Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible HULK box
When I was a kid I really liked the HULK TV show. The sad story about Dr. David Bruce Banner and his beast within fascinated me. Now I got it all on DVD. That is what I can tell you about this box:

DVD: The image quality is suprisingly good. It's sharp and clean. Color bendings are very seldom. Sound is ok.
BOX: The impressivly big box looks cool and has a...
Published on 29 April 2009 by M. Goecke

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great T.V Series Shame about the shocking quality control!
BUYER BEWARE! Received repackaged 2011 Slim Box Set Style - Had bought it as "New" condition from Amazon. On receiving this item 14 discs out of 24 were scratched. Will never buy a "Playback" box set ever again.. As this is common with other box sets. Columbo, Knight Rider & also The A-Team from my buying experience.

Shame as these are the best of the best
Published 16 months ago by leejamesr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible HULK box, 29 April 2009
By 
M. Goecke "GertFroebe" (Hamburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
When I was a kid I really liked the HULK TV show. The sad story about Dr. David Bruce Banner and his beast within fascinated me. Now I got it all on DVD. That is what I can tell you about this box:

DVD: The image quality is suprisingly good. It's sharp and clean. Color bendings are very seldom. Sound is ok.
BOX: The impressivly big box looks cool and has a button that, when pushed, says "Don't make me angry! You wouldn't like me when I'm angry!". The Box contains 12 double DVD cases with 24 discs.

If you like the HULK as much as I do, I really recomment this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
The Incredible Hulk - Series 1-5 - Complete [DVD] [1978]Excellent dvd quality and packaged well worth the extra money in buying this box set instead of seperate series,plus an extra dvd with behind the scenes footage never seen on t.v. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Make Him Angry Buy This Incredible Box Set, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info
1)24 disc set.
2)82 episodes.
3)Season's 1-5.
4)Running time 60 minute per episode.
5)Total Running time 3946 minutes.

Extras.
Commentary on feature length Pilot, Season 1 feature Death In The Family, Season 2 feature Married & season 4 feature Prometheus by Kenneth Johnson, Mini Documentary about the origins of the tv show.

Trivia.
1)Bill Bixby was executive producer/writer/Director Kenneth Johnson's only choice for the role of David Banner.
2)Bruce Banner his original name was changed to David Banner on Kenneth Johnson's request.
3)Kenneth Johnson originally wanted the Hulk to be Red as it signifies rage but this was vetoed by CBS.
4)Cancelled a 1/3 into it's fifth & final season by CBS the show would've included the return of Helen Banner, David's sister who is dying of a mysterious illness & only a blood transfusion using David's blood would cure her resulting in his sister possibly becoming She-Hulk & a 2-part series finale would have seen David Banner finally to have found a cure for his Hulk persona.
5)3 poor tv movie's were made between 1988-1990 resulting in the Hulks actual death these tv movie's had no creative input by Kenneth Johnson.
6)Kenneth Johnson also wrote/directed cult Sci-Fi 80's series V & later adapted Sci-Fi movie Alien Nation into a tv series plus a set of tv movie's.
7)Arnold Schwarzenegger was approached to play the Hulk but he declined he did however recommend bodybuilder Lou Ferrigno.
8)Originally Jaws from the James Bond film's The Spy Who Loved Me & Moonraker Richard Kiel was cast as the Hulk but Kenneth Johnson was unhappy,with the early footage & recast the part with Lou Ferrigno.
9)Lou Ferrigno also voiced the Hulk in the 1990's cartoon & the 3 live action Marvel movie's Hulk (2003), The Incredible Hulk(2008) & Avengers Assemble(2012).
10)Lou Ferrigno was very upset about killing the character off in the final tv movie Death Of The Incredible Hulk so plans were made for another tv movie titled Revenge Of The Incredible Hulk which would have featured the characters resurrection were the Hulk character would actually have spoken for the first time but sadly Bill Bixby died of cancer in the tv movie's pre-production stages & therefore it was shelved.
11)A proposed crossover tv movie was mooted in 1984 between Spider-man & The Hulk with Bill Bixby & Nicholas Hammond to star, Rumours circulated that Lou Ferrigno wasn't interested which Ferrigno denied in his autobiography quoting he knew nothing about the project, The project was eventually shelved due to budgetary reasons.

Review.

Doctor David Bruce Banner is working on a scientific project on how ordinary humans in times of stress gain incredible strength yet David wasn't able to tap into that strength to save his wife from a car crash that the couple were involved in.

Doctor Banner deduces it is due to when a higher gamma ray count from the sun is at it's peak gives humans that additional strength needed in times of emotional distress & on the day of the car accident the gamma count was low.

Carelessly overlooking a fawlty dial Doctor Banner gives himself what he thinks is a low gamma ray count in what he thinks is a small experiment but doesn't notice the dial says x10 million & accidentally overdoses himself to a dangerously high dosage of gamma rays that alter his body chemistry.

Now in times of anger or stress David Banner transforms into a 7ft Green skinned creature called the Hulk who is capable of incredible strength but has the mind of a primate & is unable to rationalize like a human being can as his primal rage erupts it causes a vast amount of damage & destruction but the Hulk keeps Banners morals of never to kill or intentionally hurt anyone.

When the Hulk tires he returns to the form of David Banner who has no recollection of his events as the Hulk.

Doctor Banner travels around America never staying in one place to long searching for a cure for his infliction while helping people he comes into contact with along the way.

Timelord Thoughts.

This show scared me as a kid when those white eye's of Doctor Banner appeared it signalled the Hulk was coming & it scared me what would happen next.

This series was made at a time were several Marvel project's were being made into tv movie's with the hope of a series being commissioned from 2 Captain America tv movies with Reb Brown to Spider-Man with Nicholas Hammond & with DC also testing the water with Wonder Woman starring the gorgeous Linda Carter & Superman 1 & 2 in production it was the era of the Superhero.

Kenneth Johnson executive producer/writer & director decided on a serious tone for The Incredible Hulk tv series & cast The Magician actor Bill Bixby as Doctor David Banner who is without doubt the best actor to have portrayed the part as Bill Bixby gives an amazing understated performance in his portrayal of David Banner & brings out the genius & humanity out of the character it is a truly magnificent performance.

Lou Ferrigno is the not so jolly green giant who has the inevitable task of being green body painted & wigged up to play the Hulk who is the centre of the shows action sequences & Lou Ferrigno play's the part exceptionally well & gives great performances showcasing the Hulks anger & rage but also his softer child like side.

Jack Colvin play's Jack McGee an obsessive reporter who is determined to track down the creature who he thinks responsible for the death of David Banner & Elaina Marks who died due to a lab explosion McGee seen Elaina Mark's in the Hulks arm & Jack McGee assumed the Hulk must of killed both her & David Banner.

This series delivers some fantastic yet at times emotional episode's & here are a few of my personal favourites.

Pilot, This is a great opener setting up the story on what's to follow.

Married, Were David Banner meets a woman named Carolyn who he marrys in Hawaii only to lose her to a incurable illness.

Prometheus, Were Banner is exposed to a crater from outer space resulting in him becoming part-human part-Hulk mid transformation.

Homecoming, Sees David Banner returns home to see his sister & father who run a farm, This is quite an emotional episode as we see how a young David Banner seeing his mum die & how it has affected his life & caused estrangement with his father.

The Snare, Were a game of cat & mouse ensures on a island owned by a hunter with David Banner/Hulk as the prey.

Mystery man, Sees a injured David Banner who's face is wrapped in bandages due to facial injuries after a car crash & suffering amnesia meets Jack McGee who knows a specialist to help the mystery man's recovery but as the two travel together on a plane it suffers a malfunction resulting in a plane crash as the two survivors have to help the other survive the wilderness.

The First, Were David Banner comes across another person who was like himself inflicted with the same curse but was cured of his infliction by a scientist but manipulates Banner into transforming him to become a Hulk type creature once more due to him getting an old & frail man but doesn't have David Banners Morals so his Hulk is a more evil incarnation & the story sees the two Hulks face off against each other.

Darkside sees a potential experimental cure go wrong & unleashes a evil David Banner results in a very aggressive violent Hulk.

King of the Beach sees Lou Ferrigno in a dual role as Carl Molino who enters a bodybuilding contest but is manipulated by a greedy hustler.

This boxset 82 episode's have had some remastering done to the picture & sound quality which is clear & sharp & the storys are usually contained to 4 episodes a disc & they come in slimline slipcases with mini synopses of each of the episode's on the back of the slipcase.

This set doesn't include the three tv movie's The Incredible Hulk Returns, Trial Of The Incredible Hulk or Death Of The Incredible Hulk.

This was a excellent series that still holds up well today thanks to the brilliant performances of Bill Bixby, Jack Colvin & Lou Ferrigno & a must buy purchase for Hulk fan's old & new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extras, 1 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is what you get:

Season 1

DISC 1:
Pilot "The Incredible Hulk" - with optional commentary Death in the Family

DISC 2:
The Final Round
The Beast Within
Of Guilt, Models, and Murder
Terror in Times Square

DISC 3:
The Hulk Breaks Las Vegas
Never Give A Trucker An Even Break
Life and Death

DISC 4:
Earthquakes Happen
The Waterfront Story

Season 2

Bonus Episode: Stop the Presses

DISC 1:
Married with optional commentary by Kenneth Johnson The Antowuk Horror Ricky Introduction with Kenneth Johnson - BONUS

DISC 2:
Rainbow's End
Child In Need
Another Path
Alice in Disco Land

DISC 3:
Killer Instinct
Stop the Presses
Escape from Los Santos
Wildfire

DISC 4:
A Solitary Place
Like a Brother
Haunted

DISC 5:
Mystery Man Part 1
Mystery Man Part 2
The Disciple
No Escape

DISC 6:
Kindred Spirits
The Confession
The Quiet Room
Vendetta Road

Season 3:

DISC 1:
Metamorphosis
Blind Rage
Brain Child
The Slam

DISC 2:
My Favorite Magician
Jake
Behind The Wheel
Homecoming

DISC 3:
The Snare
Babaloa
Captive Night
Broken Image

DISC 4:
Proof Positive
Sideshow
Long Run home
Falling Angels

DISC 5:
The Lottery
The Psychic
A Rock and a Hard Place
Deathmask

DISC 6:
Equino
Nine Hours
On The Line

Season 4:

DISC 1:
Prometheus Part 1
Prometheus Part 2
Free Fall
Dark Side

DISC 2:
Deep Shock
Bring Me the Head of the Hulk
Bring Me the Head of the Hulk
Goodbye, Eddie Cain

DISC 3:
King of the Beach
Wax Museum
East Winds

DISC 4:
The First Part 1
The First Part 2
The Harder They Fall
Interview with the Hulk

DISC 5:
Half Nelson
Danny

Season 5:

DISC 1:
The Phenom
Two Godmothers
Veteran
Sanctuary

DISC 2:
Triangle
Slaves
A Minor Problem

BONUS MATERIAL:
Season 4 Prometheus Part 1
Season 4 Prometheus Part 1 optional commentary Season 4 Prometheus Part 2 Season 4 Prometheus Part 2 optional commentary Inside An Episode Prometheus Photo Gallery Remembering The Incredible Hulk: An American Classic ''Behind The Success: The Story Of The Incredible Hulk"
''Creating An Iconic Character: The Hulk9'44Incredible Hulk: Sneak Peek"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the original AND the best!, 5 Oct 2011
By 
wayne "shygi" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
okay, first things first. The package is different to the one i ordered, its smaller and more compact and the discs are slimline cases comprising 2 discs in each (making a total of 24). This doesn't bother me in the slightest as it will fit on my shelf better but for those of you expecting the big bulky box as shown above just be aware.
Now for the TV show...I remember watching this when i was a kid and LOVED it, and yes I did get scared on one or two occasions lol, it's what my Saturday nights were all about, not like now with the endless run of pathetic reality TV shows. This IS TV at its best!
I loved everything about it, the opening theme music still goes through me, but it's the central character Bruce Banner that drags out my sympathy, being in the wrong place at the wrong time mostly searching for the cure that will rid him of his alter ego once and for all, Lou Ferigno was and IS the Hulk. Forget about the 2 "films" i nearly cried after seeing the mess Ang Lee did with his, the second film just about redeemed itself) but if you really want to see how the Hulk is supposed to be then stick with the original and the best.
I just can't wait to get stuck in to this amazing TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable trip down memory lane, 12 Feb 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
This entertaining US TV drama series was first broadcast in the late 1970's, opening with the feature-length pilot, which is more scientific in content than the rest of the series.
The story begins when Dr David Banner (Bill Bixby) attempts to tap into the hidden strength that lies within himself that humans possess, he regrettably decides to proceed with the experiment alone, without the usual assistance of colleague Dr Elaina Marks (Susan Sullivan), when the experiment goes wrong, David then discovers that when he becomes angry or upset he transforms into the super-strong, green Hulk, (played by Lou Ferrigno).

And when investigative newspaper reporter, Jack McGee (Jack Colvin) becomes obsessed with discovering the true identity of the Hulk, David Banner has to keep moving on, having been declared officially dead.
The pursuit of Banner by the doggedly determined McGee is reminiscent of the 60's US TV series "The Fugitive", when comparing David Banner to Richard Kimble, and Jack McGee with Lt Gerard.

Banner usually morphs into the Hulk a couple of times in each of the 50-minute episodes, as he finds himself in a different town or place in each story, where he often helps people in trouble or with their problems.
While searching for a cure for his condition, Banner must keep one step ahead of the persistant McGee, who usually shows up at the location of any sighting of the Hulk.

I've always enjoyed watching this series, which features an excellent central performance from Bill Bixby, whose kind and friendly David Banner was apparently mirrored in real life, with many speaking of Mr Bixby with great affection, I was saddened on hearing the news of his death in 1993, at the age of only 59.

This complete collection of five series is made up of the following:

3 feature-length episodes - The Pilot./ Death In The Family./ Married.
3 two-part stories - Mystery Man./ Prometheus./ The First.
73 fifty-minute episodes.

There's a very welcome bonus disc, which includes features on the creation, the success, and remembering the Incredible Hulk. With commentaries on selected episodes. Picture and sound quality are good.

My only gripe is with the fact that there's no booklet, no episode synopsis, and no subtitles, but this is still a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
really great watching it it brings back the good old days when we were kids and even my little girl loves watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic finally all on DVD!, 23 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
What more can I say? You have every single episode of the Incredible Hulk on DVD now - ABOUT TIME AS WELL! I got this boxset for a great price. Bill Bixby's somewhat emotional and determined David Banner is perfectly complimented by the raw ferocity of his transformation, Lou Ferrigno.

A must have for fans of the original and REAL hulk- not the computer animated nonsense of recent movies which in my opinion have totally ruined the whole concept. Stick with this, THE ORIGINAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have ever been a fan of the incredible hulk then the box set will not disappoint. It is as good today as it was all those years ago. There is also bonus footage of interviews from some of the people who created it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great exactly as ordered, 2 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD set was exactly what I was hoping for in brand new condition although marked as used you would never tell still with original packaging I purchased for my boyfriends birthday later this month he has been trying to get hold of this set for ages so will be a great surprise valued seller thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Seasons 1-5 [DVD]
27.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews