Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars385
4.6 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Without Linen RackChange
Price:£73.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

152 of 154 people found the following review helpful
on 2 October 2009
Ok, so it's rather expensive, but don't let that put you off. Mind you my husband had a funny turn when I told him the price, but justified it by saying that it would last another decade at least. This is a wonderful ironing board and worth every penny. I had an ironing board for over 10 years until it finally gave up the ghost. So I started looking for something that was solid, stable and fit for purpose. I trawled through shops and catalogues, only to find them fall short on one or all of a simple criteria. I am not a fan of ironing, I try and spend as little time as possible ironing, so to find an ironing board that I actually enjoy using is a bonus. The best thing about this board is it's large ironing area, you can finally put clothes on it and not have them fall off. Even the kids will iron their cadet uniforms now! You can set the height to your personal preference so every time you open the board, it falls to that height. I was a bit concerned about the huge rubber ball attached to the board, but if you have young children, it's a good idea, as it stops them from lowering the board and trapping their little fingers. This is a large and I mean large ironing board. It's not heavy to pick up, it's just large which may cause a problem for putting it away, but you won't have the legs fall on you as they lock into place when you close it. This ironing board is very stable on carpeted floors and doesn't rock when you use it. If you want an ironing board to last you, and let's face it, who needs to keep on buying an ironing board, it's not exactly the latest fashion item to have to keep updated. Then this one is the one to buy. Thanks Brabantia.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on 15 September 2009
I'm really pleased with this. It's light to move around and easy to put up. The large top makes ironing large items so much quicker. It's very stable and generally feels solid.Excellent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on 28 July 2009
I took ages to decide whether to spend such a lot of money on an ironing board but the old saying "you get what you pay for" is most definitely correct in this instance.
I don't know how Brabantia have done it but they have actually managed to make ironing enjoyable, quick and very easy!
It's brilliant and worth every penny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
on 5 June 2009
If you want the Mercedes of ironing boards - this is it!!!!! Perfect if you are very tall as the height the board can be raised to exceeds all others. Easy to assemble and the wider and longer ironing surface makes ironing a lot quicker!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on 23 April 2009
This is the best ironing board I have ever used. It replaces a previous Brabantia one. The extra width together with the parking place for the iron makes ironing so very much quicker. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this item to any prospective purchaser.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 8 August 2011
First off, if it was ever possible to become enthusiastic about an ironing board, then here it is. In terms of quality, the Brabantia board is a piece of engineering excellence.
On the plus side:
- The surface area is enormous (much larger surface area than normal sized boards), suitable for many larger/longer items
- The board's height is hugely adjustable. For the first time ever at 6'4" ironing is comfortable
- It's sturdy, solid and rigid, and feels good quality
- The heat proof edge of the board extends the ironing area further without any dividing barriers
- There's a safety catch to stop it collapsing if knocked by a child

Now for my tiny complaint
- Because the surface is so much larger, it's harder to pull small items around the edge. Therefore if you iron t-shirts etc in that manner then you'll have to adjust your method! Not a big deal.
- My main gripe is that there's nothing to stop the iron falling off the edge of the heat mat. Usually other boards have a recessed area to keep it in place. While turning over my long length jeans, I did knock the iron and only just avoided it dropping off. Hopefully the next model will address this minor point.

Overall, a superb piece of kit, although it still doesn't make me want to do the ironing...!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on 12 March 2011
This is the most astonishingly well designed ironing board. Having never bought an ironing board before (my ancient Beldray Invincible - which sadly wasn't - developed an alarming list before slowly collapsing and was a wedding present) I thought the price was a bit steep, but given all the positive reviews I figured it was worth it. I loathe ironing, but sadly this Brabantia has me looking for ironing opportunities - it makes a pleasure out of a chore.

It is sturdy, and surprisingly light for such a large board. Ergonomically the huge height range should suit everyone from the smallest to the tallest and means no more backache, while the offset legs are great for ironing sitting down. The ratchet mechanism/release lever mean it's very smooth to put up and take down and the wingnut feature that allows it always to rise to the same height every time is brilliant. The legs lock into place so it doesn't go into attack mode when it's folded. It doesn't squeak and is as steady as a rock in use. The shape is perfect, the wide part saves time with a big ironing area, and the pointy end is great for sleeves and fiddly bits. The parking zone works well. The steel mesh base, thick padding and "non slip" cotton surface make ironing a breeze as nothing slides off the board and yet the iron glides giving excellent results on all kinds of fabrics.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone - it's worth the price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
117 of 125 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 August 2009
I am well-pleased with this ironing board. I like the generous surface area at the wide end that makes light-work of large items. The board tails off into a narrower end enable one to iron shirts or tops of trousers. I particularly like the heat proof-panel at the end of the board that allows one to place an iron on it face-down as you move an item around. The heat-proof panel is part of the ironing board cover so there's no dividing line between the ironing surface and the resting place for the iron, which is a boon is one is ironing a very large item, such as a duvet cover, as it can drape over the whole board without catching on anything.

The raising and lowering mechanism is fairly simple and has a useful clamp to mark the height that suits you so that you don't have to adjust the height each time you use the board. There's a safety device to stop, for example, a child inadvertently causing the board to collapse down.

Because the board is generously proportioned, and robustly built. it is quite heavy to lift
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on 19 April 2009
An excellent product- very sturdy , easy to adjust height and fold awayBrabantia Ironing Board 135x45cm, 35mm Frame, Titan Oval/Iron Parking Zone
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on 16 November 2009
This is the finest, and I mean the finest, ironing board you could ever use. I don't mind ironing but before this one I was used to narrow boards with wrinkly surfaces. You will never iron on a flatter, smoother, broader surface than this. Having said that, it is lighter than my earlier board and much easier to set up. Goodbye ironing as a chore, hello ironing as a pleasure. Be warned though, you will want to iron everything in sight!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.