sadly.

Originally posted on Encyclopedia Metallum
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
I love Saints of Los Angeles - it has all the energy of vintage Crue but with a current feel to it.

Each track tells a story and is said to be the soundtrack of the soon to be film - The Dirt - all about the escapades of Motley Crue through the years. Written mostly by Nikki Sixx and one of his Sixx AM partners, James Michael the tracks are all good, my fave is MF of the Year but I love the title track too.

Mick Mars, so underated in my opinion, so up to date in his playing,Tommy Lee a master of the drum kit, Nikki Sixx, they used to say that they sounded better when he wasn't playing but I think he gets better and better on bass and Vince Neil - what can you say? he IS the voice of Motley Crue! You never need to ask who is singing his voice is so distinctive. If you love the Crue you will embrace yet another class selection of songs, some say it isn't the best thing they have ever done, but considering how long they have been together making music - it ain't half bad!!

A fabulous addition to any Crue fan's collection - and if you don't own a Motley album? Shame on you! Long live Motley Crue!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2008
having got back together for the first time in what was years after the dreadfully recieved generation swine album the two new studio tracks they made for the red, white and crue best of album was rusty and un-rehearsed in comparison to their succesful comeback tour so their new studio album banishes that since they have put in plenty of effort and time in making saints of los angelese as the tracks like LAMF, the title track etc are reminiscent of the era whey they burnt a hole in the ozone layer while the mothers locked up their daughters as the crue made themselves known in town die hard fans may not like the modern production techniques surrounding the album but lets appreciate what they have done as since most bands have a unpredicatble personality when getting back together end up imploding just when things are finally getting back into place but considering they are behind plans to launch the crue fest to rival that of the greedy consumanate machine of the now defunct ozzfest festival it seems the party is just around the corner lets hope they bring it to the UK
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
I have been a Crue fan from the start. Too Fast For Love and Shout at the Devil in my opinion the best of the albums up to Dr.Feelgood. I felt that Theater Of Pain, Girls,Girls,Girls and Dr.Feelgood, were all reasonably good, but all of them had more than one weak track on them. When they kicked Vince out, I stopped buying, so can't comment on any of the following albums, apart from New Tattoo, which I got recently. Again, not as good as the first 2, but ok. I guess I liked them all simply because I'm a fan of the band. This album though blows all the other releases away. It sounds somehow heavier, raw like the first 2. Vince still sounds great, lyrics on every song are strong, there aren't any cringe worthy moments that have appeared on other releases. This is without doubt the best thing they have ever done. Cannot wait to see them at Sonisphere. (Hang in there Mick!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Absolutely love this album - would nearly be my favourite out of all of them. Good mix and great to see them putting out great stuff again :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
Crue in great album shocker! Seriously. I quite liked the lesser known and more recent Generation Swine and the eponomous Motley Crue albums, but really they've never hit the heights of their first album. I surely never saw this coming. For me, Shout at the Devil, Girls, Dr Feelgood and Theatre of Pain were an increasingly horrible attempt to ingratiate themselves to the MTV generation. Guns n Roses stepped in and took the credible metal vote while the Crue whored themselves into a panto act. But here there's a return to that scratchy under-produced brilliance, with a bit of craft that they picked up along the way. I don't normally do 5 stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)