Customer Reviews


298 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberb Ironing Board
Ok, so it's rather expensive, but don't let that put you off. Mind you my husband had a funny turn when I told him the price, but justified it by saying that it would last another decade at least. This is a wonderful ironing board and worth every penny. I had an ironing board for over 10 years until it finally gave up the ghost. So I started looking for something that...
Published on 2 Oct. 2009 by Jakko

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor build quality - avoid!
The quality control on this product leaves a lot to be desired.
As others have experienced, the folding stand was incorrectly assembled & welded together.
This resulted in a totally unacceptable wobble when in use.
The gap between the floor & leg was over an inch out of kilter, even after trying it on different floor areas.
Also the paint covering the...
Published 8 months ago by ezz


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberb Ironing Board, 2 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
Ok, so it's rather expensive, but don't let that put you off. Mind you my husband had a funny turn when I told him the price, but justified it by saying that it would last another decade at least. This is a wonderful ironing board and worth every penny. I had an ironing board for over 10 years until it finally gave up the ghost. So I started looking for something that was solid, stable and fit for purpose. I trawled through shops and catalogues, only to find them fall short on one or all of a simple criteria. I am not a fan of ironing, I try and spend as little time as possible ironing, so to find an ironing board that I actually enjoy using is a bonus. The best thing about this board is it's large ironing area, you can finally put clothes on it and not have them fall off. Even the kids will iron their cadet uniforms now! You can set the height to your personal preference so every time you open the board, it falls to that height. I was a bit concerned about the huge rubber ball attached to the board, but if you have young children, it's a good idea, as it stops them from lowering the board and trapping their little fingers. This is a large and I mean large ironing board. It's not heavy to pick up, it's just large which may cause a problem for putting it away, but you won't have the legs fall on you as they lock into place when you close it. This ironing board is very stable on carpeted floors and doesn't rock when you use it. If you want an ironing board to last you, and let's face it, who needs to keep on buying an ironing board, it's not exactly the latest fashion item to have to keep updated. Then this one is the one to buy. Thanks Brabantia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 28 July 2009
By 
A. G. Holt (U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
I took ages to decide whether to spend such a lot of money on an ironing board but the old saying "you get what you pay for" is most definitely correct in this instance.
I don't know how Brabantia have done it but they have actually managed to make ironing enjoyable, quick and very easy!
It's brilliant and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brabantia Ironing Board, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
If you want the Mercedes of ironing boards - this is it!!!!! Perfect if you are very tall as the height the board can be raised to exceeds all others. Easy to assemble and the wider and longer ironing surface makes ironing a lot quicker!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
R. Budgell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
I'm really pleased with this. It's light to move around and easy to put up. The large top makes ironing large items so much quicker. It's very stable and generally feels solid.Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one tiny complaint!, 8 Aug. 2011
By 
The Evil Doctor (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
First off, if it was ever possible to become enthusiastic about an ironing board, then here it is. In terms of quality, the Brabantia board is a piece of engineering excellence.
On the plus side:
---------------------
- The surface area is enormous (much larger surface area than normal sized boards), suitable for many larger/longer items
- The board's height is hugely adjustable. For the first time ever at 6'4" ironing is comfortable
- It's sturdy, solid and rigid, and feels good quality
- The heat proof edge of the board extends the ironing area further without any dividing barriers
- There's a safety catch to stop it collapsing if knocked by a child

Now for my tiny complaint
--------------------------------
- Because the surface is so much larger, it's harder to pull small items around the edge. Therefore if you iron t-shirts etc in that manner then you'll have to adjust your method! Not a big deal.
- My main gripe is that there's nothing to stop the iron falling off the edge of the heat mat. Usually other boards have a recessed area to keep it in place. While turning over my long length jeans, I did knock the iron and only just avoided it dropping off. Hopefully the next model will address this minor point.

Overall, a superb piece of kit, although it still doesn't make me want to do the ironing...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All round winner!, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
S. Adamson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
This is the most astonishingly well designed ironing board. Having never bought an ironing board before (my ancient Beldray Invincible - which sadly wasn't - developed an alarming list before slowly collapsing and was a wedding present) I thought the price was a bit steep, but given all the positive reviews I figured it was worth it. I loathe ironing, but sadly this Brabantia has me looking for ironing opportunities - it makes a pleasure out of a chore.

It is sturdy, and surprisingly light for such a large board. Ergonomically the huge height range should suit everyone from the smallest to the tallest and means no more backache, while the offset legs are great for ironing sitting down. The ratchet mechanism/release lever mean it's very smooth to put up and take down and the wingnut feature that allows it always to rise to the same height every time is brilliant. The legs lock into place so it doesn't go into attack mode when it's folded. It doesn't squeak and is as steady as a rock in use. The shape is perfect, the wide part saves time with a big ironing area, and the pointy end is great for sleeves and fiddly bits. The parking zone works well. The steel mesh base, thick padding and "non slip" cotton surface make ironing a breeze as nothing slides off the board and yet the iron glides giving excellent results on all kinds of fabrics.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone - it's worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ironing Board on the Market, 23 April 2009
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
This is the best ironing board I have ever used. It replaces a previous Brabantia one. The extra width together with the parking place for the iron makes ironing so very much quicker. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this item to any prospective purchaser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes light-work of ironing, 5 Aug. 2009
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
I am well-pleased with this ironing board. I like the generous surface area at the wide end that makes light-work of large items. The board tails off into a narrower end enable one to iron shirts or tops of trousers. I particularly like the heat proof-panel at the end of the board that allows one to place an iron on it face-down as you move an item around. The heat-proof panel is part of the ironing board cover so there's no dividing line between the ironing surface and the resting place for the iron, which is a boon is one is ironing a very large item, such as a duvet cover, as it can drape over the whole board without catching on anything.

The raising and lowering mechanism is fairly simple and has a useful clamp to mark the height that suits you so that you don't have to adjust the height each time you use the board. There's a safety device to stop, for example, a child inadvertently causing the board to collapse down.

Because the board is generously proportioned, and robustly built. it is quite heavy to lift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor build quality - avoid!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
The quality control on this product leaves a lot to be desired.
As others have experienced, the folding stand was incorrectly assembled & welded together.
This resulted in a totally unacceptable wobble when in use.
The gap between the floor & leg was over an inch out of kilter, even after trying it on different floor areas.
Also the paint covering the welded joints was already flaking off.
Very disappointing considering the price & so-called premium branding.
The product itself is quite good, but this alone, in my opinion, isn't worth the risk of wondering if you're going to be one of the lucky ones, or like me, having to go through the hassle of returning it to Amazon.

Even the returns process through Amazon wasn't as easy as it should have been, because of the fact it's a large item.

In summary - it's a gamble, because imagine using an ironing board that wobbled badly all the time, it would drive you mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars watch out for the wobblers !, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Titan Oval Ironing Board, Size D,135 x 45 cm - with Iron Parking Zone (Kitchen & Home)
I have used this product for 6 months and cannot fault it - it is immensely strong,fabricated from heavy gauge steel tube with a ratcheted scissor-action which makes it extremely simple to set up and stow. The heat resistant section of cover allows you to leave your iron face down,thus conserving heat.
The reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is as follows :- it is not my first one.
My first one was a wobbler as noted by other of your reviewers; it wobbled because of faulty welding of the feet to the legs. In order for the four feet to be on a flat plane the welding has to be done with extreme precision. These boards are made in Lithuania,presumably using men and materials from a redundant Soviet tractor factory,and the fact that such obviously faulty products can get passed indicates that quality control is seriously defective. Come on Brabantia,pull your socks up - it's got your name on it !
I should add that this is the first item I have ever had to return to Amazon - I left it at the nearest petrol station 5 minutes walk away where a courier picked it up,labels supplied (printed on your computer) and carriage paid,and received a replacement within a week.

My advice - buy this if you want a professional ironing board which will last forever,but open your parcel with care,retaining all the packaging until you have set it up on a flat floor with never a wobble !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews