Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
131
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2010
This is a fantastic boxed set of one of the most innocently enjoyable shows from my childhood. I didn't think this was ever going to be released onto dvd and now that it has I feel like I can re-live my childhood all over again!

Only gripe is the fact that there is no episode listing anywhere in the box. There are a lot of episodes and having to play the dvd in order to find out what episodes are on each disc seems like an odd thing to do but I simply printed the episode listing from the wikipedia page. Problem solved!

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
"Wind in the willows" is a wonderful turn of the century animated series depicting the British country side and values of that period. It presents to children a picture of human nature, the good, the bad, the weak, while allowing good to triumph.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
David Jason voices Toad, Chief Weasel and Young Billy Rabbit in this animated adaptation of Wind in the Willows. I didn't realise he was such a wonderful voice over artist until now - quite a revelation. The whole series is enchanting - the figures, the sets, the costumes and of course the actors, who could ask for more.Cosgrove & Hall are at the top of their game and this is their masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
This is the only TV/ Movie adaptation of Wind in the Willows as far as I'm concerned. The stop gap animated models capture all the character of the original book and the dialogue is delivered perfectly. Loved this as a child when I used to watch it after school. Just as accessible now (many) years later. Sheer magic - a classic from a more innocent time. So it will likely appeal to children younger than it was originally intended for nowadays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
I fell in love in love with these wonderful programmes when my children were very young. They are beautifully crafted and written. Have been looking for a box set for years and I was chuffed to bits to find this.All the magic and fun are still there. Arrived on time and in perfect condition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
Bought this for my Children and they love it. Tired of telling them all about watching it when I was young so went searching for it and it brought me right back. Nothing we like better than to put "Wind In The Willows" on a cold wet day and snuggle up in front of the fire and watch Toad,Ratty, Mole and Badger.Why don't they make films like this anymore?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Have enjoyed this series so much - very sweet and nostalgic a real golden oldie! David Jason as Toad is very funny :) And having just read the book to my child, this series has been really super to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Now that this collection is officially Region 0, folks from all over the world can finally enjoy this stop-motion masterpiece in its entirety! While formerly available in the US on services like Netflix and even Youtube, Fremantle Media pulled the plug on all of that so that now, as of this review, purchasing this DVD collection is your one and only option if you want to enjoy every episode of this childhood classic.

About the show: it is a very dry, slow-moving entertainment. Totally the opposite of most modern children's programming, which attempts to move as fast and as crazy as possible. This is essentially a show for kids about the everyday lives of stodgy, old British gentlemen. Sounds pretty lame, right? NOPE! The charm of this show lies in its "Britishness", for lack of a better term. Each episode is essentially a fun, charming morality tale dealing with universal themes such as being insecure, getting lost, self-discovery, etc. The show is crafted to invoke thoughtfulness and meditation, things children get so little of these days. If you're looking for something wholesome AND beneficial for your children to watch, look no further.

Or perhaps you're like my wife and you grew up on this show and want to take a trip to your childhood. This show is every bit as charming as you remember. I dare you not to sing along with the opening and closing credits. It can't be done.

A technical note: although this DVD Collection is "Region 0" it is still in PAL Format, which some DVD players (like my PS3) will not accept. If you're in the States and your PS3 is your primary DVD player, you may need to look into an alternative. For me, that alternative was my laptop, which plays it without issue and hooks up to my TV via HDMI in one step.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 December 2010
This is a lovely complete series of 65 episodes, plus 2 feature length stories, (both stories feature together on one disc, instead of in the original broadcast order). This set was first broadcast from 1984 to 1990, and originally opened with the feature-length familiar story of "The wind in the willows", followed by a collection of 20-minute stories, with David Jason brilliantly voicing the flamboyant and foolish Mr Toad.
With the wise and sensible Badger (Michael Hordern) constantly trying to offer advice, and always pointing out the folly of Toad's behaviour, he is assisted by the straight talking, no-nonsense Ratty, (Peter Sallis) along with the meek and quitely spoken Mole, (Richard Pearson).

Toad's vanity often allows the Chief Weasel (also voiced by David Jason) and his gang of nefarious weasels to take advantage of him, with Badger often wise to any con tricks.
The final series is renamed "Oh Mr Toad", but everything about the show remains unchanged. This series originally opened with the 50 minute story "A tale of two Toads", in which the weasels recruit a Toad doppelganger who can mimic Mr Toad's voice perfectly, and then he proceeds to cause trouble between Badger, Ratty, and Mole, which is all part of the weasels plan to take over Toad Hall.

This series has the potential to appeal to anyone of any age, with its warmth, charm, and good humour.
I have just one gripe, there is no episode list included, only on the actual disc menu's themselves (I had to keep a record of them in a writing book).
This 11-disc boxset includes English subtitles, with good picture and sound quality.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
Wind In The Willows - The Complete Collection [DVD]

If you're wanting to escape the harsh realities of modern life for a few minutes, (or a few hours....it's almost impossible to watch only ONE episode at a time !),you simply can't do better than this !!

Great stories, gorgeous sets, and David Jason as Toad cracks me up in just about every scene he appears in.

I've watched every episode more times than I can remember, and am looking forward to re-watching again this winter....for some reason the episodes seem better in winter time, more "cosy" perhaps ?

I've just been asked to be Godfather to a very cool wee boy, and am very tempted to buy this set for him as a Christening gift, so he can grow up loving the stories and characters too !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse