Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film
Enjoyed the film and now know what Stop-loss means. Good cast of actors with a good story line but have the hankies handy.
Published 13 months ago by Kathleen Phillips

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A film with Joseph Gordon Levitt AND Channing Tatum?
Sometimes I'm just not sure what to type in my reviews. But the acting alone here makes this film a worthy contender to any film buffs collection. Just another war film? Well yes, in part, but also no. The film attempts to show the effects of war on those who fight in the battles. And in that area it does the job. And does it well. Plus Timothy Olyphant is in this film...
Published 9 months ago by BigAl82


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film and now know what Stop-loss means. Good cast of actors with a good story line but have the hankies handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than other "masterpieces", 30 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
War in Iraq is the new "trend" in american liberal cinematography. A series of "documentary" almost all critic (from Occupation: Dreamland to Taxi to the dark side, to Battle for Haditha), and some on the "internal front" movies (Home of the Brave, In the valley of Elah, Lions for Lambs and so on) and some (rare) war propaganda movie (American soldiers: a day in Iraq). This movie, low cost, minor cast, after the first 20 minutes with some "free hand camera made" reportage of good action scenes describe the happy return to home (so different from Vietnam war's movie) followed by the disillusion of a "hero" betrayed by US Army and by the "system" who want for him another "war tour" in Iraq. Is a good story of love, friendship and honour with a "patriotic" ending.
In my opinion is a movie better than more acclamated (above citated) films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 21 April 2014
By 
Mrs. S. M. Codd (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for channing tatum but it is a good film. Heavy on action and quite political in its message. About Iraq war, quite a lot of combat scenes. Lots of swearing. Sad and disturbing in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A film with Joseph Gordon Levitt AND Channing Tatum?, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes I'm just not sure what to type in my reviews. But the acting alone here makes this film a worthy contender to any film buffs collection. Just another war film? Well yes, in part, but also no. The film attempts to show the effects of war on those who fight in the battles. And in that area it does the job. And does it well. Plus Timothy Olyphant is in this film. And Laurie Metcalfe has a one scene cameo. Just as long as you don't go expecting a happy, fun film you'll be ok with this ultra serious take on the war is hell motif.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Channing Tatum, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
I pretty much got this because I like channing tatum, its defiantly worth having in my dvd collection and a good story but not one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great film, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
i have been looking all over for this film and have got it now. it also cant quicker than i though it would which was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars stop-loss, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
loved the film. nice take on soldiers coping with having to go back. plus full of hot actors. nearly as good as blackhawk down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Knew, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
Until someone told me what STOP LOSS meant I had never heard of it before and so had to see this film.

The emotions that I felt as I realized how unfair being a soldier can be at times and how it affects the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
good film must watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop-Loss [DVD] (DVD)
Everything okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop-Loss [DVD]
Stop-Loss [DVD] by Kimberly Peirce (DVD - 2008)
£4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews