Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva La Revolución
The 3rd World is good. Very good. Infact very, very good. I'm glad that I went to the trouble to get this imported from Viper Records. I was initially worried by the following 2 things: I'd heard that the beats weren't as good as Vol. 2. and I felt that Immortal could never make an album that could match the standard set by Vol. 2. But I can safely say that neither of...
Published on 26 Jun. 2008 by Mr. P. J. Linkin

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Quick Review
This is a very quick review, I'm not going to go into much detail at all.

It isn't as good as Rev. vol.2- it is more of a mixtape and has much more commercial production than his previous albums.

Tech has changed up his cadence and flow on this record, and not necessarily for the better. There are quite a few other MCs on this album and most of them...
Published on 28 Dec. 2008 by T. M. Kirkup


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva La Revolución, 26 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
The 3rd World is good. Very good. Infact very, very good. I'm glad that I went to the trouble to get this imported from Viper Records. I was initially worried by the following 2 things: I'd heard that the beats weren't as good as Vol. 2. and I felt that Immortal could never make an album that could match the standard set by Vol. 2. But I can safely say that neither of these things are true. The beats are amazing and are the best that i've heard Tech spit over, complimenting him perfectly.

Lyric-wise Tech has really stepped his game up for this release, I can feel an intensification in the political nature of his words and in the raw energy of the album. There's a high level of consistency and flow throughout, so much so that Tech keeps you entranced from Track 1-16 without a skip or a pause.

Guest spots are also perfect with some underground legends(IMO) present. Crooked I spits an amazing verse, he never disappoints. Immense. Fingers crossed he gets BOSS out. Chino also drops heat and the other guests are well-chosen and are pretty appropriate as a continuation of the overall message and context of the album. Diabolic, Ras Kass, Mojo, PsychoRealm, Sick Symphonies, Poison Pen, Swave Sevah, Maya Azucena. I dont know why Akir isnt on here tho, anyone fill me in?

Overall no doubt in my mind, a 5-star album. I feel that Tech has really fulfilled his potential on this release and that it sits among the following 'underground' releases: Revolutionary Vol.2, Sabacalypse, Crooked I - Young Boss Vol.2. If only these guys got the credit and popularity that they deserve....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd World - cop this NOW!, 13 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. D. L. Browne "Mista Brown" (South London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
If you (like me) are sick and tired of all the empty headed, soul-less and wack as uff garbage currently being fed to the yout' as "rap music" then cop this, now!
Intelligent, political, hard-core HipHop like we used to get back in the days, this moved me like a PE or BDP lp from 88'!!!!!
from intro - outro, excellent guest MC's, heavy,heavy beats and Immortal's lyrical flow, informed and educated a rare thing in these days of crappy, synth heavy "club bang'as" that all sound like Zapp rip offs!!
In my opinion, probably the best HipHop cd you will hear this year, so buy it!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping it up, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Lee Salter (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
Like others who have left reviews for this album I was skeptical that IT could improve on Revolutionary Vol 2 ... and he hasn't, but that is not a bad thing - rather, it shows the quality of the previous album. This is not to say 3rd World is not as good, it certainly is! IT's vocals are a little rougher on this album (which he explained on his MySpace site) and it is rather a personal matter as to whether or not you like this. I don't really, but it is far from nauseating, just a slightly different sound.

There is only one track on the album that I have not been able to get into. In fact, I don't tend to listen to "Lick Shots". Whilst the verses are good, the chorus is far too annoying, again too rough. I suppose Grimey/grimy/grimie is the term.

Besides the chorus of Lick Shots, the album is outstanding. The big base drum beats are rough and clear, and the tunes are what you'd expect: dark and menacing for the aggressive political stuff, more mellow for the more reflective, life-issues stuff. Golpe de Estado stands out as the only Spanish-language tune and has a wonderfully melodic kind of Mexican horns sound. Similar at least in form to Peruvian Coke on the previous album.

As for the lyrics?
"They call us terrorists after they ruined our countries; funded right-wing paramilitary monkeys; tortured the populous; then blamed the communists; they lies are too obvious; propaganda monotonous; and that's not socialist mythology; this is urban warfare through the streets of your psychology", IT tells us to the thundering sound of Death March. The quality doesn't drop. The humour is still there too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Hip Hop, 5 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
Having listened to Hip Hop for approximately eighteen years I have recently been unimpressed by the output of the industry, with the lyrics and production put forward on some albums generally being of a similar theme/standard.

Immortal Technique is definitely an exception to the current industry standard. Although the production differs to earlier material (in that it is handled by green Lantern - a more commercial entity) it is of a high standard, but the element that sets Immortal Technique apart from other artists is in the content and delivery of his lyrics, which focus on confronting issues such as free market theory and socialism.

I highly recommend this album as it epitomises what a good hip hop record should be, with the lyrics being contentious and highly relevant to real world issues. In addition, if you enjoy the lyrics but do not necessarily understand some of the content, then I recommend you read the Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein. It certainly opened my eyes to elements of the album even more and made me appreciate it further for what it is.... Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVOLUTION, 30 July 2008
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
Once again tech drops another classic,hard,political album.People are jst starting to hear bout his name and how strong he is,iv known of him since 2005 when i heard a song on the net and thort it was the illest sh#t iv heard since Dead Prez 'Lets get free'album,this is real rap straight from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Aug. 2008
By 
M. SMITH - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, i can only think of two other albums in which every track is brilliant, that's Revolutionary Volume One and Two

Just brilliant tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars, better than vol 1. not quite as good as vol 2., 28 Sept. 2008
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
Pros:
- If you're an IT fan it's a pro that he doesn't change his style of delivery or style of content for this album, more of what you're used to
- So yeah, not many can match the sheer ferocity of IT's delivery, he could probably make a nursery rhyme sound threatening and hard core.
- Some fresh beats, I especially love the grimy mood set by Death March, and the hidden track Rebel Arms at the end.
- Again, no pointless, directionless tracks
- Some more grimy wordplay, funny similes etc.. What you gotta love about IT's style is how he'll make a statement then compare it to somethin that's either a shocking statement in itself to strengthen the original statement or is a hidden diss to the government or somethin:
"...to the last drop of blood in my body, or the feds drag me away like a tsunami, but I'll be back like a fresh body bag from Iraq"
"...the invasion of gentrification, eminent domain intimidation, that's not negotiation, n it's frustratin to look at every day, like watchin a porno on 56k"
"Some of y'all forgot what the Harlem Renaissance was, we had revolution, music and artisans, but the movement was still f'd up like Parkinson's"
- I gotta mention the Harlem Renaissance track in a seperate point - this track is one of those gems that's not only a relevant, not overly-addressed topic, but he keeps it ON topic, it has a nice beat, dope similes and is well delivered and everything, not often you get all that in one package.
- I like the double meaning-based metaphor running throughout the album - the parallels drawn between the real third world and the superpower - America, and the superpower big record labels and the 3rd world in terms of the underground in the rap industry.

Neutral Points:
- If you don't know IT you gotta know he doesn't have the most complex flow in the game, so if you're lookin for complex rhyming this isn't what you want. However, he obviously makes up for this with clever similes and sheer ferocity in his spits.
- For those just lookin at the track list - as you might expect a few of them are skits, well 3, but one of them is pretty thought-provoking.

Cons:
- I can't help but feel that, given this is his third full album, the anti-US government lyrics are getting just a *little* old. But as long as he comes out with new similes and ways of expressing his anti-government thoughts, I don't mind too much
- One track is fully in spanish - yeah the beat is cool and I can get the gist of the content as a lot of the nouns are recognisable, but for non-spanish speakers this is kind of a waste of a track, at least lyrically
- I dunno about everyone else, but when I first saw Crooked I and Chino XL were featurin on a track, that almost made me wanna cop the album alone. Unfortunately, the beat and hook are annoying to me, so don't really listen to it much. Still, lyrically, not bad.
- One pointless skit - track 6 wastes some space on the CD, well I guess it serves to transition your mood if you're listenin to the CD straight through.

So yeah, overall, another dope addition to IT's discography, but despite what the others said, in my book, it falls short of Revolutionary Volume 2, only just, but is better than Volume 1. The reasons being that the content of some of the tracks does not hit you quite as fresh as on his earlier albums even though IT does a good job of introducing new topics. Also, a few of the beats aren't 5 star to me, whereas on Vol 2. all the beats seemed dope. Overall - 4.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard core truth teller and kick arse rapper, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Andrew Avgoulis (Coralville, NSW, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
The voice they couldn't silence. Immortal Tecnique is a modern day seer telling us the truth and what our destiny holds if we remain silent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Third World, 10 Jan. 2009
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
OK, if you've got this far then you're probably already aware of what Immortal Technique is about. This is more of the same, and while the anti-US rhetoric may be getting a little boring for some there are precious few in hip hop coming out with it to the depth that IT does. There's no doubt that there are some great tracks on here - "Hollywood Driveby" and the title track are both classics after a single listen, and send thrills down your back like the first time you heard "The Cause of Death" or "The Fourth Branch". There's the usual depth and breadth of issues covered and the beats are tight. If possible I'd have given this 4 1/2 stars, missing out on the full 5 purely for two minor issues:

1 - There's a track fully in Spanish, which isn't of itself a problem, but on a work that's so lyrical it would have been nice for us English speakers to know what's being said; and

2 - Green Lantern does far too much cutting and scratching on verbal sections - it seems almost every track gets half way through the first verse then we hit rewind. Those sort of games are fine for party tracks, but I'd imagine that this music won't be getting played in many high-end clubs.

So other than that another great album, if you like IT then buy it, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 3rd World (Audio CD)
best real life fact in word ive herd we all no 911 was inside job never for get its pitty sheep dont see it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 3rd World
The 3rd World by Immortal Technique (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews