Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius sadly lost
To see this again reminds you of the tremendous talent that was lost so early when Dudley Moore died in 2002. Here at the height of his fame in 1981, shortly after 'Arthur' had been released he entertains a celebrity audience.

Because of Peter Cook's comic genius Dudley Moore is frequently forgotten as a comedian, and is now better remembered as a comic actor,...
Published on 14 Aug 2008 by S J Buck

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This was a great disappointment, it seemed like a cut and paste job that was ill-done. Dudley Moore deserved much better than that. I would like to have a bu\it more information about the product before buying. Some indication of times, dates, places or interviewer would be a help.
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by Josephine Perth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius sadly lost, 14 Aug 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
To see this again reminds you of the tremendous talent that was lost so early when Dudley Moore died in 2002. Here at the height of his fame in 1981, shortly after 'Arthur' had been released he entertains a celebrity audience.

Because of Peter Cook's comic genius Dudley Moore is frequently forgotten as a comedian, and is now better remembered as a comic actor, but in fact he was one of the very best comedians. He had a natural charm (you can see why the ladies loved him) that few are blessed with and his timing is perfect. For Dudley just a look was enough to have you in stiches.

However good a comedian as he was, he should be remembered as a musician. A gifted Classical and Jazz Pianist (and there aren't many who do both) who played both styles professionally in different parts of his career. In the 1960's he regularly played Jazz Piano with his Trio at the Establishment club. Before his final illness he was playing classical Piano in concert halls.

This show gave Dudley the chance to show off all these talents. So we see him with his Jazz Trio performing in the style of Errol Garner, as well as playing satirical classical pieces, such as the theme from Col Bogey played in the style of Beethoven and Bach and Mozart and many others that I probably didn't spot. This is musically very clever as well as being very funny. Naturally he does The Goodbye Song near the end of the show but again with a difference.

As an added bonus the DVD I purchased (though not from Amazon) also contained a South Bank Show special on Dudley Moore as well. So overall what you are getting is a marvellous combination of comedy and music that I have rarely seen bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all over too soon!, 30 July 2010
By 
SeaWasp (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
The brevity of this show almost had me giving the dvd a lesser rating but I just can't bring myself to give Dudley's genius anything less than 5 stars.

The first part of this dvd is "An Audience With..." and it runs for a brief 43 minutes...made all the briefer by appearances of 2 guest stars when the floor could have been Dudley's alone. I love Lulu and she is almost as infectious as Dud but I could really live without Christopher Cross. Yes, I must be the only person in the world who cannot stand this Grammy Award-winning MOR popster but I have a problem with huge boofy guys who have the voice of a 12 year old schoolboy. Cross sings the "Theme from Arthur", but I have never like any of his stuff so getting over that obstacle was the only problem I had with this show. Clive James and Bob Hoskins are in the audience and they ask questions. Rolf Harris helps out with some much needed gaffa tape, Dudley plays a LOT of piano, attempts the violin and a jolly time is had by all. There is a funny introduction by Peter Cook and the show was filmed in 1981 when Dudley was hitting the big time with "10" and "Arthur".

The second part of the disc is an edited version of The South Bank Show which profiles Dudley Moore. This was filmed 12 years later in 1993 and we see Dudley considerably older, grayer, sadder and living in L.A. There are interviews with his family, childhood friends, his 3rd wife (Brogan Lane), Blake Edwards, Peter Cook and it shows Dud performing at his old school to a whole new generation. I was amazed at his reluctance to give some of the young girls the autographs they so craved... but be that as it may. I'm sure there was a reason for that. This show ends on a rather melancholy note as Dudley speaks of his sometime lonliness, his nostalgia for days gone by and it's sadder still to realize that Dudley is no longer with us. This is a great dvd to remember him by. Picture quality is excellent and the running time is 35 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Dudley Moore, 28 Jan 2010
By 
M. J. Powell (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a memory of Dudley at his best, the first half is the Audience then we are treated the South Bank Show which covers an extended period of his life. Together they form a nice balance of a wonderful artist's professional personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dudley gives you more, 21 Aug 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This marvellous show deserves a DVD release. Many of the other 'Audience with...' shows have been released, but for some reason this hasn't. The format is the same here, Dudley entertains a celebrity audience. Recorded in about 1981, not long after the release of 'Arthur', Dudley Moore was at the height of his fame.

What makes this exceptional is his musical skills. Yes Dudley is very funny in places, and listening to him talk is very entertaining in its own right. However Dudley was a exceptionally talented musician so here we get him playing Jazz Piano with his Trio, performing satirical pieces from 'Beyond the Fringe', performing with Lulu and Christopher Cross and jamming on the 'Goodbye' song with the big band at the end of the show.

The highlight is undoubtably the performance of the Col. Bogey theme (which consists of 8 notes) which he plays in a multitude of classical piano styles. Bach, Mozart, Beethoven etc. That anyone can play the Piano that well and be funny at the same time is a fabulous talent. Originally this was from Beyond the Fringe.

A brilliant recording by a gifted musician and comedian that should be available on DVD. In the meantime if you can get a copy of the video tape its worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dudley Moore, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Pure genius. i had not heard of this DVD until I came across it by accident and now it great to watch this man.
So sad he died all those years ago. What a sad loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
You can tell from the start that Mr Moore is not comfortable with doing such a show and seems quite nervous but he settles in and even deals with the fact that their is a draught in the studio and he can't put his music on his stand on the piano without it blowing off. He also (as so many do in An Audience with) doesn't know who a lot of the audience are and who are asking the questions which I always find amusing. Their are 2 of this DVD that amaze me. One is how big Christopher Cross is to say he has such a high voice he is such a big guy. The second is the piece at the end where the orchestra accompanies him. Pure genius and sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ****, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD and the memories it evoked. The disc is well worth the money and will bring back memories of this extremely gifted man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great disappointment, it seemed like a cut and paste job that was ill-done. Dudley Moore deserved much better than that. I would like to have a bu\it more information about the product before buying. Some indication of times, dates, places or interviewer would be a help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD]
An Audience With Dudley Moore [1981] [DVD] by Dudley Moore (DVD - 2008)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews